We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a family vacation!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Pagosa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Pagosa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a family vacation!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Beautiful location! The scenery and views are breath-taking. Condominium was set in a great place; overlooking the lake and had an awesome view of the mountains. Facility was adequately furnished with all of the necessary amenities. The staff was very friendly and responded promptly to any and all requests. We had a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twaynegad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    210
    94
    51
    34
See reviews for
259
192
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed at the Wyndham Pagosa for Spring Break. We had two adults and two teens in our unit. I'll start with the positives: We stayed in Eagle's Loft, a free standing, large unit. It has two bedrooms on the first floor, plus the two baths, kitchen, living space, and two decks. Up a tight and steep spiral staircase is a loft, with two full beds, a game table and one small chest of drawers. The teens were happy to take over the loft space, and we were happy to not see their week's worth of mess up there. It was a little dark, so we drug one nightstand lamp up for them to have on the game table. From the main level, you could take the same tight spiral staircase (very indicitive of Colorado design, circa 1970's/80's) to the lower level, where there is a hot tub and extra floor space for ski gear. We enjoyed being able to get the ski equipment out of sight during our stay. There is a sliding glass door off the hot tub level, which is handy for loading and unloading ski gear in and out of the car. The size of Eagle's Loft is a good size for our family. I guess you could sleep 8, but you would be on top of each other. I would max it out at 6 people. (Only 6 kitchen chairs also). Other than the trash men, who came around one day at 5:30am, we found the place quiet, but we went during winter/spring when not a lot of people were outside....it probably gets lively in the summer months. We found the unit fairly well stocked, but we never planned to cook our own dinners. They provided one small bottle of dishsoap, two D/W packets, two loads of laundry soap, a small salt/pepper, a little coffee, cocoa and one popcorn. Pleanty of towels and one day's supply of shampoo/conditioner in bathrooms.
We had tons of hot water and never ran out, which is pretty impressive. The beds were pretty comfy.

Now for the big negative: THIS PLACE IS OLD! You can tell that Wyndham spent "just enough money" to say it's updated, via new furniture, lamps, etc... but you cannot look past the rediculously OLD bathroom fixtures, plumbing, tile, woodwork, doors, sinks, tubs, showers, fixtures, etc. They need to truly gut this place. They didn't update the bathrooms at all. (What's really scary to me, is that there are units that look worse than the one we stayed in!)
I can't tell how old the carpet is, but it smelled musty. The shower heads were so bad, you could barely rinse shampoo from your hair! The windows in the loft were cracked. The fan in the master bathroom didn't work. The blinds were old and cracking, not to mention dirty. Even the "new furniture" in the bedrooms is tacky, cheap, low hotel-grade furniture. The artwork is cheap, although themey for the area. There are a lot of bird dropping on the railings, etc... but don't really know how they could remedy that. (Spray it down once a week, maybe? You are in the wilderness...) We looked at the hot tub and decided we would NEVER get into it! It too was original 1980, gold colored, dirty and just gave me the creeps. The poor little sink next to the hot tub was so old, I felt sorry for it. Basially we used the lower level only for storage.

We were warned about the heavy sales pitch and only had to decline their meeting one time! Thank goodness. (If your room phone rings, don't answer it! It's the sales person calling to talk you into hearing the schpeal)

The staff didn't really know much about the area. They didn't know running paths, nothing really about the ski resorts, didn't have trail maps, etc....and were mostly concerned with making sales.

We called the front desk for extra blankets. They were delivered within a couple hours. Asked if they had humidifyers ...nope. (If you've never been to Colorado, the air ia so dry, it's crazy! Plan to drink lots of water and buy the biggest jug of lotion you can find!) Towards the end of the week we had blown through all our clean towels and asked if we could change out...nope! Basically if you wanted clean towels at that point, we were to launder them ourselves.

Layout of surrounding area: there is a City Market grocery store (which is a part of Kroger) super close which is great! Prices were very reasonable. Lots of restaurants in both directions, within a few minutes drive. Not much shopping in this town. The Springs (mineral hot springs) is worth the price of a week's pass! (Buy it from the Wyndham activity center). Wolfcreek Ski is about a 35 min drive. Durango, 1 hour. Purgatory Ski, 1 1/2 hour. Mesa Verde 2 1/2 hours. If you have teens, go to the Bow and Ski shop in town. They are amazing! We needed a board repair and they did it on the spot. The kids spent a little over an hour in their indoor archery range. The staff is wonderful!

We went with friends who are RCI members, and they said this place is not up to RCI standards. If we went back to Pagosa we would not stay here again....bottom line.

Room Tip: You'd better stay in an updated unit, or you will be really sorry! Eagle's Loft is large an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We traded Hilton timeshare points through RCI to stay here. There's a reason this place ALWAYS has rooms available. We were glad to stay in Pagosa and we liked it here, but this particular resort has seen better days. There was trash all over the grounds around our unit when we arrived that was never picked up--beer & soda cans, paper litter. There were bird droppings ALL OVER the decks and railing such that you couldn't really use the railings to climb the stairs at all. Really? They could have at least sprayed that down. The kitchen seemed underequipped compared to the many other RCI condos we have tried. The unit supposedly slept 8, but try to cook spaghetti for a crowd that size with one large pan, a dinky frypan and no colander! We were in an Eagle's Loft unit with 2BRs plus a loft, which is rather unusual architecture for Colorado. They're dubbed "the mushrooms" by locals. Each of these units has a really ridiculous jacuzzi tub on the bottom level in a dark room down narrow stairs--not a real hot tub. In other words, you have to fill it with 150 gallons of water that goes cold quickly. No on in our group thought that was a good idea. Wyndham really really pushed the timeshare lecture but we managed to avoid it.

On a brighter note, the beds were comfortable and the rec center included with our stay was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed here for two nights over spring break. The first 1 bedroom unit we were given was very dated in linens and design and the TV in the living room was a small boxed unit. To further accent the negatives of this unit the water did not work - no toilet, no sink, no shower, no water. Additional cosmetic defects of the fan in the bathroom not installed properly was disheartening for a Wyndham property.

Tried to call the front desk using what turned out to be incorrect and not updated phone prompts and reached no one. Drove to the front desk to tell them of the problem and to get a new unit. New unit did have an updated flat screen TV in the living room. Bedding was also dated and faded.

The most appealing aspect of this location is the area which is beautiful. We made the day trip into Durango and walked through Historic Durango. While in Durango we were impressed with the small restaurant Serious Texas BBQ. The model is similar to Rudy's BBQ and the food worth the drive.

Overall, we would stay at this resort again but perhaps select a larger unit that by the pictures seem to have more advantages.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyTripsAndTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Booked a great town home , 3 story, 3 bedrooms with 4 queen sized beds, 2 bathrooms. 2 TV, nice kitchen and dining room. 2 seperate balconies .washer and dryer! Hidden Jewel :Jacuzzi downstairs. Great for family vacations!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

I booked this at the last minute looking for a decent, clean place to stay while I was working in Pagosa. I figured the Wyndham name lent some credibility to the property---I was MISTAKEN! They told me on the phone that I would NOT have to sit through any sales pitches, etc. since this is an ownership condo vacation property and then they tried to push free dinner coupons if I sat through something....NO THANK YOU! I went to my room and it was OLD, DIRTY and I could actually see into an adjacent room through a huge CRACK in the DOOR---weird and awful! I went back to the reception area and they gave me another room that was a bit better but NOW I am getting DOUBLE CHARGES ON MY CREDIT CARD with no end in sight as to when I will get a refund. NEVER AGAIN, not at this or any other WYNDAM property.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TicTacjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

First of all the staff are welcoming and accommodating. The grounds has wonderful restuarants, site seeing tours, and local grocery stores within walking distance (if you enjoy walking). Pagosa Springs is a wonderful little town and don't forget to visit the Hot Springs just down the street from the Wyndam.

I stayed at the Wyndam in Pagosa Springs twice, and each time was a wonderful yet different experience. The 1st place I stayed at was a beautiful 2 bedroom 2 bath townhome, which offered privacy, individual space and a beautiful livingroom to snuggle with a good book and a gas fireplace. Offers a private balcony and depending on what side you stay on will depend on your view. The place is equipped with everything you need from television, stereo, radio, kitchen necessities (with the exception of food). A beautiful modern style home with comfortable beds, great service and a full laundry room. A home away from home.

The 2nd place was my most favorite. We stayed in a Stand Alone three story home. At first glance it looks a little intimitating, because it looks like it is standing on stilts. You're not sure what to expect, but once you enter you realize you are in a very private home amongst a community of stand alones. You enter the place by going up the outside staircase, which opens up to the 2nd floor. The entrance opens into an entrance way, the laundry closet and kitchen, the dining room, livingroom, and separate ended bedrooms. You enter the bottom floor (ground level) by walking down a spiral staircase located in the center of the home. You then enter a space with a large private jacuzi, and an outside door that leads to the carport. A very private getaway after a long day of adventure and hiking the nearby mountains. There is so much to do, and returning home to a log fireplace (which Wyndam provides the wood) in the main living room. The view is spectacular from the large windows in the living room, and the balconies. The kitchen space is equipped with everything but food, and if you are traveling with more than 2 couples and friends you have the option of going upstaris to a large room with a couple of beds, which in my opinion would be great for children. One way up, one way down, with no access to a balcony (very safe). I would highly recommend the stand alones for anyone without physical challenges, because this place is all about stairs. It is my most favorite with it's rustic style.
Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Depending on physical challenges I recommend the Stand alones for a family with children over 7 yrs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StardustNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.3 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pagosa

Property: Wyndham Pagosa
Address: 42 Pinion Causeway, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Fairfield Pagosa Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Pagosa 3*
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Wyndham Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Pagosa Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Hotel Pagosa Springs
Wyndham Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs Wyndham
Wyndham Pagosa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing