We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT RECOMMEND”
Review of Sky View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sky View Motel
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DO NOT RECOMMEND”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Do not recommend. Was planning 2 nights and asked for a non smoker room. Bedding was smelling tobacco so much that I left with a sneazy nose after one night.
Left at 11 am, they did not want to refund me any part of second night.

Lots of road noise from trucks going up and down the steep incline. No sound insulation between rooms, noizy people next room and outside, no fans in room, did not cool down until 9pm or so. Went to Pinewood Inn downtown, same price, much better location, cleaner and nicer, room did not stink and little noise.

Room Tip: go to Pinewood Inn !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matty B, Owner at Sky View Motel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Well, that is certainly unfortunate that you had a bad experience at Sky View Motel. Let me just address your concerns and complaints for a moment. You say you requested a non-smoking room, then that was exactly what you received. Comforters and blankets are washed following every usage. If you simply would have notified the staff initially, that issue could have been rectified in a matter of seconds. If your neighbors were smoking, well again, easy fix.

You mention trying to get a refund. Our refund policy is 24 Hours PRIOR to Check-In at 3:00 pm. Had you let us know that the guest next to you were loud, we could have quieted them down. You must have slept quite well to not check out until 11 am. And about the fan, we have more than enough to put one in your room--like the sign says in the office "JUST ASK!" For you to see the other motel you mentioned and recommend it, why let's be fair and say what that establishment DOES NOT have, that we do!
-Flat Screen TVs
-Jacuzzi
-Relaxation Garden
-Free Keg Beer
-Incredible views and sunrise/sunset
-Horseshoes
-Lounge
-Free Breakfast
-Nightly Bonfires
-No Cash Deposit
-Picnic Area
-24 Hour Service


Might I suggest that your troubles and sleeplessness may have been caused by anxiety due to your very difficult bicycle tour the next day? While Sky View Motel is certainly not for everyone, we make no false representations by saying that we have very thick insulated walls. Our motel is very structurally aged, but the face lift it has received has guests and the community of Pagosa Springs energized. Cleanliness has never been an issue either, so due to the lack of specificity on that issue, I will pass that off as an accusation out of frustration. We pride ourselves on being a place that has a "Resort Feel, Motel Prices", and that is exactly what we have been since I took over operations and ownership. It sounds to me like you had bad neighbors. Unfortunately, that happens in the summer at motels. Folks can get a little rambunctious. Give us a try again, anytime and the room is on us. Just do establishments a favor when you review them: Take into consideration all parties involved and try not to use a review to boost the ego of it's competing business by mentioning specific names outside of the one you are reviewing. Actually, we haven't had a Michael registered at Sky View Motel since late May, so this is probably not even a real review. Thanks for reading, though folks!

Matty Boyle, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    2
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
4
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just returned from our anniversary trip to the see several National Parks in Colorado, New Mexico and Utah. The Sky View Motel in Pagosa Springs was a great central location and base for us. I was recommended to stay here by a friend of mine.

The rooms and grounds were very clean and tidy. You can tell that they have put a lot of thought and work into the facilities. They have a great gazebo with a perfect mountain view that we enjoyed very much and an outdoor hot tub, that we didn't have the time to take advantage of, but seemed like it would have been very relaxing.

The staff and other guests were very friendly. The owners, Matty and Lira, are very friendly and welcoming. Matty answered all my pre-trip questions. He even lead us in the right direction to get sold-out tickets for the Telluride Bluegrass festival. The staff was very open to providing recommendations on dinner locations and sightseeing. They gave us the heads up about Wolf Creek pass and the Continental Divide along 160. It is an absolutely beautiful drive. I was pleased that they were so open and willing to answer my many questions about the local area and land. They gave us recommendations on the many hot springs and natural areas to visit as well.

The price for the room was extremely reasonable. We would have had to pay more than twice as much at other locations that weren't as nice. We stayed in the kitchenette which was very clean, decorated nicely and comfortable. We would recommend it to other travelers.

The Sky View really is a special and unique motel with a motif and friendliness that is rare to find in other locations. Thank you to the staff for making our visit enjoyable. We look forward to going back soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in the kitchenette and would recommend this to others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I had heard of this place through friends, and it was on my route, so I stayed here midweek on recent travels. Loved it! They have made a lot of upgrades and it was extremely comfortable. Also the views are wonderful. They are pet friendly, which was important to me on this trip. The amenities such as keg beer in the evening and decent coffee in the morning are very welcome. The lobby has some very interesting music memorabilia that I appreciated. The bed in my room was heavenly, meant to ask them what mattress it was! The shower in my room was upgraded too, and was great! Everything very clean, and they have an outdoor jacuzzi which I didn't use, but nice that it was there. This would be a great home base if you are sight seeing or skiing in this area. It would be a great place for families or groups to congregate. There are outdoor facilities such as a gazebo too, and it's just a nice open property if you're in a group. I enjoyed this place staying as a solo traveler too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northsouthq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
3.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
109 reviews
3.5 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky View Motel

Property: Sky View Motel
Address: 1300 W. Hwy 160, PO Box 3722, Pagosa Springs, CO
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pagosa Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — Sky View Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sky View Motel-Best Views in Pagosa, lowest rates. Relax in our jacuzzi or hang in "Kick Down Lounge". DVDs, music- digital or vinyl! FREE arcade games- 500 classics! FREE keg beer. Downtown-steps from hot springs. Remodeled rooms. Premier RV spots! MMJ Phriendly. "Resort Feel, Motel Prices". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sky View Motel Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing