We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just know what you're getting into...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Flower Mound, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just know what you're getting into...”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This "Resort and Spa" isn't remotely a "resort" nor a "spa." This property is really a "Motel and RV Park." In fact, in some of the visitor's guides magazines, it is still referred to as a "Motel and RV Park," suggesting the name change may have been a recent idea. The manager was super friendly and sweet, and the cabin we rented was updated and clean, but it was very small. I appreciate that they are trying to update the property, but at this point it is an average - at best - motel and RV park with a good location near the hot springs. We were hoping to spend four nights here but it simply did not meet the needs of our family of four (very tiny twin bunk beds for the kids and a tiny double bed for the grown ups) or expectations so we had to change to another property. And although the cabin was clean and updated, with a nice portch (potentially the best feature), there was no view. You had to concentrate on a lone aspen tree to avoid seeing dumped trash and scrap metal nearby. For the price it really disappointed us. Again, friendly and clean, but in no stretch of the imagination should this be considered anything other than a "Motel and RV Park" at this point.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    44
    24
    10
    9
See reviews for
41
46
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We had a nice stay here. It is an older property, and yes, it could use some updating. If I could rate only the hot spring pools, I would have rated this property a "5!" If I were only rating the hotel, I would give it a "2" or "3." The bed was comfortable enough, and the bedding was clean. The room was clean also, but maybe a bit worn. There were plenty of towels in our room, for the shower, and others designated for the pools.
Perhaps the pools could use a little updating, too. There are repaired cracks in the hot tub, and mineral deposits in both the swimming pool & the hot tub. (Not unusual for mineral springs, but the pools seem to have had good long lives already.) I did not try the extra-hot gender-specific pool.
We stayed in a detached 2 story section of the motel, on the ground floor. These rooms have large glass French doors, which could make a person feel unsafe in a strange town. There is a nice-sized tile area just inside the door, where there are also hooks for towel storage, which is excellent planning for a hotel with hot-spring pools right on the premises. We could towel off & remove swimsuits on the tile instead of having to run for the bathroom to change. Both nights, we had families with small children staying in the room above us: scampering feet & all. (Perhaps management could stagger this type of situation, because there were empty rooms around us.)
I would say the price was "ok," due to the presence of the hot springs, and we were there in early spring. (Without the pools, it would be overpriced. And I'd be reluctant to pay more for the room, if prices increase in the summer.)

Room Tip: Ask for the 2nd story if you need more than one bed. Ask if you're reserving a room with large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilma608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

We booked one of the cabins wear your boots as it is pure mud during slushy period of March. Because of this it made unloading our suv a chore. There was three adults and two nine year olds. The place was pretty much clean a bit cramped but we managed. After our day of fun in the snow and shopping back to the mud pit and the single lane driveway. The cabin kept us warm the master bed was okay but my sister said the couch-bed was terrible, mattress was paper thin and the metal bar pressed against her back!
But next morning the Hot Springs melted any pains away. The early check out time of 11:00 am is silly. This should be Noon.
Afterwards we returned to the cabin and I took the first shower, a quick one. Then my sister, within 5 minutes there was no more hot water! Just great, so the rest of our family dried off, packed, and headed back to South Fork smelling like rotten eggs due to the sulphur from the springs.
Upon check out in person we informed the front desk their reply, "Thanks for letting us know so we can fix it for the next patrons." But what about us! No response. For over $250 a night I would expect better attitudes and at least some type of compensation!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USnTHEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If you love to Ski or snowboard and don't mind someplace out the way. Wolf Creek is an amazing place. We live in Phoenix and travel there every year. It is worth it. They always have plenty of snow, there is plenty of challenge and the lift tickets are reasonable. A great place to stay is Healing Waters in Pagosa Springs. Now, this is not a fancy place, but it has all you need. But best of all it has totally natural hot springs. There is no Chlorine added, This is the real thing, Across the street is a very fancy Springs Resort with many more pools but they are only part hot spring water and part chlorinated. I think it makes a difference. And of course there is a huge difference in price. If you want to tear up the mountain all day, relax in a natural hot spring and then be within walking distance to good restaurants in town, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lavaca, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the RV park section of the Healing Waters Resort and Spa. This is an older property that could use some sprucing up. I would not suggest staying in the RV section. The hotel section was kind of a mixed bag. Ask to see your room before staying and ask for another room, if needed. The front desk personnel were very friendly. They have a large outside pool that is kept at about 93 degrees, a hot tub that is kept at 109 degrees and separate men's and women's bath houses that are inside and are kept at about 112 degees. Clothing is optional in the bath houses. The pools could use some work - they were clean, but run down. There are probably better places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Good location, but high priced, below average, room. After running the hot water for 10 minutes, it was barely tepid, two of five light bulbs burned out over sink, noisy window A/C, 1950's TV and uncomfortable bed. All of this for $142 per night in September. Wow.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Golden, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!!

They charged us a $125 cleaning fee because they claim we had a dog staying in the cabin.... WHAT?!?! Kristen at the front desk said that she found dog hairs. Hmmm, interesting. Yes, we have two dogs. We also have a receipt from the boarding place where they stayed during the same weekend in Denver. She said she didn't care and that it's their word against ours and hung up the phone on me.

I have never been so insulted. Is this how they treat customers? Accuse them of wrong doing and charge them so they can make more money? They should be ashamed of themselves. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AttentiveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soaknpagosa, Guest Relations Manager at Healing Waters Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
One of the policies we have implemented at our site is the policy not to allow pets in any of our rooms. We understand that pets are often times part of the family and many people do not like to travel without them. In this situation our housekeeper entered the cabin to begin cleaning and not only found light colored dog hair on the floor throughout the cabin and on the bedding of the lower bunk bed, but she also noticed a distinct dog odor inside the cabin. The amount of hair appeared to be much more than one would expect might be carried in on luggage or clothing and led us to believe that a dog had been sleeping there. Because of the amount of hair found in the cabin and the odor, we were forced to deep clean the entire unit, resulting in the $125 cleaning fee. We don’t easily hand out this type of charge and have seldom had to. The cabin was looked over by two separate individuals before making the decision.

The first phone call we received concerning the charge was not to deny that a dog had been in the cabin, but instead to protest the amount of the fee. Later phone calls accused a neighboring cabin of having a dog and then finally a denial in having a dog at all. A post placed on our FaceBook page, by what appeared to be a third party, referred to the guest by a completely different name than the name used to reserve the room and encouraged others not to stay with us because they had been charged a cleaning fee for pet hair.

It is not our goal to charge cleaning fees to “make more money”, in fact when we have to do an unexpected deep clean on a unit it puts our housekeepers behind schedule and sometimes means we have to call in additional help to cover the other rooms. Our goal, in fact, is to provide a comfortable place of relaxation for travelers to enjoy our hot springs and spa facilities.

We have several places in Pagosa Springs that board dogs and we invite guests to contact us in advance to get numbers to any of these facilities. Guests staying in our RV Park are welcome to bring their pets with them. We just ask that they be kept on a leash when outside of their RV.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.6 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
116 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
352 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Healing Waters Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Healing Waters Resort & Spa

Property: Healing Waters Resort & Spa
Address: 317 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Healing Waters Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small-town charm & hospitality! Budget-friendly accommodations: Motel rooms, suites, mini-suites, deluxe park-model cabins and seasonal RV spaces. Amenities include: hot springs swimming pool, outdoor soaking tub & indoor hot baths (100% mineral water!). On-site, licensed massage therapists. Located in the heart of downtown Pagosa Springs, Colorado, right across from the San Juan River and at the base of the Reservoir Hill Recreation Area. Healing Waters Resort & Spa - Always a Warm Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Healing Waters Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Healing Waters Hotel Pagosa Springs
Healing Waters Resort And Spa
Healing Waters Resort & Spa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing