We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Location, not so great cabin”
Review of San Juan Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Juan Motel
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT Location, not so great cabin”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in one of the recently updated cabins in October and were a little disappointed with the updates. The gas heaters were so noisy all night that it was difficult to sleep and the beds felt like there was nothing on top of the box springs. This is a really great location and the exterior of the cabins and proximity to the hot springs, cute shops and the San Juan River are amazing, but the interiors and comfort level for guest could really use some TLC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CactusCrafter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We appreciate your review and apologize that you found the wall heater units noisey. If you are not accustomed to wall heaters we understand that the sound of the flame kicking on and them warming up can be distracting. We wished we had known at the front desk as we could have either offered to move you to a motel room or provided you with an electric heater. As for the updates, we are not clear as to what you did not find satisfactory as we removed the old paneling to expose the natural wood logs and re-stained and re-chinked them in order to provide the authentic cabin look and feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    42
    28
    19
    17
See reviews for
45
44
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The motel was nice, clean, quiet, beautiful view of the mountains, property extends to the San Juan river where you can explore. Only - was the 2x2 shower, very tight. Front desk was courteous, breakfast was plenty composed of coffee, milk, cereals, muffins and other sweet carbs, fresh oranges, bananas, orange juice.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hpenuela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay other than the fact that you found the shower area confining. We try to be sure always advise our guest that the smaller "original" motel rooms are our smallest rooms but for a small upgrade charge you could have a much larger and newer room that has a tub/shower combination. We apologize if we didn't advise you of this at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was staying a night in late September. At daytime there were temperatures in the 40ies, at night in the twenties. When I arrived, all windows in the room were open and the room was really cold: 53°F (at least there was a thermometer to check). The main heating system was completely off (probably hasn't been switched on for the season yet), there was only a small portable electric heater which primarily made noise, not heat - it managed to raise the temperature during the night by just 3°F.
The bed had only very thing blankets and I was really freezing in bed. In the morning, I looked forward for a hot shower. And the shower really had hot water - for about 2 minutes, then it started to cool down... If somebody had been accompanying me, she would not have had the chance to warm up in the shower.

It's sad because it would have been so easy for the motel to accomodate for the climate:
- have the room service close open windows
- provide warm blankets
- or maybe even turn on the heating system based on temperatures, not on some fixed schedule.

The fact that all this happend in Pagosa Springs which has hot springs and geothermal energy readily available makes this even more pathetic.

The room itself was dated and worn down. Ok to sleep for a night, but if I wanted to stay longer, I would prefer something more attractive.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank gul6dul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We do appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Our apologies that room was not warm when you arrived. During the month of September it is common for there to be a wide swing in temperatures from the daytime to night. Typically there are extra blankets that can be found in the dressers in all our rooms but if we happened to have missed them we would have been happy to have got them for you if you had advised the front desk. We hope you will stay with us again and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Belton, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We made reservations for two days and enjoyed it so much we drove back from the four corners area to stay another night
The rooms are clean the people are friendly and very helpful
Very close to everything in Pagosa Springs
I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and decided to come back after a long day in the four corners area! We appreciate your business and your kind words! Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This place is a hidden jewel. Located right by the river and easy walking distance to downtown. The rooms were very clean and nice. The staff was super friendly and helpful. We didn't have a cabin, but our friends did and it was great. A beautiful setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope that you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Looking for a rustic, comfortable, extremely clean place to stay? With a forest and a river next to it ? This is the place, San Juan Motel & Cabins in Pagosa Springs, Colorado. It's cleanliness was well beyond usual motel encounters. The pleasant "service" with a smile and helpful suggestions were like a whipped cream on top of an ice cream. Whether for a night or a few days this is the place to sit and read or think, or just simply sit.

Room Tip: Some rooms/cabins do not have AC, which most of the time is not a problem due to local climate, so c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Many guest feel the location of our property is great when they come to Pagosa since we have the river, the mountain behind us with the trailhead, but yet we are still within walking distance to downtown and have restuarants and shopping just across from us. Hopefully, you saw some of the deer that love to stroll around the property in the late afternoons.
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review! We look forward to seeing you again and will make every effort to be sure you enjoy your next visit as much or even more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We had a double Queen room, it was nice and spacious, very clean and the beds were comfy. We were on the back side of the propery and it was very quiet and pleasant. The staff was helpful and friendly, the hot tub area was very clean and nice. we enjoyed sitting outside visiting and watching the deer all around the property, which sits along the river and enjoyed the sunset. it has easy access and a nice hospitality room for the continental breakfast. there were several cute cabins on the property but I did not see the inside of any of them. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2wheeltravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Manager at San Juan Motel, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are extremly pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
119 reviews
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
352 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Motel

Property: San Juan Motel
Address: 191 E. Pagosa St, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the foothills of the beautiful San Juan Mountains and situated on 10 acres adjacent to the San Juan River, the San Juan Motel has both motel and cabin accommodations at affordable prices. Can walk to downtown Pagosa Springs and the hot springs. Bikers, Skiers, Boarders, Hunters, Fisherman all welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your San Juan Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Pagosa Springs
San Juan Motel Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing