We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break”
Review of Wyndham Pagosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Pagosa
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Prosper, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Spring Break”
Reviewed 23 March 2008

My husband and I made arrangements to stay at the Wyndham Pagosa Springs for our Spring Break ski trip. We were traveling with 5 college students so the Eagle Loft set-up seemed perfect for us and it was. The unit is set up with the ground floor used for ski storage and a jacuzzi tub, the second floor had 2 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen , living room, washer and dryer and the third floor a loft with 2 queen size beds.. The units were older but I thought well maintained. I appreciated the fact that management provided you with trash bags, laundry detergent and other basics. All in all we had a great stay and would recommend to others. Since the Wyndham is a timeshare they do try the hard sell upon check in and throughout your stay.. My 22 year old son who is in college and unemployed checked in first and even though he told them he was unemployed they still tried to pressure him into attending the timeshare presentation. He eventually gave into their demands and told them that he would attend the meeting the next day just so he was allowed to leave. Since vacation time is so precious, I would suggest that they ask once and then leave you alone. They called our unit on a couple of occasions and even came to our door one day but luckily we were out and they just left a note.
We did rent some skis from the Alpen Haus which is in the Wyndham complex but next time I would rent from a shop in town. The Alpen Haus advertised tthat they had the best rates so when I saw the discounted rate for 3 days I assumed the additional days would be discounted also, but I was wrong. The extra days were charged at the daily rate (3 days=$33 , additional days $13.00 per day). I brought this up to the owner and she apologized but did not change the rate. Getting the rentals in town would have been just as convenient and it looked to me as if they had better equipment

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TXNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    225
    109
    57
    34
See reviews for
288
211
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed in the Ptarmigan units (room 1713B). We booked through hotwire for four people for a long weekend. I'm glad two of them cancelled. The one bedroom condo unit is quite small. There would not be enough room for four, perhaps three people might be okay. The room was a one bedroom with a very small kitchen and couch area. The furnishings were what you would expect from a clean, but cheap hotel: bad hotel art, bad hotel couches, but new or kept up. Given the price we paid, I would have expected something slightly nicer.

The staff was courteous, but forgetful and unskilled. They forgot our parking pass so we had to get it the next morning, or this could have been a ruse to give us the time share sales pitch. Not sure. They offered us $75 if we were to skip skiing for the day and come to their time share sales pitch at 1:30pm. They also said they would give us 'discounted tickets' for skiing, but lied about the real price of the tickets (they said they were $50/day when they were really $48 at the mountain.)

The big annoyance was I verified that this place had a hottub as I ski hard and love to soak my legs afterward. Before we went to use it, I called the front desk to verify the hottub, its location and towels. When we got there, apparently, it's not associated with Wyndham and we were asked to pay!!! They refused to call the front desk saying they are not associated with Wyndham. Turns out that we were supposed to go to the front desk and ask for a voucher. Of course, no one mentioned this when I called the front desk about the hottub twice. I would stay at this location again for $75/night, not $135!! It's not worth the price.

Oh it's also rather far from the Wolf Creek resort.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MEDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Sat to Sat check in at the Eagle's Loft units, March 8-15. I am told they are oldest of the Wyndham (formerly Fairfield) Pagosa Springs units. Unit is large, 2bd/2bath with a loft. Our unit was facing the frozen lake. Sunny days all week so great spring skiing. 4-Queen beds sleep 8 as per the rules. Tri-level, lots of stairs, bottom or base had a very large Jacuzzi-type tub but only four weak jets. They have been updated outside but insides are showing age and in need of updating. Furniture was aged. Fixtures are low level "builder grade", tubs, shower need updating/renewing. Carpet was fine but needed a steam clean. Vinyl flooring was worn with age, needs tile or laminate, sub-flooring soft and "squeaking" and may have water damage or rot. Needs substantial remodel, sort of the “budget hotel” feel compared to say a Marriott Timber Lodge unit, at Lake Tahoe or a Hyatt Hill Country vacation club unit.

Frankly we were not there to stay in the unit but to ski. 28 or so miles from Wolf Creek ski area and 76 miles from Durango (Purgatory) Mountain resort. Both had great snow and NO crowds week 10. Wolf Creek has no day-care so if your child is under 3 you cannot enroll into ski school and must find a private care giver in Pagosa Springs area. Purgatory day-care is great right at the base lodge.

Need quality ski/board rental/repair, Alpen Haus Ski Center at the Wyndham Pro Shop. High quality brands and good prices.

  • Liked — Large capacity
  • Disliked — Base level fixtures, in need of modern updating
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TallTex_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2008

We booked a week with our timeshare through RCI to the Wyndham at Pagosa Springs. It was booked hoping we could have a skiing vacation and we were NOT disappointed! It was a fantastic trip!

The resort was very big and spacious. The staff was courteous and there was no sales pressure. They actually updated us with some changes in RCI that were very educational. We got a huge condo all to ourselves. There were 4 of us (2 couples) and we could have brought 2 more people! We had 2 bedrooms, a loft with 2 twin beds, 3 bathrooms with showers and our own jacuzzi. It was perfect! There was a full kitchen, table, living room, fireplace and washer/dryer. Although its an older resort (so do not expect it to be perfect and modern...there were some small maintenance issues), the spaciousness and beauty of the environment makes it a great experience! But do note that housekeeping does not come in the week (maybe it does if you pay for it).

Although Pagosa Springs is small, there is quite a variety of restaurants, several that were in walking distance (if it's not freezing outside) of our unit, along with a grocery store, liquor store and gas. We were very close to Wolf Creek Ski Resort (around 30 minutes driving) and got in several days of skiing. It was fresh powder and pure heaven to ski on. In Pagosa, we recommend Bear Creek restaurant, the best nachos in the world are there! We did not visit the hot springs, though, since we had our own jacuzzi in the unit we stayed at.

We had a fantastic trip and would recommend this for any winter visitor hoping to go skiing at Wolf Creek. Be prepared for a slice of heaven up there! :)

  • Liked — The proximity to Wolf Creek Skiing ,the spaciousness of the unit and the views!
  • Disliked — The fact it is an older resort/it could use a makeover or remodeling in the units.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Icats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jena, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2007

As Fairfield (Wyndham) owners we have stayed in several of the associations at Pagosa over the years and in both summer and winter. We have been more than satisfied each time with the exception of once when we were put in Ptarmigan. The unit was up for remodeling & when we complained we were immediately moved into Teal Landing and given a bonus week with RCI. There are nicer (fancier) Wyndham properties, but Pagosa is still way above many other resorts. I've exchanged thru RCI for non-Fairfield resorts and been disappointed several times, but we've never stayed at a Fairfield (Wyndham) that was not up to par. As far as the area in and around Pagosa Springs is concerned, it is awesome. The countryside is unparalleled and there is plenty to do, summer or winter. Wolf Creek is my family's favorite ski area and I never tire of visiting Mesa Verde. All in all, this is a terrific place for a family vacation!

  • Liked — spacious, well appointed and clean units
  • Disliked — distance from activities center
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank triketripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

We booked our unit through RCI timeshares. We were in the Peregrine, one bedroom condos - the "luxury" (larger) unit which was spacious, modern, nicely decorated and cared for. The kitchen was the best equipped I've experienced. The hot tub in the unit (shared by three other units as the bldgs are single level four-plexes) was nice. Instead of an uncomfortable sofa bed in the living area, a 'Murphy' bed with a REAL mattress that came out of the wall was a major plus in the arena of sleep comfort. The grounds were meticulously manicured. We were on the green (golf course) and had a flock of Canada geese greet us every a.m.

The staff was attentive to our needs and very polite. The unit was one of the best timeshare units we've stayed in and has a 'blue ribbon' kitchen, meaning well stocked with equipment. The only three negative things to say, 1) the sales staff was too aggressive in trying to get us to come to their 'update meeting.' (Asked us twice in person and made four calls to our unit.) 2) The pool was being serviced the week we were there. 3) There were fees for some of the activities that other timeshare resorts had free, i.e., the on-site minature golf. The resort is located in a nice area...nice shops nearby and a great grocery store.

For sightseeing you are in the middle of everything; there is Great Sand Dunes to the east, Creede and the Silver Thread to the north, and Durango (with the Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad) to the west as well as the Four-Corners area with Mesa Verde, etc., and many other things to do and see nearby. The town is quaint, small, inviting and has character. The locals are a hard-working class of people. If you like cities, then don't come here. The resort's Activity Center offers an amazing variety of classes and activities - be sure to get a calendar of events for the week you are there – calendars are located in the lobby where you check in. Many of the classes are free.

Be sure to go to the Visitor's Center in Pagosa Springs (well marked with a sign - is next to the hot springs bath house) and buy a San Juan National Forest Service Map for $10...it will assure you of finding everything on backroads, such as waterfalls, etc. They also have brochures (free) about nearby hikes, drives and waterfalls. The peak for fall leaf color is about the first week of October. The scenery was spectacular and we saw a lot of wildlife when on the backroads.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spacious, modern unit and not in a big city!
  • Disliked — Pool was being serviced all week.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Iluv2travel059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

I booked a one-bedroom, full kitchen unit at the Wyndham Pagosa through an RCI timeshare exchange. It's interesting to read the other reviews of this resort, because there are so many units, and each "section" of the resort is radically different. We had no idea which section we would be placed in prior to check-in, so we were pleasantly surprised when we were given a unit in the Village Pointe section. Even just driving around the resort, it's evident that these units are some of the best. We were in a second floor unit with beautiful views of the lake, golf green, and mountains in the distance from six floor-to-ceiling windows. Each morning, we awoke to a flock of geese grazing on the green and a lovely sunrise in the distance. Our patio, which also had great views, was accessible via the living area and the bedroom. The bathroom was huge and had a whirlpool tub. The kitchen had semi-new appliances. There were two TVs with cable. Our only complaints were that we did not have a fireplace, and the person who cleaned the room before our arrival had left a half-used lotion bottle among the bath products. There was even a hair on it!

But overall, my husband and I had a wonderful, relaxing week here. Pagosa Springs is very charming with a few nice restaurants, including the Alley House Grill and Isabel's. Skip the Plaza Grill near the resort (one of the worst dining experiences we've ever had). Although the resort is not "in" the mountains, they are all around you, and there are numerous fun spots within a short commute. The best part about Pagosa Springs is that it is not very touristy, so you can really relax and feel like a local. I would definitely stay at the Wyndham Pagosa again.

  • Liked — Views and amenities (kitchen, whirlpool, etc.)
  • Disliked — Timeshare salespeople bothering us
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
558 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
355 reviews
4.0 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pagosa

Property: Wyndham Pagosa
Address: 42 Pinion Causeway, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Fairfield Pagosa Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Wyndham Pagosa 2*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Pagosa Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs Wyndham
Wyndham Pagosa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing