We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love love love” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love love love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Owner and managers are the sweetest and will do anything to make you feel at home. It says a lot when they know you by name! Not just a room number! We already booked a cabin for next year! :)) thanks guys! See you in Jan 2015!

Room Tip: Cabins are the best! We got a room this trip and they are nice just crowded for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Your kind review has just topped off our holiday season, and put a smile on everyone's face!
We had such a wonderful group of guests this year, and you are right at the top of the list!
When guests let us know they had a great time and enjoyed all we offer, it lets us know we are
doing things right. That is what it's all about!

Thank you for lodging with us and writing such a nice review. We are looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    124
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
182
200
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at High Country Lodge! The entire lodge is clean and well kept and the staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was warm & inviting. The tubing hill on premises was an added bonus!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationdreamsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your holiday stay with us!! We had so many families with us this year, and so many smiling faces. And you know what? We enjoyed all of you just as much as you enjoyed being here and doing all the fun things that winter in Colorado offers.

Come back again, in any season, and you will find the same warm welcome. Thank you for staying with us and letting others know your experience here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I didn't stay here, but was treated wonderfully!

I booked two rooms for three days each for a family trip the week before Christmas without realizing the reservation fell within the holiday 30 day cancellation policy instead of their standard 2 day policy. I had to cancel about a week in advance, and was told of my mistake. They said I would only get a refund if someone booked those rooms, but the odds were in my favor.

Over the course of the week I checked their web booking site occasionally, and was dismayed to see that there always seemed to be at least one vacancy. I figured I was out the entire 6 room-night charge. But a couple of days ago I got a call saying they had resold all but one room-night, and my credit card has been refunded for 5 nights.

Since I had no way of checking up, this was a wonderful gift and I very much appreciate their honesty! Based on my experience, I would certainly recommend doing business with this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Bnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try our best to rebook canceled rooms and cabins for our guests and if you call us, we will let you know the status of the rebooking.
Then after we rebook the unit, we will give you a call and let you know the amount of the refund.
Since honesty and integrity is important to us, we feel it will also be important to our guests, and that is the basis of our business.
Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Clean, affordable, good amenities. The breakfast was great as well. A little excluded from the town, but not far enough out of the way that I wouldn't stay there again. The hot tubs, sauna, and sledding hill also made the trip more enjoyable.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We're so glad you stayed with us! Sounds like you had fun on our tubing hill and enjoyed the entire winter scene. Try us in other seasons too-summer has a lot to offer, and autumn is awesome.
Thank you for staying with us and writing such a nice review. We appreciate it very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in around 6pm, and the staff was very friendly and informed us of all the activities in the town and at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and at a comfortable temperature. We used the outdoor hot tubs that were close to our room and gave a beautiful view of the stars. Breakfast provided numerous options for food and hot drinks. It was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We appreciate your kind review and hope you will come back often. Wonderful stays are our specialty-we try to make each trip special for our guests. Your review is validation that we are doing things our guests appreciate, and that's what hospitality is about. We hope you will make us your home away from home when you are in this area. Thank you again for ystaying with us and writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here 30-40 days every winter for 3 years and the service has been amazing every time. Immaculate hot tubs, beautiful rooms and great cabins.
Anyone thinking of skiing wolf creek must stay here. It will complete your vacation.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you so much for all the time you and your wife have spent with us-we have certainly enjoyed hosting your ski trips. You are definitely part of the HCL family, and we always look forward to having you back.
We appreciate the thoughtful review-thank you for sharing your experience here with others. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my 4th trip back to HCL. The local owners and new on-site managers and staff continue to make customer service their #1 Priority. They are family friendly, warm and accommodating to say the least. To complain about minor issues that are beyond the owner/manager's immediate control would be petty for they all go out of their way to ensure your stay is a pleasant experience. It is definitely worth the extra $ to book one of the cozy cabins as this adds a lot of value to the overall experience of your stay, but plan ahead as they tend to book fast. Love the hot tubs & Latte/Coffee machine in the Lodge!!! The motel style rooms are as advertised. IMHO, the location is ideal. I look forward to my next visit!
R. Love
PS: I'm not sure if the tubing hill next door is part of HCL, but if it is, I'd recommend its use be included in the overall price.

Room Tip: If you stay in the motel section, I'd select an upstairs room (Quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It was great seeing you again. Thank you for the thoughtful review, it is much appreciated, and we will consider your suggestions. A detailed review always gives us new ideas on making a guest's stay more enjoyable, and helps us raise the bar on customer service.

We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing