We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for all ages worthwhile and affordable”

Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great for all ages worthwhile and affordable”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Make sure you arrive just before feeding time which is 4 pm in summer. Highlight is starting with grizzly with information provided by Caretaker as she feeds them. She answered and encouraged questions at each of the feeding stops. We are seniors and enjoyed the place along with families with children. Takes about 1.5 hours not including time in nice shop with western art and playing with friendly rabbits, cats and goats. There is walking on gravel some people might have difficulty. They also do Trail rides. Conveniently located about 5 miles from Pagosa Springs in beautiful scenery. The animals are well cared for and most are rescued giving an option for a safe life.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RichDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    46
    14
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An pretty ok place to visit”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We take guests to the 'park' almost every Summer. They feature interesting local wildlife like black bears, mtn lion, deer etc. They also have pretty tame horseback rides and try real hard to show you a good and educational time. It is hokey but likable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank flyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were there at feeding time so we did learn a lot from the gal who did the feedings, however I was very disappointed in the number of animals we saw as well as how small the place was. It is not a place you would miss if you hadn't seen it, but if you have nothing else to do at 4:00 in the afternoon, it might be worth your time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandiio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awful.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Unkempt. Animals in pens or cages that appeared to be WAY too small. Staff more interested in selling trail rides than they appeared to be in the welfare of the animals. Several "advertised" animals were not seen and did not appear to have been in the pens for a long while. Not worth the fee.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank COTravelers131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun and educational- and cheap!”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My family and I loved this outing- the guide was very knowledgeable about the animals and we all learned a lot. My 8 year old got to bottle feed a baby goat- not something we get to do every day! It only takes 90 minutes for the feeding time tour and your whole family will enjoy it- it's very inexpensive as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ccbreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park also viewed

 
Pagosa Springs, CO
 

Been to Rocky Mountain Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing