We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need for a great stay.”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Everything you need for a great stay.”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

HCL offers things you cant find in a hotel. The staff was friendly. It has great 24 hour hot tubs (3) and sauna, fireplaces in cabins, free firewood, good breakfast, huge yard, pretty stars to look at, grills, fire rings. The cabin was insanely clean.The price was great in off season. Hope to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try to anticipate what our guests might like to have as amenities, so if you ever have suggestions, please let us know. Come back as often as you can-- different seasons have a lot of variety in activiities to offer, and our front desk people can help you plan a wonderful stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    129
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
198
211
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My husband and I stayed a night here, en route from Moab Utah to northern NM. While located a few miles out of town, the setting is worth it and the lodge office very accomodating with a great little sitting area/fireplace. We did not take advantage of the outside hot tubs and sauna or the grills and the restaurant next door would have been perfect but it was closed for some reason, but the setting perfect and the breakfast room and breakfast very good, decorated with beautiful, handmade and comfortable knotty pine (?) furniture. Did not see inside the cabins but would imagine great for families.,

Room Tip: Upper level has balcony views, but no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. Since you were here,
we have painted all the exteriors of the cabins and the entire lodge, and are almost done painting the interiors of the rooms. We hope you will come back and see us the next time you are here in
the west, and check out how much we have changed since your stay this spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paola, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We spent 3 nights in one of the small cabins, and got a great rate since it was off-season. We have stayed in the Lodge rooms before, and they are perfectly nice and clean but this time we decided to try one of the cabins. We had a large studio with a stone fireplace, two queen beds, a bathroom with shower, a kitchenette and dining area plus a small private deck with deck chairs. We were very comfortable, and the price was great. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We rented a DVD player (free) and watched a movie one night. The location is right outside of Pagosa Springs, in the "woods," though along the highway. Yes, the highway noise was a bit loud, but since the road goes up to Wolf Creek Pass, we found most of the traffic died after dark and did not bother our sleeping at all.

Only a couple of criticisms -- the kitchenette has a microwave, fridge and two burners, but no oven, so no heating up a frozen pizza. The San Juan Roadhouse, which advertises as being open year-round was "closed for mud season," which was quite a disappointment. Also, the cabins do not have a/c and they get quite warm from the mountain sun during the daytime -- even though they cool off at night. I think they would be too warm for summertime use without a/c.

We have stayed at the Lodge many times through the years and always find it clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I also like the woodsy location, despite the highway noise. I was very happy to learn that new owners are planning some upgrades, and we saw lots of annual maintenance being done to keep the place looking great. Overall, this is a great place for a family -- with a kid's playground, lots of grass, and even a fishing pond. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The Lodge rooms have a/c so they are a good choice for summertime use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifercks94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We enjoyed having you as our guests-lthank your for staying with us and taking time to write a review. We are in the middle of refurbishing the exterior of the lodge and cabins, and also are painting the interiors of the lodge rooms. Many new things are underway that I am sure you will enjoy on your next visit.
To answer your concern on the cabins not having a/c-its surprising how cool they get when the ceiling fans are used in combination with a box or window fan. However, a/c may be a consideration the the future.
The restaurant next door is not owned by us, but it should be open again the first of June. They often have music on the weekends and the food is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed one night in a small cabin while passing through Pagosa Springs. The desk clerk was very friendly and made sure we had everything that we needed. We enjoyed building a fire in the wood stove since it was a chilly spring evening. The road noise was a little loud due to the sound of the passing semi trucks echoing through out the valley. We tried the continental breakfast and it was excellent. All in all, I'd recommend one of the cabin's to anyone I know that would visit the area.

Room Tip: Book a cabin, they are futher off the highway and you won't have to worrry about the neighbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
We enjoyed having you stay with us and glad you liked our continental breakfast. We are always trying new items to please our guests. Let us know if you have any suggestions while you are here, because we welcome your ideas. Come back and stay with us again-we are painting and doing a lot of maintenance right now to make our facility even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
213 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed in one of the small cabins (two double beds, toilet/shower, small kitchenette) for four nights while visiting relatives in Pagosa Springs in early May. Got great rates because it was the off season. Place was clean, beds were very comfortable, and we could either cook our own breakfast or have their continental breakfast in the nice dining area in the lodge (breakfast is included even for those who book cabins as opposed to rooms). Hot tub was welcomed one night when it got rather cold outside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
So glad you got the chance to stay with us and enjoy our off season rates. April and May are a good
time to visit because it's not busy and you can have a quiet stay. The hiking trails and hot springs resorts are uncrowded and restaurants aren't that busy. But Pagosa is great any time of year, so come back often and we will always give you a warm welcome, a clean room, and a good breakfast. If we made you feel at home, then we feel successful. Watch for special rates and promotions in your email and come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a "lodge" room for 1 night. This is really more of an old style motel with upper and lower outside entrances. Has the feel of a well worn Super 8 or Motel 6. Located right on the highway. Can't understand the 4 and 5 star reviews at all (maybe the cabins are great). Would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
It really makes us sad that you didn't like us, because we really try hard to make everything as nice as possible for our guests. While you were here, we were taking bids on painting the exteriors of the lodge and cabins, and the painting has now been accomplished. In addition, we are updating the interiors of all the motel rooms, with paint, etc, and the cabins are next in line. Our summer flower baskets just arrived, and soon we will be all spruced up for the busy season.
You know, even if we can't be perfect in appearance, we try to make up for it by giving extra good customer servicel, making guests feel at home, and accomodating special requests.
Next time you are in Pagosa Springs, stop by, check out our improvements and see if you wouldn't like to give us another try. We would welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed one night in motel, second floor room. Cold, snowy night so room's warmth was welcoming. Exhausted after wintry travel so comfy bed/pillows were wonderful. Linens smelled clean (bleach) but both towels and bed sheets had brownish stains. Woke up at midnight to neighbor's loud TV and partiers' voices. Also, mini-fridge not plugged in when we got there so after doing so, listened to the loud hum of the 'frig go on and off all night. Needed to keep some food cold otherwise would have left it unplugged. Environmentally friendly shower head (i.e. low flow) shot out hot, then cold water. In room coffee maker was a huge plus, since lobby is locked until 7:00 a.m. and no chance of getting breakfast a few mintues early. Breakfast hours are 7:00-9:00 firm, so you can't even grab a bagel or piece of fruit for the road. Early travelers are out of luck. Front desk woman very nice. Paid $67 for room; very good price for this area; just don't expect the quality of better chain hotels...this is a mom & pop operation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durangotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
This is one of those times, when a call or a visit to the front desk would have made all the difference.
We often open the breakfast a bit early, especially on weekends. And we accomodate special requests-just let us know you need to leave early and you can make a breakfast plate the night before to give you a good start on the road, and we will provide extra coffee for your room. Or call us in the morning and we will let you in early-not everything may be ready until 7:00, but you are welcome to what is ready, plus hot coffee. I apologize for the noise-we had a couple of basketball teams here for a tournament and they didn't seem to understand the concept of "quiet time".
We put a lot of effort into keeping our rooms and linens in the best shape possible-we are upgrading as quickly as we can-but everything depends on the budget-we don't have the backing of a big chain motel system to help us out. But precisely because we are a "mom and pop" operation, we accomodate special requests and go the extra mile to make our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing