We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved It.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“loved It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed in one of the luxury suites and it was worth every penny. The suite was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting on the covered Patio watching the people in the springs and enjoyed the view of the montains.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kjung-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,771
    687
    300
    128
    104
See reviews for
1,002
1,507
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed one night in March, 2012. The deluxe room was pretty basic and a little on the small side. It was clean, comfortable and adequate though. But the included, 24-hour access to the superior hot springs resort for our family of four was worth the high price. We enjoyed soaking the evening of our arrival as well as the next morning before departure. The river views from the pools were outstanding. Also enjoyed being able to walk to restaurants right from the property.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque New Mexico
Level Contributor
143 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We did not take the advice of other reviewers on this site because some of the things other people rate highly were not important to us. We go to an area for the amenities and scenery available and not to sit in our hotel room. This being said we stayed in the Standard room which is a basic motel room but SO convenient for the hot springs. Indoor access along a hallway to the world's most magnificent hot springs. Open 24 hours a day to hotel guests. The resort is alongside the San Juan river and there are about 15 hot tubs of varying temperatures set throughout beautifully landscaped grounds. It is idyllic. We have travelled to many countries and lived in New Zealand which boasts many geothermal aras and this is as good or better than anywhere we visited.
Negative is that alcohol is sold on property and many of clientele were unable to tolerate the effects of hot water and alcohol. Awe like to drink but were sad to see the reckless abuse and danger that people were putting themselves into. One person slid down the side of the hot springs into 39 degree water totally drunk. His friends wer amused but should have been
rescuing him. however, we LOVE this place and will return many times hopefully. great shopping nearby. Go to NEXT DOOR. Wonderful eclectic furniture and bric a brac shop with delightful owner Melissa and helper Barbara.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gladys3152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is my 2nd time to Pagaso I liked it so much the first time. Wolf Creek is the best skiing anywhere. And the springs are just the bomb. Nothing better than soaking in them for hours after skiing or eating and drinking. It is great to walk to a restaurant across the bridge for dinner or a killer breakfast. The rooms are nice and all, but just too damn hot. The hot springs heat comes into the hotel. Early march and we had the AC on to get it down from 75 to under 70 so we could sleep. Woke up in the morning and it was 65 with the AC running all night. and that was on the 2nd floor. We were on the first floor last time and melted.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoodgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We did not stay in the hotel but did use the springs. They are beautiful just as the pictures show! We chose to go at 8am to avoid all the people, they open at 7am. We were happy we did because we were 2 of about 5 people there. It made it much more relaxing. The night before we drove by to see how busy they were & sure enough there was a line of about ten people out the door & a full parking lot. The morning we were there didn't start getting busy until about 10am.

The pools were a little dirty. Maybe this is due to the use of spring water but I will note I have gone to completely natural springs in Canada's Yukon Teritory that were cleaner... It could simply have been due to how busy it was the night before. The price is also a bit exorbitant. It was $47 for two people, one locker and towels. I guess it was worth it but I'm not sure I would go again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatSmart22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012 via mobile

My wife, teenage son, and I spent three nights in mid-March at The Springs.

We took the advice of other reviewers, I reserved a room in the newer building (#2). We paid much higher rates than are being shown on Trip Adviser today. It hurts to see the price difference I paid because I reserved my room in January.

Pros
- Nice size room that was clean and included a minimal kitchenette. Quiet room with a bay window that pointed towards one of the several mountain ranges in the area.
- The layout of the spring-fed tubs was better than anything I've ever seen. 15-20 tubs and one L shaped pool where each water feature had a different temperature that ranged from 85-113 degrees. They also carved out three areas in the San Juan river that combined the 41 degree river water with hot spring water. Very clean areas that are well maintained. Hotel guests have 24x7 access to the pools.
- An hour from Durango and 30 minutes from the Wolf Creek ski area. Route 550 from Durango to Silverton has some of the best mountain scenery that I've experienced in 30 years of living in the West.

Cons
- For nearly $300 per night we severely overpaid for what we got.
- The room had the old-style CRT TV with poor picture quality.
- The WIFI connection was strong but the hotel has purchased far too little bandwidth. Download speeds bottomed out at .02Mbps triggering memories of dial up performance. It was unusable until late at night when most of the guests had disconnected.
- The tap water tastes bad, so we ended up drinking a lot of bottled water. The hotel sells bottled drinks in the lobby and has a hot drink device that works well, but there is no breakfast except for a few sweet rolls that they make you pay 3-4.50 for. No vending machines on the premises.
- Located in lower Pagosa Springs, so the nearest grocery store is 5 miles west in upper Pagosa Springs. Lower Pagosa Springs offers very limited shopping, and the downtown area is unsitely.
- No onsite work out facilities, but they do have a deal with a health club that's three blocks away.
- No onsite restaurant.

I know my complaints are petty, but for $300 a night in a small town, I expected mores services than they provide. If I were to do it over, I would have stayed at one of the other hotels and then spent $22 ($44 for a whole day) to use the springs.

As always, Caveat Emptor!

- Friendly and accommodating staff.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank McKnees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubreyJean, Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa and would like to address your concerns. Please contact us at management@pagosasprings.com so we can speak about the details of your stay with us. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

I got a chance to stay here on my last business trip. It was a very nice room and had all the ammenities. They think of everything and the 24 hour access to the hot springs pools makes this a great place to visiti for a night or a long weekend.

I got checked in quickly and the concierge was helpful, the room was spacious, WiFi worked great, they had plenty of towels and robes to use at the springs. Bed was comfortable and having a kitchenette was a plus as well.
Everything was within a 50 yard walk. Even most restaurants were in walking distance < 1mile.

They had coffee available early in the morning - which for me is a huge plus - and you could access the pools for an early morning dip. People at the resort were helpful and friendly. It's a place I would take my kids to.

Many of the hotels I stay in cost less than $75. This was a rare time that I spent more than that - but it was well worth it - especially after a long week of working and driving. I will stay here next time, you get your money's worth at this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadsomemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.5 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort & Spa

Property: The Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 165 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
#1 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hot springs resort in the heart of Pagosa Springs Colorado. Offering 23 individual soaking pools of varying temperatures terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River. 100% naturally therapeutic mineral water. All our pools are fed by the Guinness record holder for the World's Deepest Geothermal Hot Spring. Included are a swimming pool, wading pool, waterfall and jetted tubs.  The Springs has various room types for our overnight guests, options range from budget to luxury lodging. Photos of each room type from Classic and Deluxe, to our Mountain and Signature Suites are available on our website. Rooms are a great value as they include many additional perks such as 24-hour access to the hot springs, Platinum passes for 2 days (arrival and departure day until 6,) complimentary access to our 5 Relaxation Terrace (18+) soaking tubs, upgraded towels, and plush robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Pagosa Springs
Springs Hotel Pagosa
Springs Pagosa
The Springs Resort & Spa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing