We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very good experience.”
Review of Chavolos Taqueria

Chavolos Taqueria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a very good experience.”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We use trip advisor to give us ideas of the best places in town to eat and visit. This restaurant is highly rated and we thought we'd give it a try. We are from IL and we have heard from locals that CO Mexican food is great compared to Midwest.

However we did not find that the case here. The food for all of us was very bland, not much flavor. The soup was mush. All four of us were very dissapointed. Our local restaurant in IL is far superior in quality. Is CO missing out?

Combined with the horrendous service (we never saw our waiter, no refills on drinks , and never brought us our bill), we do not recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    47
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite for Mexican food”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Great service & great food. Come here regularly with the family or for lunch take outs... Also the breakfast burritos are awesome.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Fajitas”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Living in Arizona, we have many alternatives for good Mexican Food. Chavolos rates with the best of them. We had Steak and Chicken Fajitas prepared just as we like them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BruceSpiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Best margarita's and good food.”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We always enjoy dining here starting with Cadillac rita on rocks. Like the chili relleno and sour cream enchiladas, will return next year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
411 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good real Mexican / Colorado food.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Had breakfast at Chavolos. Huevos con chorizo beans and rice. Mild chorizo. Could not finish My portion . Huevos con Machaca equally as good and again to much for one person to eat. If you really like Mexican soup try the Menudo one bowl will cure all that ails you. The burrito was the size of a baseball bat Nd equally as tasty. Not fancy but a local place. Chavolos has his meat market next door and makes his own Chorizo. Good friendly service and fair prices. After breakfast we skipped lunch could not eat until late in the day. Good Mexican Breakfast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chavolos Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Chavolos Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing