We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Juan Motel
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillside Inn(Pagosa Springs)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Inn(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Pagosa Springs)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
First Inn of Pagosa(Pagosa Springs)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel SOCO(Pagosa Springs)(Great Value!)
US$122
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinewood Inn(Pagosa Springs)
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
36
46
30
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
46
30
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversmall table and two chairshot tubliquor storesink areafront officebedroom cabinwithin walking distancesmall fridgedowntown arearooms are cleaneach morningwolf creek ski areayogurtpagosapropertyblizzard
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2008

Stayed there for a quick night's sleep. Room was fine - dated, but ok. Floors were dirty, needed a good vacuum. Also, a few hairs on the sink. Bathroom was ok.

Was a quiet place to stay, in the "new" rooms out back. "New" room must have been built on in the 1970s or so. Air conditioning was nice on a July summer night.

Good place to stay to crash, not worth remembering for more than that. Plenty of local restaurants within a short distance of motel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

The correct name of this property is San Juan Motel RV Park & Campground. The motel has rooms of different age, size, and price. My wife and I stayed in one of their newer rooms. It was ample in size and very clean. The mattresses were OK, but could use an upgrade. The motel lacks wireless internet. The room seemed overpriced, but that may be true for all of Pagosa Springs. The owner was very helpful in recommending an excellent restaurant (Alley House Grille). We'd stay here again, but only while passing through town, not for a vacation stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank flagtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2007

My kids booked this place for a 5 day ski trip. When they arrived the room was filthy, there was no heat . The temperature that night was 10 below zero. After they checked in they went to the office to try and get some blankets or a heater and were told they could have their money back and find another place to stay. Of course, there were no rooms anywhere in Pagosa Springs on December 27th. The next morning they called the parents and told us about their horrible night. We called Chamber of Commerce and were given lots of help to find someplace to move them for the rest of the trip. Clerk named "Mario" told parents that he offered to move kids (not true), not to mention they should not be renting a room with no heat at all. They would not refund for the miserable night and made no apologies. Chamber told parents that they get many many complaints about this place. Steer clear because you can call Chamber of Commerce and they will help you find rooms. Also, other properties were very helpful and almost all the places we called while trying to move kids told us how awful San Juan is.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank 5,353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanJuanMotel, Owner at San Juan Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2010

Property is under new ownership as of September of 2010. There are many property/room upgrades currently in progress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

My family stayed at the San Juan back in the sixties when I was still a teenager. Unfortunately, my room last year looked like everything was left over from the sixties. Arrived in Pagosa Springs (gorgeous area) after dark, and very tired. Stopped at the San Juan for sentimental reasons, and got a room for a single for $68, and this was not the tourist season! Taught me a valuable lesson, think with your head, not with your heart! Finally got my key to work in the lock (probably also the original from the sixties), and found a swayback mattress, and a "wall" heater that didn't work. It was September, and already cold at those altitudes at night, so it would have been useful. The clue less, and care less girl in the office I knew would be of no help, so I just "roughed it." Shouldn't have to for $68 for a single! I used to think my father was nuts for inspecting the room first when stopping at an unknown motel for the first time...he gets wiser as I age now! Try anywhere else in Pagosa Springs. The "family restaurant" (forget the name), located at the east end of P.S., where the highway goes south to Chama, NM, had a very good chopped sirloin, and good service...my over-nighter in Pagosa Springs only saving grace. I'd previously had breakfast at this restaurant also, and it was good then too. My best advice? Keep driving for another hour to Durango...many more motels, and restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheTruthAsISeeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2006

Set the time machine dial to year 1967, and the geolocator to Pagosa Springs, throw the switch, and poof--Welcome to the San Juan Motel! But wait! The prices are still set at 2006.

We spent three nights at the San Juan while in town for a working vacation. The room was dated, but adequate. The cold winter temperatures outside were battled back by the temprimental Zoneline wall heater. "Quirky" describes it best - when the room got warmed up, the AC side would automatically come on to cool things down. And do it loudly.

The room was clean, but the furnishings and fixtures gave it a tiresome feeling. And if you want to read, bring your own 100 watt lightbulbs.

Since there's a wide selection of places to stay in Pagosa Springs, you might pay only a little bit more for something a lot more modern, comfortable, and quiet. Or maybe not. Let us know.

5  Thank ohzonejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews