We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
los lunas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will be back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a great time staying at the High Country Lodge. We stayed in a cabin and enjoyed the evening in the hot tub. The owners and their daughter were very friendly and accommodating to us and our little white dog, this is a pet friendly lodge. Thank You and your staff for the the wonderful time we spent there, we will visit again soon. We enjoyed sitting at breakfest and visiting with other families staying there. The Currys from NM.

Room Tip: Stayed in cabin 404 back side, nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay! The hot tubs are great, especially in the evening or after a hard day skiing or hiking. We try to keep this a very friendly place, whether you are a human or a dog!
Come back often and you will find the same welcoming atmosphere. The season is getting ready to change, so come check us out in the fall or winter-loads of activities and things to do.
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    126
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
190
200
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

My only ding is for the small bathroom with minimal counter space in the cabin bathroom. Not enough room for my wife's stuff. Great staff that cared about our stay. Very good for a continental breakfast. Anniversary weekend so the fireplace was a big plus. Will return.

Room Tip: Cabins are further from road and tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. I do agree, if you stayed in the smallest cabin, counter space in the bathroom is at a premium. We are working on upgrading some things in the cabins, so maybe we can figure out a "fix" for that. Its comments like yours that help us know where we can improve, so we appreciate you letting us
know.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My family and I just returned from a weeks stay at the High Country Lodge and would like to say "Thank You" to all the staff and management there! We had researched many hotels and cabins in the Pagosa Springs Area and decided on this one based on the reviews here and We are so glad we did as Our family had a great vacation. The location was great as well....(about 2-3 miles from town). We stayed in the 'Bunk House Cabin" which was so comfortable and spacious for our needs and having 2 bathrooms really helped! The housekeepers were really nice as well. They had all the dishes, pots, pans, dish soap, wash rags, trash bags, paper towels and other things you would need in the kitchen. They also have DVD players and Movies they let you borrow if you want (which we did) and they also have games, basket ball, volley ball etc. They have laundry facilities if needed. The breakfast was also good and plentiful. We did use the Wi-Fi, which worked well and they also have a computer and printer in the Lodge if you need to use that. FYI.....There is a nice hiking trail behind the cabins which has a great view (and lots of deer) to see if you decide to walk up there. Hot Tubs were nice and warm during those cool evenings. All in all, the High Country Lodge is a great place to stay with very friendly staff willing to help you with what-ever you need, Thanks Again High Country Lodge! We loved our stay and will definitely be returning and will recommend you to all of our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gloria2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Wow!! You really made our day. When we get a review like this from appreciative guests, it lets us know all the hard work and updates we have been doing, are definitely worth the effort. We are so happy you had a good time and enjoyed the amenities. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and hope you will return many times and make more great memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed in one of the Lodge rooms (#103) for 2 nights. The room was very clean and nicely appointed with a fridge, microwave and a flat panel TV with a DVD Player. The Lodge has a large selection of movies that you can check out at no charge. The staff was extremely friendly and was helpful in pointing out places to eat in town. The property itself is awesome! It has great views of the mountains, a large grassy area and a fishing pond. There are some hot tubs and a sauna as well.
The Lodge is a couple miles outside of town but only a few minutes drive from the Hot Springs. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. You let us know that what we are doing is appreciated, and we will continue to strive to make things even better for our guests. Please come back and see us again. Try us in different seasons-Pagosa Springs has a lot to offer no matter what time of year.
Thank you so much for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

We had a wonderful stay in cabin 406. Everyone is so friendly and helpful. We even had a deer visit us 15 feet from our porch. They have both an Inn and individual cabins that are set out back. We would highly recommend a stay here. They are outside of town so it was so peaceful and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gimitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
We appreciate hearing from you and knowing that you enjoyed your stay. Come back often and experience the changes with the seasons. Pagosa always has great activities to offer, no matter what time of year, and you will always find friendly people to welcome you, especially here at High Country Lodge. Thank you so much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northglenn, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This lodge was a wonderful find and we will certainly stay there again! There were 9 of us who were able to get 2 rooms for a last minute family vacation to the Pagosa Springs area. They were able to accomodate our request for a roll away bed in one of the rooms but (and this is my ONLY complaint) when we got into the room the bed was there but still folded up and we had to move the extremely heavy beds around to make enough space for it. Otherwise I have nothing but praise. The new owners were incredibly helpful and all the staff were overwhelmingly friendly. The free continental breakfasts included waffles, biscuits and gravy and hard boiled eggs along with the rest of the basic continental breakfast fare. One of our rooms was newly updated with new beds and a new television but both were clean and comfortable. The grounds are spectacular. Grandpa and the grandkids checked out fishing poles from the office and had a nice hour or so of bonding while the rest of us sat in the "porch" swings randomly placed around the property. Teh office also has board games, DVD players, and movies available to check out, though we didn't have time to partake. The kids (and parents) enjoyed a few thetherball games, and took a short hike around the area. The hot tubs are open 24 hours a day and were a welcome treat at the end of each of our extremely long fun filled days. I will highly recommend this lodge to anyone who is asking.

Room Tip: I would try to stay in one of the cabins if you are looking for more privacy, but the lodge rooms we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gegoddard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to let others know how much you enjoyed staying here. We had fun just watching your family having fun! Next time you are here, our updates and renovations should be complete and there will be even more for your comfort.
Come back and visit often-we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

I chose this lodge from reading the reviews on TA and was not disappointed. My husband and I have stayed at two other hotels in PS in the past, with one of them costing over twice as much, and in my opinion this lodge tops them both. On check-in I was told that the lodge changed ownership in June and it is obvious that the new owners are motivated to keep their 1st place rating. I requested a lodge room with good mattresses and they made it happen. Our mattress was brand new and very comfortable. This is not the Hilton but it is a nicely updated motel room at a good value with the AARP discount. There is road noise from 18 wheelers going down the nearby highway that did not bother my husband. I wear ear plugs to drown out the noise from a snoring husband so the road noise was not an issue for me either. We did not partake in breakfast because we had plans to eat in town but we checked it out and it looked adequate. I would like to return and try out one of their cabins in the future when we have a long weekend.

Room Tip: Obviously most people prefer the ground floor rooms because of the convenience of having their cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merwinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
We appreciate your kind words. When a guest requests something, we do try to deliver it whenever possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and hope you come back often. Our upgrades are continuing and we hope everyone will enjoy what we are doing. Again, thank you for writing .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing