We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Springs Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

So obviously, guests here are paying for the premium location at the hot springs right on the river, with admission to the pools included, but I have to say I expected more for over $200. Our standard room overlooking the parking lot was basic motel-style with a bathroom so tiny you could hardly turn around in it. Walls were thin, and we could hear our neighbors talking and...um, well, use your imagination. Beds were comfortable, but they were compact doubles, not queens - pretty tight for our family of three. No fridge, no microwave. Free beverages available including coffee, but no breakfast on the premises, even for purchase. We weren't traveling with a dog, but I noted that a 'pet-friendly' room cost at extra $50 cleaning fee, $100 (!) for a deluxe room. If we had stayed somewhere less expensive, a single-entry admission to the hot springs would have been a pricey $34 per person (if you wanted a towel included), so we figured it made more sense to stay on site. Pondered a massage, too, but opted not to indulge when the price for a one-hour session was $110... $95 for a 30-minute salt scrub; $150 for a 60-minute hot stone treatment! One might expect those prices at a Four Seasons or St. Regis 5-star spa (and still they'd be excessive), but they seemed over the top here. Pagosa Springs is a great family destination, but I doubt we'll be back at these prices. Ojo Caliente in northern New Mexico is a much better deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ardentadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are sorry to hear about your less than excellent experience at The Springs Resort & Spa and would like to address your concerns. Our Classic standard rooms do not have many of the amenities our other rooms have, though we do offer use of shared refrigerators in our hotel lobby and for a modest upgrade you can enjoy our Deluxe rooms that provide a kitchenette, should you require a mini fridge.

We strive to be competitive to comparable natural hot spring resorts & spas. Additionally, we offer our hotel guests many perks, including 24-hour access to pools, complimentary access to our VIP pools, as well as plush robes & towels, as well as use of our bathhouse lockers (if needed) and a 24-hour beverage bar. We also encourage our guests to soak on their arrival and departure days (2 full days), a $212 value altogether! We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,982 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,766
    686
    299
    128
    103
See reviews for
996
1,506
70
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have to say this was one of the most pleasurable trips we have taken. Shelley was absolutely terrific when we checked in and upgraded us to a room with a refrigerator and microwave because my wife was handicapped and those rooms were closer to the pools. This stay was at the end of a short trip to Albuquerque and Durango and was the perfect place to unwind before heading back home. If you arrive early, you can still take advantage of the hot springs and also the day of departure, you can enjoy the springs late into the afternoon. Would highly recommend this hotel and don't let the initial price scare you off, cause it allows you 24 hour access to the hot springs which is well worth it. We will definitely be planning another trip back to The Springs at Pagosa in the near future. Take time to go to the Bear Creek Saloon for the best tasting green chili cheeseburger you will ever eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort hotel. It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have stayed at The Springs several times over the past few years and we love it! We usually stay in the least expensive rooms, which are fine ( and have the nice bonus of being connected to the office by an inside hallway). This time we arrived on the early side to take advantage of our day at the pools. Shelly was working at the front desk and our room was not quite ready so she upgraded us to the beautiful newest building! Our room was amazing and we had a wonderful time. No matter where you stay at this resort, they make you feel very special and appreciate your repeat business. We love the pools, the robes, the setting, the staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort hotel. It is of utmost importance to the owners and management that our staff make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

In order to be able to get the whole experience,i would recommend to stay at the resort and use their pools.We stayed in a 2 story building. Room there runs about $270.The best way to describe it is comfort & luxury.King size bed,one of the best bedding i ever had,2 beautiful robes in the closet,kitchenette,couch,flat screen tv.Everything is super clean.It is definetly a deluxe place. A 24 hour access to all of the pools is included in your stay.The pools are amazing. Beautiful setting by San Juan river.Also super clean.23 pools,ranging from 83°-114°. And it is all natural mineral hot springs.The Springs Resort and Spa is an absolute must do.We only live once.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
It is of utmost importance to The Springs Resort & Spa to make every stay a positive experience for all of our guests. Thank you for your glowing review of our family-owned resort hotel and we hope you consider joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel was much nicer than we anticipated based on the pictures from their booking website. I don't know if there has been a recent remodel, but the room was beautiful and the beds and pillows were comfy. The staff were super helpful in figuring out how to make the most of our trip.

Access to the hot springs was amazing. People who choose to stay elsewhere only have access to the springs during certain hours, so it's a big plus to be able to go whenever you want. It also gets you access to an area that's only for guests of the hotel aged over 18, so it's nice and peaceful. They give you warm robes to wear over your swimsuit so you don't have to dash too quickly from your room to the springs.

The only thing is that there were surprisingly few places to dry a swimsuit in the room, considering the main draw is the hot springs. Also, the room smelt a little of sulfur, but I got used to it really quickly, and it can't be too surprising given how close the rooms are to the springs.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msmythe365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the therapeutic mineral water soaking pools. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

with 23 pools , the water content equals that of Baden, Baden hot springs in Germany, the view is to die for, right on the river, the staff is helpful, I live here and go as often as I can , yet the hotel while nice is not in my opinion worthy to the dollar paid, yet the upside of staying here is bathing in the springs in the early morning , having it all to yourself, while the river below lets off steam , PRICELESS, I am a budget traveler and would stay elsewhere and go to the springs , yet if money is no object , then by all means stay here , wrap yourself in their luxurious bathrobes, and spend the day soaking , you wont be dissapointed....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank magoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We're glad you enjoyed the therapeutic mineral water soaking pools. We strive to be competitive to comparable natural hot spring resorts and offer all hotel guests many additional perks. We'd like to thank you for your feedback and we hope you consider joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have been going to the spring resorts at least 3 times per year as we do live 8 hours away. The spring is nice but the rooms are not well kept. The carpet is old and smells. The quality of bed, sheets, and mattress is worse than what you can find in a motel. The price of the room at $160/night does not match the quality of the room (the rooms are actually at $230 per night but taking away the $35/person resort entry fees makes the actual price of the room to be at $160 per night). The shower in the room had cold water and you could not get the water to warm up! The TV in our room did not work well. But do not bring any problems to the attention of the staff as instead of fixing the issue, they get mad at you for saying something......

Room Tip: Stay at an outside hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodie055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringsMgmt, Public Relations Manager at The Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your issues during your stay at our hotel. It means a lot to the owners and management to have feedback on the areas where we can improve our accommodations and service. You will be happy to know, we have completed a recent remodel on many of our Deluxe Hotel rooms. The Classic standard building is next on the list, we understand that years of family vacations have worn many of these rooms and an update is already in progress. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct our mistakes and make every future experience excellent!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
3.5 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
3.4 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.4 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Resort & Spa

Property: The Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 165 Hot Springs Blvd., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pagosa Springs
#1 Green Hotel in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Springs Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-friendly hot springs resort in the heart of Pagosa Springs Colorado. Offering 23 individual soaking pools of varying temperatures terraced along the banks of the beautiful San Juan River. 100% naturally therapeutic mineral water. All our pools are fed by the Guinness record holder for the World's Deepest Geothermal Hot Spring. Included are a swimming pool, wading pool, waterfall and jetted tubs.  The Springs has various room types for our overnight guests, options range from budget to luxury lodging. Photos of each room type from Classic and Deluxe, to our Mountain and Signature Suites are available on our website. Rooms are a great value as they include many additional perks such as 24-hour access to the hot springs, Platinum passes for 2 days (arrival and departure day until 6,) complimentary access to our 5 Relaxation Terrace (18+) soaking tubs, upgraded towels, and plush robes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Pagosa Springs
Springs Hotel Pagosa
Springs Pagosa
The Springs Resort & Spa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing