We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy rustic cabin with many amenities”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The High Country Lodge is a wonderful family place to stay. It is located a few miles outside of Pagosa Springs. We were happy for the solitude and the "Colorado feel" of the place. The Lodge was booked three weeks before our arrival so I rented a cabin for my husband and I. Though more expensive, we enjoyed the separate bedroom to the living room and kitchen. The grounds are expansive and very well manicured. There are three hot tubs, a fire pit, picnic tables under a shelter, adult swings, and games and video are available for the asking. There is also a hiking trail behind the property. The owner/manager were helpful and friendly. You could tell they took great pride in their Lodge. The entire property was immaculate and our cabin was well stocked. We also had excellent tv and wi-fi connection. Breakfast was complimentary and even more generous on the weekends.

Room Tip: Book early--at least in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagon Master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It's always great to know our guests appreciate all the work and love that goes into making HCL a wonderful destination. We do take great pride in the appearance, amenities, and the hospitality we offer our guests-we try to treat you the way we would want to be treated if we were staying here ourselves, and reviews like yours let us know we are doing the right things to make that happen.
Thank you so much for writing and putting smiles on all our faces! We appreciate you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 600 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We rented 2 rustic cabins for our family of 8. The resort is easy to find, right off the highway. There was some noise from traffic, but don't let that keep you away from this place. It is in a nice setting and the grounds are well taken care of. We enjoyed using the hot tubs and the breakfast was nice too. We also grilled out one night. The inside of the cabins are cute and quaint. The bathrooms are a little small but still not an issue. The place was very clean. The managers, Jackie and Jim were extremely hospitable, they helped us with directions and info to make our stay better. I would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: any of the cabins would be nice. The lodge section with standard hotel rooms is up front closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

It's always a pleasure to hear we helped you make great memories while staying with us.
That's what we are all about, and it helps to have a staff that have lived in the Pagosa area long enough to have a lot of knowledge about this part of Colorado to pass on to our guests for their enjoyment.
We enjoyed hosting your family and will look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank for your thoughtful review and kind words-you made our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This quaint lodge located seven minutes out side of Pagosa Springs was a great find. It was clean and the service was friendly and helpful. Also, the price was awesome.

If you get a chance make this apart of your plan...We will be going back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review-we always appreciate it when our guests take the time to write and let us and others know their experience at HCL. It helps the staff of HCL to learn our guest's preferences and our future guests to know how others fared here.

Thank you for staying with us-we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Our young boys were very excited to stay in a hotel that wasn't a big chain. Hiking trails, fishing pond (although covered with pond scum and hard to fish), plenty of area for kids to play outside (and they even offer games and sports equipment!), delicious breakfast and great coffee/cappuccino machine, very friendly staff, clean rooms. Door locks a little stiff and boys were disappointed that playground wasn't available but overall a great experience! Enjoyed sitting on the porch swing by the office and watching the hummingbirds feed. We arrived late after the office closed but thought it was neat that they just left our key and instructions on the office door for us. Can't do that in big cities! Recommend to anyone looking for a great stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mommy1Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so glad to hear that you and your boys enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return whenever you are in our area. It sounds like you appreciated that we are not a "chain"-we like it as well, because it allows us more latitude to be unique, and accomodating to our guests. Pagosa Springs is the same way-unique and very friendly and helpful to our visitors, so it is a win/win situation for all.
Thank you for kind review-we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place is great! I am just sad we are only staying 2 nights! My two boys, 10 & 7 have also loved it. A staff member even sang happy birthday to my son this morning! Perfect place to bring the family!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CabeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We enjoyed hosting you and your family! Come back whenever you can-the welcome mat is always out. It always makes us happy when we know you all had a great time while staying with us. That's what it's all about!
Thank you for writing and letting others know your experience here-we always appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family of five stayed in a cabin here for two nights. The cabin was immaculate, the beds very comfortable,and the kitchen well stocked. After a day in the immensely beautiful Pagosa Springs Valley, it was wonderful to return to a very comfortable cabin and expansive lodge grounds. There were three hot tubs and a sauna, lawn swings, a fire pit, etc. Furthermore, the front office maintained a wonderful video and game library. The breakfast was excellent with a wide variety of high-quality hot and cold choices. Finally, the staff was excellent--friendly, attentive, helpful, knowledgeable about the surrounding area, and courteous. The main beauty in the surrounding area was the outdoors--not so much in the town of Pagosa Springs itself. Although Pagosa Springs isn't Durango, it has a different set of charms. But staying here was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Frederick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Exceeding expectations is our daily goal-we love to see our guests have a great time and are always looking for ways to help them do that. Your review made our day and we couldn't stop smiling. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and letting us know that your stay was over the top!
Thank you so much for staying with us-we hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The rooms are super clean, breakfast is awesome, very comfortable. The staff is very friendly. I loved all of the personal touches that I saw starting in the lobby, very cozy.
The best place to stay in Pagosa Springs.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Denisenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We always appreciate our guests letting others know about HCL. The best referral is a personal recommendation from someone who has been where you want to go!
Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to our corner of Colorado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.1 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
664 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
211 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#6 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
369 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
140 reviews
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range: £105 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a full hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing