We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great mom and pop shop!”
Review of High Country Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great mom and pop shop!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

this place exceeded our expectations. our room was a little out dated but it was clean and comfortable. the ladies in the office were great from the time we made the reservation to the time we left on our way. this place would be ideal for families or a several night stay. I will be back :)

Room Tip: this is located a bit out of town so allow time for traveling to in town activities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccoydavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We will wear the title of Great Mom and Pop Shop proudly! Thank you so much for your kind words-we enjoyed reading your review-it put smiles on all our faces.

we appreciate you letting others know about our consistent efforts toward extraordinary customer service. Every one of you is important to us and we will always go the extra distance to make your stay the best it can be.

We hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    129
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
198
211
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
CO
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

The warm welcome and helpful front desk individuals aided in locating great dining spots. Prices reasonable with AAA discount honored. Finding a mid to upper end accommodation in Pagosa is a challenge, but High Country Lodge serves the purpose for a good nights sleep. Rooms could use updated appointments and more cheerful colors as the decor is rather dated. Refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV are in the room. Beds and pillows are comfortable with clean, fresh linens. Towels are not plush but are white with no stains. Enjoyed sitting outside our room on a bench provided on the large porch. Windows open so can enjoy the wonderful mountain air even though the property is located adjacent to a very busy hwy 160. Outdoor grills and tables are provided to guests for their convenience. The individual log cabins on the property have large amount of space between each unit should one prefer to stay in one. We required a pet free room and there was no sign that animals had been present. We also required a non-smoking room and their policy of fining guests $250 who breach that policy certainly is a terrific incentive to assure us non-smokers that we will have a non-smoking room.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Doctor_SkiBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Wow, what a well thought our review! We enjoyed reading it, and passed your compliments on to our friendly and knowledgeable staff. Thank you for letting us know we are doing so many things right, and that we made your visit pleasant and memorable. We hope you will come back often-our welcome mat is always out for you.
We enjoyed having you as our guest and appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Salle, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We spent two nights here for quick weekend getaway and enjoyed our stay. Although the lodge is a few miles outside of town, The surrounding scenery was beautiful!
We took advantage of the many amenities - horseshoe pits, outdoor hot tub and the fresh, hot continental breakfast. The staff was courteous and helpful. The room was a bit small but well kept, very clean and cozy. Will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RozW240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
It's great to hear you had a wonderful time here at HCL! Being 5 minutes from the center of town does give us an advantage in scenery, wildlife, and ambiance-we're so glad you enjoyed it all. We look forward to seeing you again, the next time you visit this wonderful area of Colorado. Try us in mid September or early October for fall color and crispy fall days, or watch the Wolf Crrek Ski report if you are skiers, for the latest snowfall.
Thanks for your review-we appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This property is immaculate! We had an amazing time here, it was the perfect place for our family reunion! We stayed in 6 of the cabins and they were super clean and cozy. Our kids rode their bikes all over the property and played on the play-set. Staff was very accommodating and great with all the kids. We would definitely go back and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
HCL and it's staff enjoyed hosting your family reunion! You were a great group of people, and we had fun watching you having a great time. HCL is perfect for family gatherings with 15 acres of fun and play area, and the hot tubs, gas grills, playground, etc.
Thank you so much for choosing us! We look forward to welcoming you back, as individuals or as a group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This Property is delightful and so "Colorado". The hanging baskets of colorful flowers along the front deck adds a welcoming touch to the lodges's overall ambiance. The friendly staff and owners made our overnight stay well worth it.
We loved the pet treats and blanket provided for our dog..Nice!
The breakfast items were delicious . That coffee machine is fabulous!
The rooms are bit outdated, but still cozy and comfortable with everything one needs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Our return guests (and their pets!) are always very special to us. We enjoyed seeing you again, and are glad you had a great stay. Thanks for making us your home away from home when in this area. Hummingbirds and guests alike enjoy our flower baskets!
Come back often, and we will offer the same warm welcome. Thank you for taking time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

What a cute and charming property! Loved it! My son (8) had lots of space to run around and be safe. My daughter (15) enjoyed the nature hiking trail and exploring the 15 acres. I was happy that they were content! We stayed four nights. We booked very late and only got a motel room. But it was very clean, cozy and comfy. I was happy we weren't right in town and a few miles away. We have already booked a cabin for next summer!!!!! We love this place and Pagossa Springs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We enjoyed hosting you and your family-it was great to see the kids having fun and enjoying their stay. You will really enjoy the cabin next summer. Many people feel that the cabins offer the truest Colorado experience, but the truest experience is the one you make yourself-tailoring your activities to what makes you happiest, against the background of our wonderful mountains and endless sky.
We appreciate your thoughtful review, and look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed in a lodge room. Fairly rustic here but everything was comfortable. Very friendly staff, great breakfast. Outside of Pagosa springs so nice to be off the beaten path a bit. Close to the falls. Would stay here again. Some newer hotels in pagosa springs but this place has more character.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourfamilyoffivtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCL3821, Manager at High Country Lodge, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We love it that you "get" us, and what we are all about! As a family owned business we have so much more latitude than chains to make guests happy, and we don't have to fit a corporate mold, so we are free to have character dnd do fun things, like being "rustic".

Thank you for staying with us and letting others know you had fun here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
6.4 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
108 reviews
6.5 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Lodge

Property: High Country Lodge
Address: 3821 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-0579 (Formerly Americas Best Value Inn & Suites High Country Lodge )
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — High Country Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High Country Lodge consists of 22 lodge rooms & 10 cabins with wood burning stoves & fireplaces on 15 wooded acres, a wildlife viewing pond and a snow tubing park in the winter. Your stay at the High Country Lodge includes: a hot breakfast, 3 hot tubs and a sauna, a playground area, BBQ grills, horseshoe pits, free WiFi , cable TV w/HBO and in room DVD player. We are located 2.5 miles east of Pagosa Springs on Hwy 160. We are the closest lodge to Wolf Creek Ski Area. We look forward to having you as our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your High Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Lodge Motel And Cabins
High Country Lodge Motel & Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
High Country Lodge Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing