We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pagosa Springs accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Durango
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pagosa Springs accomodations”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good location, but high priced, below average, room. After running the hot water for 10 minutes, it was barely tepid, two of five light bulbs burned out over sink, noisy window A/C, 1950's TV and uncomfortable bed. All of this for $142 per night in September. Wow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    43
    23
    9
    9
See reviews for
39
43
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

They charged us a $125 cleaning fee because they claim we had a dog staying in the cabin.... WHAT?!?! Kristen at the front desk said that she found dog hairs. Hmmm, interesting. Yes, we have two dogs. We also have a receipt from the boarding place where they stayed during the same weekend in Denver. She said she didn't care and that it's their word against ours and hung up the phone on me.

I have never been so insulted. Is this how they treat customers? Accuse them of wrong doing and charge them so they can make more money? They should be ashamed of themselves. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AttentiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soaknpagosa, Guest Relations Manager at Healing Waters Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
One of the policies we have implemented at our site is the policy not to allow pets in any of our rooms. We understand that pets are often times part of the family and many people do not like to travel without them. In this situation our housekeeper entered the cabin to begin cleaning and not only found light colored dog hair on the floor throughout the cabin and on the bedding of the lower bunk bed, but she also noticed a distinct dog odor inside the cabin. The amount of hair appeared to be much more than one would expect might be carried in on luggage or clothing and led us to believe that a dog had been sleeping there. Because of the amount of hair found in the cabin and the odor, we were forced to deep clean the entire unit, resulting in the $125 cleaning fee. We don’t easily hand out this type of charge and have seldom had to. The cabin was looked over by two separate individuals before making the decision.

The first phone call we received concerning the charge was not to deny that a dog had been in the cabin, but instead to protest the amount of the fee. Later phone calls accused a neighboring cabin of having a dog and then finally a denial in having a dog at all. A post placed on our FaceBook page, by what appeared to be a third party, referred to the guest by a completely different name than the name used to reserve the room and encouraged others not to stay with us because they had been charged a cleaning fee for pet hair.

It is not our goal to charge cleaning fees to “make more money”, in fact when we have to do an unexpected deep clean on a unit it puts our housekeepers behind schedule and sometimes means we have to call in additional help to cover the other rooms. Our goal, in fact, is to provide a comfortable place of relaxation for travelers to enjoy our hot springs and spa facilities.

We have several places in Pagosa Springs that board dogs and we invite guests to contact us in advance to get numbers to any of these facilities. Guests staying in our RV Park are welcome to bring their pets with them. We just ask that they be kept on a leash when outside of their RV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
441 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Whomever named this substandard 2nd rate broken down motel a "resort and spa" had a huge delusional imagination. The rooms are old, smell bad (have horrid masking perfume), and are about as basic as a motel room gets. It is mind-blowing that this place gets away with calling itself a "resort and spa!" This is downright false advertising and laughable! Yes, they have a hot mineral water pool, but it is in disrepair and does not appear to be clean. After staying one night, we cancelled the remainder of our reservation because the room was so horrible. They advertise their rooms have air conditioning...what that means is a cheap noisy unit screwed into a small window. Since this is the ONLY window in the room, you can't open a window in order to enjoy the fresh air of Colorado nights. There was no iron or ironing board in the room. There was a big hole in the cheap fiberglass bathtub. The towels in the room are labeled with black magic marker (as if you'd want their cheap, thread-worn rags!). The linens were thin, cheap and polyester. The bedspread was old and dirty. The pillows and mattress were old, lumpy, and horribly uncomfortable. This place is a nightmare to be honest where you are routed through the lobby (coming & going) and scrutinized by the front desk person before you are allowed to go out to the pool. You are given a hospital-type bracelet you are supposed to wear while in the pool. Guess what, I wasn't about to wear their stupid bracelet. For all these wonderful illusionary "resort/spa" luxuries we paid $128 for one night! We will never return to this dump again.

Room Tip: Stay here at your own peril
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldSprinter18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

The staff was very friendly, informative, and helpful. Although facility was old, still served the purpose well! We went for a couple's weekend and had a wonderful massage! The therapists were really good, on time, and seemed to enjoy what they did. We didnt care for the fact there was no adult couples' bathhouse with the really hot springs! We would have liked late night access to any spring. The "cabin" was a miniature manufactured cabin. It was small but nice. The bed were horrible! The visiting/living area was uncomfortable as well. Location was GREAT! Overall the place was very quiet. The huge mineral pool was old but still nice. For a middle budget kind of place we enjoyed it and would stay again IF the beds were better!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deidre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We made reservations 2 weeks in advance for massages. We were told that this is where the 'locals soak'. Hah! I seriously doubt that. In fact, the place was completely EMPTY when we arrived at 10:45am for our massages. They were cleaning the outdoor swimming pool and the noise was unbelievably loud and distracting and it was to go on all afternoon! So, we were unable to use any of the facilities because the noise was unbearable. Talk about destroying the relaxed feeling from a nice massage! We were not told that this cleaning was going to happen when we booked our reservation, even though we had originally booked for another day when the pool cleaning would not be going on. When I asked the gal who booked us why she didn't tell us, she said she was sorry, she forgot and offered us 2 passes for the next day. But since the place is at least 70 years old, with chipped paint everywhere, smell of mildew, cracked tiles, and just old old old - with no charm whatsoever, we knew we would never come back here! I was really upset so they refunded us $20 because we didn't use their pools. Don't waste your time or money going to this run down old place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Healing Waters Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
We apologize for the miscommunication concerning our pool cleaning. We do close down the pool, usually every other Wednesday, to drain and clean it, however the outdoor hot tub and the bathhouses remain open. We have a schedule on the homepage of our website that shows the closure dates, but we do understand that not everyone looks there. We have reiterated to our staff the importance of relaying the pool closure information to anyone scheduling a massage or staying with us during times the pool is scheduled to be cleaned.
Healing Waters Resort & Spa has been serving Pagosa Springs since 1950. You are right, we are an old, historic facility, but we really do have a simple charm and are proud to offer guests the opportunity to soak in 100% mineral water, something that is important to many of our soakers. We are continually upgrading, remodeling and up-keeping all of our facilities. It is possible that the smell you experienced was from the hot springs themselves. The smell does take a bit of getting used to. And the mineral build-up from the water can often create a worn/chipped look to the paint, something we deal with constantly.
Again, we sincerely apologize for the experience you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I stayed here for three nights during the Folk and Bluegrass Festival. I was in room 5 which is on the end of The single story building out back. Very comfortable nicely furnished room, small kitchenette and good size bathroom. The staff was nice and the location is very close to downtown and the river. My only complaint was lack of AC - it was warm and stuffy during the the afternoons. They are putting in room ac units shortly. If you want a nice low cost place to stay with hot springs on site this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealtorRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed four nights during a trip to Wolf Creek. We drove into town looking for the place my dad and I stayed in 23 years ago. Found it. Kahuna met me at the desk and booked us in for the stay- and immediately gave us the best runs to look for on the mountain. The room was fine, comfortable beds and WARM (water heats the walls so we hardly turned on the heat). But the best thing is the Warm Pools. If you're looking to rack up serious vertical on the trip the 90 degree outdoor olympic pool, the 98 degree hot tin and the killer 109 degree indoor pool will allow you to ease the post mountain ache and pre-ski warm up. AWESOME PLACE. If you want Pagosa's version of swank, go across the street and pay more for it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBHerold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.4 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healing Waters Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healing Waters Resort & Spa

Property: Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Address: 317 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Healing Waters Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small-town charm & hospitality! Budget-friendly accommodations: Motel rooms, suites, mini-suites, deluxe park-model cabins and seasonal RV spaces. Amenities include: hot springs swimming pool, outdoor soaking tub & indoor hot baths (100% mineral water!). On-site, licensed massage therapists. Located in the heart of downtown Pagosa Springs, Colorado, right across from the San Juan River and at the base of the Reservoir Hill Recreation Area. Healing Waters Resort & Spa - Always a Warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Healing Waters Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healing Waters Hotel Pagosa Springs
Healing Waters Resort And Spa
Healing Waters Resort & Spa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing