We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This was our second stay & there's no secrete why it's top rated. The property is nice, neat, clean, well kept, & the staff is great. The owners are on site & pride of ownership shows everywhere. Breakfasts are real food - not just pastries & toast. On the weekends really good biscuits & gravy(in addition to other stuff). Highly recommend 100%

We'll be back !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieandSheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you back to HCL. Your review really made our day-it's so good to know you enjoyed your stay. You are quickly joining many others who have made HCL their home away from home while in this corner of Colorado.
Thank you for your kind review-we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    125
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
182
200
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

To say that we were pleased is an understatement. The best thing that I can say is that we will return there. The staff is courteous, attentive and well informed about the area. The cabin was clean and well stocked (except no tea kettle--next time we'll bring our own). And for you skiers, it only took us twenty minutes to get to Wolf Creek. And we were able to buy discounted lift tickets at the front desk. The breakfast was great. We will return...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
This is what we love to hear-you had a great time, and HCL helped make your vacation wonderful! And just because you asked about tea kettles-this is for you and everyone who stays after you in the cabins--we are going to provide tea kettles as soon as we can locate a good source. We took your suggestion seriously, and it's good news for all the hot beverage drinkers who stay at HCL!! Thanks for your suggestion, it was a good one! And thanks for the great review, it was much appreciated.
We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

This was our first trip to Pagosa Springs for skiing at Wolf Creek. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was great, the lodge area was very nice with a great fire in both fireplace. Excellent continental breakfast, and the hot tub and sauna were the perfect finish to along day of skiing. The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The only thing I would say needed improvement is you can hear a lot of outside noise in the rooms, and if you have loud neighbors, you will hear them. Overall a great place to stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
We enjoyed reading your review! I think the secret to HCL is that we really care about our guests and want them to enjoy their time with us. Because of that, we take extra time to ensure that rooms and cabins are the way we would expect them to be if we were checking in ourselves. We make sure that our staff is well informed on everything happening in the community and the surrounding area, and we treat our guests the way we would want to be treated.
Your review made our day-thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our family of 4 plus dog stayed 2 nights here. Upon arrival we found a "doggy" bag with a blanket for our dog to sleep on, treats, and waste bags. The room was very clean - no hint of past pets. The beds were very comfortable. The lodge was cozy with games and movies for the kids. It was very convenient to Wolf Creek and town. The staff was wonderful, offering suggestions and tips to maximize our weekend. If want to bring your pets but worry about what to do with them during the day, there is a doggy day care near by in town.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megann_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
It's really great when everything comes together and it all just works the way it's supposed to work. This is what we love to hear-everyone in the family was happy, including your pet! The Doggy Day Care is a neat idea-sometimes your dog needs some special recreation with other dogs, and their facility is excellent.
We hope you will come back often in all seasons-there is so much to see and do in the summer that you can't do in the winter.
Thank you for writing a review-we appreciate it and know other travelers will too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were very happy with our stay at High Country Lodge. The service and the people were excellent. The rooms were clean, roomy and very nice. It was the perfect location for a day on snowboarding. Hope visit again.

Room Tip: Plan in advance during the winter months
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erinn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We hope to see you again soon-looks like more snow coming in this weekend, so the boarding and skiing at Wolf Creek should be excellent for Spring Break!
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience with others. We love it when snow, hospitality and good times come together and everyone is happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New forest
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We just spent four nights in a one of the two bedroom cabins. The staff were very friendly on our arrival, and the cabin was light, clean and woody. The breakfasts were good (although the egg was too salty) and we enjoyed the ski films (although the same film was shown two days in a row). There was a great selection of board games, that my teenage boys enjoyed when we returned from ski-ing. This resort is about a twenty minute drive to Wolf Creek ski resort and five minute drive into Pagosa Springs (although the town is very spread out and some resturants are about 15 minutes drive away). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OwlNewforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
It sounds like you and your family had a great time while staying here--that's what we like to hear. But if we get too busy keeping breakfast going, we may forget to change the video-just let us know and we will fix it right away!
Thank you so much for staying with us, and taking time to let others know what a fun time you had! Come back and see us often and we will do our best to make it a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Clean, cozy, 3 hot tubes are decent, tubing on the side for kids (snow making). Breakfast served (waffles & coffee selection are great. Eggs are so so, eating area is cozy). If you are going to Wolf Creek, this is a good choice! Fair price too...

Room Tip: There's no pool or restaurant. It has an extensive continental breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhxMikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We always enjoy our skiiers and snowboarders in the winter. You get a great breakfast to start your day off right, discount ski tickets, hot tubs and a sauna to soak away the spills and chills. Ice and sympathy for your pulled muscles and sore knees is always available, along with restaurant recommendations.
We look forward to seeing you all season long, and try to give you our best to make your stay pleasant and fun. Thank you for your nice review-we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
6.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 Highway 160 East, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing