We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Colorado Experience”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Colorado Experience”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We live an hour and fifteen minutes away from Pagosa Springs, we could easily drive home after soaking at the Hot Springs. But we make our soaks an event with a night at the High Country Lodge, we like it that much! We have always stayed in the main lodge rooms and been very pleased with the comfortable beds, fresh linens and the clean, clean room. This time we splurged and got a cabin, what a treat! The bathroom was smaller but the cabin was Colorado rustic with the same comfy beds and a wood burning fireplace, so cozy! Breakfast was good, not fabulous but better than most, the dining area is spotless. The entire property is spotless, clean and very well maintained. There are discount passes to the Hot Springs available in the lobby, they save a few bucks. The High Country Lodge is not in Pagosa Springs proper, its a couple miles out of town, but it's well worth the drive. Very nice staff, locally owned and professionally operated. Enjoy the Hot Springs and stay here afterward, it's a unique Colorado experience.

Room Tip: 101 and 201 are closest to the lobby, the higher numbers are further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank analise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
What a wonderful review experience! Because of thoughtful people like you who write reviews, we just keep trying to do more and more to keep our guests happy and to give them the best HCL stay possible. Thank you for staying with us and writing a review that lets us know we are going in the right direction. We appreciate you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    129
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
198
211
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a room booked but when we arrived we asked to see a cabin. We saw it and instantly changed our mind. We stayed two nights. The cabin was wonderful with in-floor heat and the wood stove. Not only was our cabin clean the entire property is well kept. This location is very rustic and we felt like we were at home - away from home. The coffee served at breakfast is wonderful along with the breakfast. The hospitality is outstanding and everyone was very pleasant. We brought our dog and they are definitely animal friendly. I would strongly recommend this location to anyone visiting southwest Colorado.

Room Tip: Sleeping in the cabins block some of the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your great review-we are all smiling! This is the way it's supposed to be for each and every guest-a home away from home. We appreciate you letting us know we met our goal, and exceeded your expectations.
We hope you will come back often and experience the same warm welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in late March with my wife and teenage daughter. We stayed in the main lodge and I selected the room I wanted on line when I booked. It was very clean and the breakfast was outstanding (once I figure out how to work the coffee machine). I really liked the rustic look of the dining area and the room. We did not use the hot tub (no time) so I can't comment on that but it looked inviting. The room was a little on the small side if you are traveling with a lot of gear or staying more than one night but I guess you would go for a cabin or something bigger than what we selected. We were not disappointed at all. This place was as good as expected.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on line and select what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review and telling others about your experience at HCL!
We appreciate hearing that everything was as you wanted it to be and that you enjoyed everything we offer. Hearing from satisfied and happy guests helps us keep doing our best to make each stay great.
We hope you will come back whenever you are in this area, and make HCL your home away from home. We appreciate you and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We rented one of the cabins for a week in January 2014, and had a very pleasant experience. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable and we truly enjoyed the privacy of the cabin. The staff were both helpful and friendly, and accommodated our needs. If you are skiing Wolf Creek, being this side of town is very nice and catching the delicious breakfast before we left was great as well. My youngest daughter and I had a blast exploring the property. The facility is very family friendly, which is a comment I cannot make about other cabins in the area. We will be back soon I hope.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoscoHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We enjoyed being your hosts for your winter vacation. The cabins are a great choice for families, not only for the privacy, but for the rustic atmosphere and setting that adds to the Colorado experience.We are close to Wolf Creek Ski Area for our winter guests, and for our summer guests, hiking, fishing, horseback riding, river tubing and rafting and more are very close by. We do enjoy families and helping you have a great time while here. We have families whose toddlers are now teenagers and they are still coming to HCL!
We are so glad you had a good time and everything worked our perfectly for you. We appreciate your wonderful review, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Our family stayed four nights and enjoyed them exceedingly. The fours were for electricity issues (a couple of outlets failed and in process of investigating we found trash behind the nightstand.) Also in cabin 402 the flue did not function well. We were thoroughly smoked. However, the ambiance and incredibly kind staff made the stay excellent. We enjoyed the breakfast and games and videos for rent as well as the hot tubs. We will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raemangar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed meeting your family. Everyone seemed to have a lot of fun while here, and the children had a great time picking out games and DVDs from our free library.

We do apologize for the electrical problem, but we appreciate you letting us know immediately so we could take care of it for you. When it seemed to be more than a quick fix, we did offer to move you to a nearby cabin for the last 2 nights of your stay, so our electrician wouldn't inconvenience you. We are sorry to hear that your cabin was smokey after starting a fire. This can happen occasionally during strong winds, which we had during your stay. If we had known this was happening, we would have come right over to fix it. Always call us right away so we can do everything possible to correct any issue that occurs.

We appreciate your review, and look foward to welcoming you back again soon. Thank you for staying at HCL!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Your choices in the Pagosa Springs area are very limited. This is probably one of the better ones, but realize it is a legacy motel from a time gone by. The motel itself sits on the federal highway, so it does not get quiet until late. Best to choose the second floor, though you can still hear people talking from rooms on the first. If you have a white noise generator, that would be a good thing to use. We used the bathroom fan and that helped. The rooms are clean, but the maid service is barely adequate. It took us two days to get the Kleenex dispenser refilled after several notes. The hot tubs are a nice touch. Recommend you spend the extra $$$ to get a cabin. They are to the back of the property and should be shielded from the road noise by the main building. Mattress not very comfortable. All the staff are very friendly. We will probably stay here whenever we ski Wolf Creek as the choices in town look dismal or very expensive (the hotel at the hot springs looks nice, but starts at $240 a night.)

Room Tip: Go for the second floor if you must stay in the main building, otherwise get a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We do enjoy hearing from all our guests.

We take pride in being a “legacy” because our rustic, vintage Colorado look and atmosphere appeals to so many people who are looking for true western hospitality in this mountain setting. But we also realize that everyone loves modern comforts. In the last two years the lodge and cabins have received lots of loving care and renovation, both interior and exterior, including new high quality mattresses and linens, furniture, décor, and appliances. We also added a patio with outdoor furniture and fire pits, a hiking trail, gas grills, a winter tubing park, and more for the enjoyment of our guests.

We want every guest to have a great experience here, which is why our welcome letter in every room states to please call the front desk immediately if there is the slightest issue. As soon as you call, the issue is resolved right away, by management, front desk staff, maintenance, or our well trained and efficient housekeepers. Tissues or other items are available any time at the front desk if you run out. If we had known you were having trouble sleeping, we would have suggested to perhaps upgrade to a stand alone cabin, assuming one was available. ( They do book quickly). You only have to ask, and our wonderful staff will do everything possible to make your stay the best it can be.

Your enjoyment is our business. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at High Country Lodge during our Spring Break ski trip to Pagosa Springs, CO. The place was very clean and our Bunk House was roomy and comfortable. It can easily sleep 8 people. The staff was great and very helpful. We forgot our DVD players. We didn't realize it until we got back to Houston. After we called them about it, the staff quickly located the players and promised to ship them back to us ASAP. We have no negative things to say about this place. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
We really enjoyed having you and your family as guests. The Bunkhouse can be quite comfortable for a family with children, and it's close to the hot tub deck, playground, and horse shoe pits. It's also great for people with pets since you can walk right up the hill behind the cabin and access our 3/4 mile hiking trail. Winter or summer, there is always a lot to do here.
We were happy to help you with your lost items, and they should be shipped out today for you.
Thank you for your wonderful review-you made our day!! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing