We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal Attention”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Personal Attention”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed there this past weekend. We were very late arriving and the receptionist called to inquire about our arrival. When we told her where we were and that we had not yet eaten, she provided recommendations for restaurants in town.

The lodge is just on the outskirts of Pagosa Springs and is well signed. Even though the weather was cool, the hot tubs -- outside -- were read. Looking at the starry sky while soaking was just what we needed after a long day on Durango/Silverton train.

They have a large selection of movies and games for use by guests. The breakfast room was tastefully decorated in lodge motif and felt more like home than a hotel, although the breakfast offerings standard fare.

In all, we a quiet, relaxing stay at this moderately priced and appreciated the personal attention.

Room Tip: The cabins have fireplaces and wood is available in reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notplnjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We enjoyed having you as our guests. Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to let others know your experience here. We often check on our guests who have not arrived by 6:00 pm to make sure there is no problem and to see if we can be of help in any way. This way we can advise on which restaurants will still be open, the nearest gas station, current weather conditions, or anything else you might need. Our customer service starts when you make a reservation, and does not end until you turn in your key at checkout. And then, if you have left something behind, we make arrangements to ship it back. Every guest is important to us, and we promise to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We appreciate you and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    127
    29
    10
    10
See reviews for
190
201
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Fork, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband and I wanted to escape for the night (from just over "the hill" in South Fork) for his . Not having stayed the night in Pagosa Springs in a long time I did some research and made phone calls... one detail of importance to us was to find a dog friendly hotel so we could take our Aussie with us! I spoke with the agent at High Country who was very friendly. I had stayed at High Country many YEARS ago, and at that time it was just ok. When we arrived, they gave us a very nice dog bed and treats (to "Dot's" delight!). We found the room to be SPOTLESS with many great touches... spa caliber soap products, REAL glass coffee mugs, freshly painted rooms, perfect! The price is reasonable and Jim and Jackie (the managers) were so nice and even helped with Dot's daily exercise! We will definitely be back (and Jim and Jackie... it's time to find your new puppy!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzySmithWoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
It doesn't get much better than this-you and your husband had a great time, and so did "Dot". Most of our staff members are pet lovers too, so we want both our guests and their fur friends to have an enjoyable time at HCL. We have a wonderful environment here with 15 acres, including our private catch and release pond, and a 3/4 mile hiking trail- so it's excellent for families with children and pets
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking time to let otherss know your experience here. Come back often, you are most welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallup, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at High Country Lodge early in the spring; the grounds were already groomed after the winter. The rooms are nicely furnished--new furniture, freshly painted with great pictures on the walls, refrig and freeer are great (freezer is larger than most). The staff is very accomodating, pleasant and efficient to boot. They serve a hot breakfast with a good variety from which to choose. There is so much to do there; we especially enjoyed walking on the grounds, sitting in the swing by the pond and lounging in the conversation pit. A great choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
We are very happy to know you had a great time while here at HCL this spring, and that everything was to your lking. This is the experience we want for every guest. We appreciate you lodging with us and taking time to write a review letting us know we are doing all the right things.
Thank you so much. We hope to welcome you back often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We live an hour and fifteen minutes away from Pagosa Springs, we could easily drive home after soaking at the Hot Springs. But we make our soaks an event with a night at the High Country Lodge, we like it that much! We have always stayed in the main lodge rooms and been very pleased with the comfortable beds, fresh linens and the clean, clean room. This time we splurged and got a cabin, what a treat! The bathroom was smaller but the cabin was Colorado rustic with the same comfy beds and a wood burning fireplace, so cozy! Breakfast was good, not fabulous but better than most, the dining area is spotless. The entire property is spotless, clean and very well maintained. There are discount passes to the Hot Springs available in the lobby, they save a few bucks. The High Country Lodge is not in Pagosa Springs proper, its a couple miles out of town, but it's well worth the drive. Very nice staff, locally owned and professionally operated. Enjoy the Hot Springs and stay here afterward, it's a unique Colorado experience.

Room Tip: 101 and 201 are closest to the lobby, the higher numbers are further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank analise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
What a wonderful review experience! Because of thoughtful people like you who write reviews, we just keep trying to do more and more to keep our guests happy and to give them the best HCL stay possible. Thank you for staying with us and writing a review that lets us know we are going in the right direction. We appreciate you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a room booked but when we arrived we asked to see a cabin. We saw it and instantly changed our mind. We stayed two nights. The cabin was wonderful with in-floor heat and the wood stove. Not only was our cabin clean the entire property is well kept. This location is very rustic and we felt like we were at home - away from home. The coffee served at breakfast is wonderful along with the breakfast. The hospitality is outstanding and everyone was very pleasant. We brought our dog and they are definitely animal friendly. I would strongly recommend this location to anyone visiting southwest Colorado.

Room Tip: Sleeping in the cabins block some of the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your great review-we are all smiling! This is the way it's supposed to be for each and every guest-a home away from home. We appreciate you letting us know we met our goal, and exceeded your expectations.
We hope you will come back often and experience the same warm welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed here for one night in late March with my wife and teenage daughter. We stayed in the main lodge and I selected the room I wanted on line when I booked. It was very clean and the breakfast was outstanding (once I figure out how to work the coffee machine). I really liked the rustic look of the dining area and the room. We did not use the hot tub (no time) so I can't comment on that but it looked inviting. The room was a little on the small side if you are traveling with a lot of gear or staying more than one night but I guess you would go for a cabin or something bigger than what we selected. We were not disappointed at all. This place was as good as expected.

Room Tip: Look at the pictures on line and select what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterMVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review and telling others about your experience at HCL!
We appreciate hearing that everything was as you wanted it to be and that you enjoyed everything we offer. Hearing from satisfied and happy guests helps us keep doing our best to make each stay great.
We hope you will come back whenever you are in this area, and make HCL your home away from home. We appreciate you and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We rented one of the cabins for a week in January 2014, and had a very pleasant experience. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable and we truly enjoyed the privacy of the cabin. The staff were both helpful and friendly, and accommodated our needs. If you are skiing Wolf Creek, being this side of town is very nice and catching the delicious breakfast before we left was great as well. My youngest daughter and I had a blast exploring the property. The facility is very family friendly, which is a comment I cannot make about other cabins in the area. We will be back soon I hope.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoscoHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
We enjoyed being your hosts for your winter vacation. The cabins are a great choice for families, not only for the privacy, but for the rustic atmosphere and setting that adds to the Colorado experience.We are close to Wolf Creek Ski Area for our winter guests, and for our summer guests, hiking, fishing, horseback riding, river tubing and rafting and more are very close by. We do enjoy families and helping you have a great time while here. We have families whose toddlers are now teenagers and they are still coming to HCL!
We are so glad you had a good time and everything worked our perfectly for you. We appreciate your wonderful review, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing