We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive scenic views with or without a hike” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treasure Falls

Treasure Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Impressive scenic views with or without a hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

These falls are special because their wilderness beauty is easy to enjoy from the parking lot as well as on a vigorous hike. At their high altitude (close to 9,000 feet), this can be an issue for elderly travelers or those visiting from sea level. As you enjoy the view, it's fun to speculate on whether the gold is hidden along the trail or under the falls (local lore says it is there somewhere!).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob and Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    165
    13
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
574 reviews
277 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
“Great Stop - Can be Confusing in the Parking Lot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Well worth your stop but be careful not be confused by the signage. Traveling north from Pagosa Springs you enter the parking lot for the falls view from the parking lot. You will see a trailhead sign at the south end of the parking lot with a "trail closed" posting - THIS IS ACTUALLY NOT THE TRAILHEAD. The real trail is at the north end of the parking lot. Also, the restrooms appear to have been removed. Don't settle for the parking lot view ... continue to the 2 falls viewpoints on the trail - these are well worth the short hike!! There is also a view point looking back south at the mountains - great too. The falls were beginning to freeze over at spots and this added to the beauty as well as the aspen gold colors.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broomfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls, short hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

One of the few falls that provide you with a nice view without having to hike a long distance. The trail to the top was closed, but you can still get a great view with the lower trails. Not far from Pagosa Springs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Traveler75Broomfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, on way to Wolf Creek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just lovely, great pictures, on way up to Wolf Creek ski resort. Falls can be seen from road, there is a pull-out for you to park and take pictures. Falls can be hiked, if you like, but we did not do this. Don't miss the scenic pull-out up ahead as well; absolutely gorgeous! Check your brakes on way down from mountain, it is a fairly steep grade.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Treasure Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped at the falls on our way home from Pagosa...what a wonderful way to end our weekend escape! We didn't have the time to climb the trail, but we did get out and walk along part of the stream to take some photos. An added plus- we were delightfully entertained by the antics of a huge group of chipmunks!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Treasure Falls also viewed

 

Been to Treasure Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing