We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fireside Inn & Cabins
dixonhd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2008

We just loved our stay here! Very cute and clean cabins. Right next to the San Juan river, pretty flowers in front of every cabin. We can't wait to return!

  • Liked — clean, cute cabins
  • Disliked — my cabin was right next to road
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dixonhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    10
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
63
66
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2008

We vacationed in Pagosa Springs this summer and loved the Fireside Cabins. We were looking for a place that was bigger than a hotel room and had a kitchen so we could make meals. We liked being able to let the kids be outside playing without running up and down resort hallways. This was a great place to stay as a family. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we asked for suggestions or needed something for the room they had very prompt and courteous service. The cabins are clean and looked just like the website pictures. We loved being so close to the river. The kids walked down, played in the mud, fished, and we even had smores one night at the fire ring. It is a little closer to the highway than I imagined, but the noise was not enough to take away from the stay. I would recommend this place for a fun family stay!

  • Liked — cleanliness and proximity to the river
  • Disliked — proximity to the highway
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IloveGodArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I'm actually writing this from the cabin at Fireside, we stayed here last night. We're on a road trip through the state of Colorado for a week. Yesterday we landed in Pagosa Springs and deceded to stay the night. My husband found the cabins on the little town map of attractions. We're in cabin 106 and it's not on the river but looks over the river. Yes the place is on the highway but we can't really hear it or see it from the cabin. When we open the door we hear the river.

The cabin is clean and adorable. We have a little kitchen, bedroom, and wood burning stove in the living room. Everything in the cabin seems new, it is very well maintained. Had breakfast on the porch this morning and met Wiley a very friendly Chocolate lab who visited us on the porch. The caretakers are also very nice and friendly.
We would stay here again if we were in the area. I wish we had time to stay several nights.

  • Liked — The river, clean cabins and the general atmosphere.
  • Disliked — No problems
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alicyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2008

We really enjoyed staying at Fireside. The 2 bedroom cabin had a full kitchen and all of the "regular" items were provided. The beds were really comfortable and sitting out by the river was a wonderful experience. There is a lot of area for the dog to run and they provided rags, towels and bags for the dog wastes.( He really enjoyed the river probably as much as we did). We reserved the tent area and had a great family bar-b-que, and afterwards relaxed in the hot tub (For adults only YEAH), while the kids watched a movie with a dvd the office provided. I thought the staff was very helpful and gave us alot of ideas to do in town. It is a small town and so friendly. This is the cleanest place we have ever stayed in and I have recommended it to alot of our friends that travel. They seem to have the same type of experience.We are headed back for our family re-union this year.

  • Liked — A very family friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ArizonaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We just got back from an enjoyable stay at the Fireside Cabins over Thanksgiving weekend. It was great. Check-in went smoothly and I received the instructions on the rules and regulations. I did notice an abundance of rules, (as someone else mentioned on this website), however it seems to be a family run operation, and this is their “home”, and need to keep peace and order.
The location is right on the San Juan river. All of the units looked like they were no more than a 2 min walk to the riverbed. Some of the units are fairly close to highway 160, but we didn’t hear any road noise from our cabin. It is about 1.5 miles to the hot springs, which is well worth the experience. It took us about 35-45 minutes to get to Wolf Creek ski area, depending on the road conditions.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit, which was probably about 400 or 500 square feet. The porches out front would be very nice to sit on in the summertime. The kitchen was a kitchenette, which was a bit smaller than we expected. The refrigerator was a large dorm-style unit, and there was no oven. The unit was nicely decorated throughout. A coffee machine, filters, dish soap, and dish towel were provided, along with a reasonable supply of dishware and silverware.
For pets, the management provided us with an extra towel (for drying off muddy paws), and an extra sheet (for covering the futon while we were out). Very specific instructions were given for dog pooping areas and clean up. Bags are provided too.
The bed was soft, but comfortable. The futon was also comfortable for sleeping, as long as you’re less than 5’ 10’ or so. The bedroom had a fluffy down comforter, which came in handy since the only source of heat was in the living room from the gas fireplace.
The TV was a 19” unit with no DVD player, but did have a standard yellow composite video input if you brought your own player and cables. A hair dryer was supplied, too.
We found the management to be very friendly. We had brought frozen pizzas with us, and when I asked them about using the gas barbeque to cook them (since there was no oven), the manager offered to cook it for us in her own oven. When we returned from our afternoon out, a toaster oven had been placed on our doorstep for us to use and a note still offering to cook our pizzas for us. I’m sure they would have offered to keep our ice cream too, if I asked. That was really nice of them.
There was a hot tub, but sadly they don’t allow kids (under 18) to use it because they were finding sticks and rocks and junk in it from the river. Also, apparently they had a problem with kids overrunning it for hours at a time, and using it as a swimming pool, which prevented adults from enjoying it. It seems kind of overly strict to me. It seems to me that there are more reasonable approaches to this problem such as kids must be accompanied by adults, or impose a 30 min limit for kids under 18. This restriction basically meant that my wife and I couldn’t use the hot tub since our kids are too little to stay in the cabin alone, and not allowed to accompany us, even if there is no one else in the hot tub besides us.
On the plus side (for the kids) little disc sleds are provided and there’s a nice little hill for sledding. The kids also enjoyed throwing rocks in the river.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay enough to make another reservation for our next stay in January. Photos are available on [--]

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2007

be WARNED! the owners do not allow you on your porch (that you paid for) after 9.30pm even if you're just enjoying the night sky! aLOT of money as well to stay on the highway. the owner/manager is rude and should not be in this business. it is like staying at a military school. recommend making it one since that is how it is run.

  • Liked — close to town
  • Disliked — the rude owners
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank outdoorenthusiast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We stopped at this place on a roadtrip and stayed on an extra night as we loved it so much.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The cabins are spotless and very well stocked, you will not want for anything. There is an area for BBQing with a firepit and all combustibles provided, great fun sitting with a fire and hearing the roar of the river and the stars overhead.
Enjoyed the hot tub, and throwing horse shoes at metal spikes (dunno what this is called, but great fun after a couple of beers).
Great place for kids to explore.
Individual BBQs by cabins if you want to stay by your cabin.
Discounted tickets for the Pagosa Springs with complimentary towels....
Very well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redburrowhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
2.3 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
547 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
109 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#8 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
134 reviews
5.4 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Cabins

Property: Fireside Inn & Cabins
Address: 1600 E Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-9740
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Pagosa Springs
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1&2 Bedroom Cabins, Modern and Fully Equipped on 10Acres of Property bordered by the San Juan River. 1-Mile East of Downtown Pagosa Hot Springs, toward Wolf Creek Pass Ski area and 3-Miles to Pagosa Golf. Excellent private river fishing in your backyard. Nicely landscaped. Individual living areas with gas fireplace, bedroom(s), kitchen, bathroom, private sitting porch with a BBQ grill area just off the porch. WIFI - Phone - Cable TV Tented recreation area with fire ring & horse shoe pits, near the river. Guest Facilities: Laundry - Hot Tub - Horse Corrals available. Ample parking and turnaround for horse, ATV & snowmobile trailers. Open Year Round - Offering discount Hot Springs Passes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn Cabins Hotel Pagosa Springs
Fireside Inn & Cabins Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing