We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for family stays!”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband's sister flew into Denver from Ohio last month and we decided to show her some of our beautiful state, so we had made reservations at High Country Lodge and Cabins so we could visit the Hot Springs and Mesa Verde, as well as the rafting trip! Our "bunkhouse cabin" was just perfect for we five people staying there! Having two baths was a great plus, and a separate bedroom besides the living area was great! We enjoyed what times we had at the Cabin and the complimentary breakfast for those who wanted to crawl out of their warm, cozy beds to go to the kitchen in the lodge area! Ha! The cabin was always warm and the full kitchen was nice to fix snacks, etc. If we decide to go that way again, we surely will stay there. Thank you, High Country Lodge and Cabins owners! We had a wonderful time on your property!

Room Tip: If you have 4 or more people, the "Bunkhouse" was nice and roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcu4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. Families and family reunions are our specialty at High Country Lodge and Cabins, so it's very gratifying to know we were able to provide just what your family needed to have a great stay with us.

We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and hope to welcome you back often. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

My husband and I try to visit the High Country Lodge every year - we absolutely love it. The service is top notch, the beds comfortable, the surrounding beautiful, and the prices very reasonable for what you are getting. We love the hot breakfasts, outdoor hot tubs, and the fact that it's such a dog-friendly place. Well done all around!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracieAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

We enjoy hearing from our regular guests who make us a special stop on their travels.
It is really special when we have so many who have been coming here for 3, 5, 10, or even 20 years. Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home," the next time you come our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

we could not have been happier with the overall service and stay! from the beds to the continental breakfast it was by far the best time we've had in a long time! there is no question as to where we will stay when we visit Pagosa again! from a full fridge microwave and the best wedding I've ever had in a hotel it was truly the best vacation I've ever had!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dashawn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Knowing that we were able to make your stay a very special memory for you has made our day!
This is what we are all about. Thank you so much for taking time to let us know we made a difference-it makes all the hard work worthwhile, and puts a big smile on all our faces! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our family of four stayed in a room in June overnight for a trail marathon event. We adore the rustic mountain beauty of Pagosa Springs and its friendly denizens, and this lodge was no exception.

Booking was a joy. I truly appreciated the ability to use their online reservation system which provided an excellent map of the property that enabled us to see exactly where we and another party of friends could stay in proximity to one another.

The accommodations are very basic and no-frills, but the entire property is immaculately kept with grounds that are well-tended. There are bright hanging petunias everywhere, providing splashes of color and a homey feel. The rooms are clean in spite of being older and well-used. The lobby is attractively furnished in a mountain country style. The beds have the right amount of firmness; the linens were spotless; and the continental breakfast was fair/serviceable. As with most places, the soles of your feet will turn dark and dirty if you walk around barefoot too much on the carpets. If you stay in the rooms facing Highway 160, throughout the day or night, you will hear car doors slamming and engines driving away because these rooms abut the parking lot closely. In these rooms, you will also sacrifice privacy if you wish to open the curtains to let in natural light through the only window in the room because its view is the outdoor porch/deck walkway.

We loved swinging in the smooth wood porch swings on the grass, watching our nature-loving children catch snails in the aerated pond and run in the lush grass near the green tubing hill. Bring mosquito repellent, though, because there are swarms this time of year!

The staff were uncommonly friendly, very accommodating, down-to-earth, and treated us like family. They were receptive to my one big complaint, which was the lack of recycling at this property. For a lush, green environment and a world-class tourist destination within quintessential natural beauty, High Country Lodge is woefully behind the times and not protective of its natural resources because it refuses to recycle common materials like plastic, aluminum, and glass. I was told that there is a charge for recycling pick-up, which this property should pay as a responsible part of not contributing to climate change and burdening landfills with recyclables. They say it was "too expensive" and created "too much carbon emissions" for vehicles to drive the few miles to the recycling center. This was a poor excuse, as the recycling area is at the local landfill where they have to go anyway, and the alternative -- dumping of things that can be recycled instead of denuding forests and creating many more emissions -- costs our planet much, much more in the long run. Minus one star in the review for coming up with excuses for not doing something important that other hotels and motels across America are already doing, despite charging a premium price for no-frills rooms.

Room Tip: Private cabins on the east side of the property are quieter; rooms 101-111 are noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Owner at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

It is such a shame that you didn't get to talk to me (France Kudelski) or my husband, Bob Kudelsk (owners of HCL). We have been searching for recycling in the Pagosa area for 2 years now. None of the commercial trash companies have ever offered recycling. Just this month, a new company, Elite Recycling Disposal, moved into Pagosa and we immediately entered into negotiations for the service we have been wanting since we bought HCL 2 years ago. We plan on introducing the owner of this company to the Lodging Association to help the other hotels in town to be as eco concious as we are. We are Elite's first commercial customer in Pagosa Springs. You missed our new recycling bins by just two days, as they are being delivered tomorrow. We do appreciate your concern for the environment, and we share that concern.

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at HCL. In the last two years, we have refurbished and upgraded all the rooms and cabins, and added many amenities to make a stay here as pleasant as possible for all. It sounds like you really appreciated all we have done.

We hope you will come back often to the same friendly welcome you found on this trip.

Thank you so much for writing such a thoughtful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stopped here in the middle of the night while traveling through the Rockies to Mesa Verde National Park. The hotel price was very reasonable and very nice. The breakfast area was very nice and clear and the breakfast was also very good and they had a nice variety of food. I would surely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Sounds like you had the kind of stay we want all of our guests to have whether their stay is for 1 day or a week! We enjoyed your kind words very much, and appreciate that you chose to stay with us.
Thanks so much for your review. We hope to welcome you back again the next time you come to this beautiful corner of Colorado.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for one night during Memorial Day weekend. We stayed in a cabin. Driving onto the property and going into the office, we saw cleanliness all around. The office staff was very friendly and helpful. The cabin was well built, strong and sturdy. It was well decorated, VERY clean and equipped with everything you need, including dishes, silverware, phone books and a basket for dirty towels in the bathroom. Breakfast was better than average. We took the hike out behind the property and were pleasantly surprised by the views at the top. Beware though, because it is steep and we saw bear tracks but luckily didn't run into the bear! It is a wonderful place to stay! Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Cabin 410 is delightful and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andersone68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

It sounds like you had a delightful time during your stay at HCL! That's what we like to hear from all of our guests. We think our cabins provide an authentic taste of Colorado hospitality.
We are glad you enjoyed cabin 410, and invite you to come back often. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at the High Country Lodge 2 separate nights with a visit to Santa Fe in between. After the first night I loved the place. Updated room, nice space, loved the grounds.

The second room was a disappointment. Very dated, there was no closet space, the hang up rack was over the desk (not very handy) as you first walked in. Very dark colors and the furniture seemed a little grimy. There was a family above us that were probably not overly loud, but the sound really traveled into our room. The price was much too high for that room.

The staff is friendly, if you are spending time there during the day the grounds are very nice. It's a ways out of Pagosa, and there is no restaurant, so you have to drive to get meals.
We will try something else the next time we are in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1pkc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

We are so sorry you feel you had a less than wonderful experience here. But we are a liitle puzzled since all the rooms have the same new furniture(replaced this year), new mattresses, and new decor and appliances. and were all updated in the last 2 years. We are situated on 15 acres just 2 miles outside of Pagosa Springs, and are only 5 minutes from restaurants and the hot springs.
It was a holiday weekend and we were full, but despite that, we would have worked with you anyway we could to make your stay here the best it could be. We were unaware there was any problem until we read this review. We asked you about your stay, and were told that it was very enjoyable. We are always available 24/7 to take care of any issue, and make it right with you. But we have to be notified that the issue exists before we can help.
When you call us directly to book a room, or cabin, we can explain the difference between upstairs and downstairs rooms, and the configuration of the cabins. This way we can determine your preferences and what will truly meet your needs. The first night with us you stayed in a king upstairs room and really seemed to like it, but then you stayed in a king downstairs room and were unhappy. Coming to us immediately would have made all the difference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
661 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
210 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
367 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: £98 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a full hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing