We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent lodging in a scenic location”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The owner and her staff are very welcoming and friendly. We stayed in one of the individual cabins which was decorated very nicely and offered a small kitchen and front porch. If you are spending a few days and plan to spend some time on the property, a cabin is a good choice. We also looked at the motel rooms; they have been recently remodelled and would be just fine if you were on the go alot and not spending much time in your room anyway. The Lodge offers a hot breakfast, but it doesn't start until 7 am. Since we were in Pagosa for a hot air balloon festival, we were gone before breakfast even began. We hoped that the lodge might adjust their breakfast schedule to accomodate the guests and balloonists staying with them; however, they did offer instead breakfast to go. This was a nice alternative, and they packed up muffins or bagels, hard-boiled eggs, and juice that we could have the next morning. We walked the hiking trail that is on the property; I would caution that it is very steep and narrow and to me, it was very scary in spots. If you are not a seasoned hiker or are a little squeamish about heights, I would definitely not recommend it. I would not hesitate to stay again at this lodge while visiting Pagosa. It is just outside town a few miles, so close enough to drive into town for anything. Nice view of the mountains from the lodge, and you feel like you are out in the country.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laneybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

What a well thought out review! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope you can return soon. Spring, summer, fall, and winter-Pagosa Springs has lots to offer, whatever your interests. We are always ready to welcome you back and see to your comfort. We are only 5-10 minutes from restaurants, shops, and the hot springs in town, but being 2 miles out does give a great country atmosphere to add to your Colorado experience.

Thanks for lodging with us and writing such a neat review-we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

On the advice and ratings of Trip Advisor customers, we stayed at High Country Lodge for two nights last week. We stayed in the large cabin and it was clean, warm, and comfortable. The desk clerks were very helpful as we could see the rooms before we chose the one we would stay in. They were also helpful in recommending restaurants and hiking trails. They were also helpful in that we could get discount tickets for the Hot Springs. The breakfast offered eggs, waffles, toast, cereal, oatmeal, and bakery items and was very good. A well-run and customer-pleasing establishment!

Room Tip: Take a look at the cabins if they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Sounds like you had a great time at HCL-we do aim to be a people pleasing place! We want everyone to have a great time, and take advantage of all we have to offer. We hope this will be your home away from home whenever you are in our beautiful corner of Colorado.

Thanks so much for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We enjoyed every word!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Spent two nights at High Country Lodge which is about three miles east of Pagosa Springs and could not be more pleased with this reasonably priced, well managed and maintained establishment. They have motel rooms for short stays and cabins for longer stays, have a friendly and helpful staff and offer a great free breakfast. The grounds are emaculate and they have three hot tubs to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bud B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking rime to let others know your experience here. It makes our day to know our guests enjoyed all we have to offer, and we hope you will come back often. Customer service isn't just being available-it means helping people find enjoyable activities, a good restaurant, a hiking trail, or maybe a new fishing hole, or perhaps just helping people feel that they can truly be at home here. We try to take the time to enjoy all our guests and try to help them find activiites to make wonderful memories.
We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A privately owned refurbished motel/cabin experience. Frans and Bob (the owners) make a real effort to make it a good time for their guests and to make them feel welcome. There are activities on the property and personal amenities like games and DVDs that are freely available. Breakfast was just okay, but the atmosphere of the dining area was great. We'd go back. Their internet site to make reservation was very user friendly. The motel sits down a bit from the road, so don't expect mountain views from your room.

Room Tip: We had a room with two queen beds which was pretty cramped. Unless you need them, try to get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

Sounds like you had a great time while here, and we hope you can visit us the next time you are in our corner of Colorado. Fall is a wonderful time to visit, but winter has it's charms too, especially for the skiing enthusiast. For a more spacious room, I would recommend one of our single king rooms on your next trip, or one of our single king cabins. The single king cabins are perfect for a couple, and have a separate bedroom from the living-dining area, and allows you to spread out a bit more. With in floor heat, a wood stove, and a nice kitchenette, it's especially cozy for the ski season.
We enjoyed hosting you, and appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in Pagosa Springs and originally booked a King Room but changed to a cabin. They sit back from the highway and really was a great little place. Had a King bed(very comfortable) kitchenette, and a small living room with table . Nice front porch and a woodsy feel. Breakfast provided and was very good. Located a few miles from town which we enjoyed. The front desk was very helpful. I recommend it and would definitely stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: Not sure we would have enjoyed the hotel room as much as the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Our king cabins are really cozy and comfy-but you do have to put up with the curious local deer checking you out. Thank you for staying with us-sounds like you relaxed and had a good time.
We hope you will come back any time you are in the area and enjoy us in different seasons.
Thank you for your kind review. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This lodge had nice large rooms that were very clean and comfortable. Had a great night's rest. In addition, bring you swimwear because they have wonderful hot tubs in back of the lodge. They also have cozy cottages to rent - The price was very reasonable for this day and time.

One of the best parts of our stay was the wonderful complimentary breakfast - So much variety and homemade! We have stayed at the best hotels and never had a breakfast like this - I highly recommend this lodge if you visit Pagosa Springs.

Linda P.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

We are so glad you loved our breakfast. We try very hard to have something for everyone and to give you a good start on your day. Pagosa Springs is a great place, and it sounds like you had a good time here. Come back often and enjoy all this corner of Colorado has to offer-memories are always waiting to be made!

Thank you for staying with us and letting others know what a great stay you had.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Wonderful, gracious hospitality. Very clean. would stay here again. Really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars. Hot shower was what we wanted and we got that and more. Great breakfast was included and everyone was extremely friendly..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suquamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Sounds like you had a great time here! But we are more than just an overnight stop-come back when you have more time and stay a few days-this area and HCL has a lot to offer and we promise boredom is not a part of it !:) Each season has something special for everyone-you are sure to find something new and different to enjoy and remember.
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
367 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a full hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing