We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worn out hotel but nice staff and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
First Inn of Pagosa
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Colorado
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worn out hotel but nice staff and location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for just 1 night over the very busy 4th of July holiday weekend. The hotel has certainly seen better days. The carpet is very worn, the pool apparently no longer functions and is covered over with plywood. A ping pong table now sits on top of the plywood. Our room wasn't too clean with black hairs on the bathtub ledge and black crumbs of something on the window sill. The sink was cracked. I give it 3 rather than 2 stars because the staff was especially friendly, giving us a room discount that we hadn't even requested, plus checking to make sure all was OK when we used their hot tub (the hot tub is fine). The room was quiet (end room on the 2nd floor), and it was an easy walk to the hot springs and to some nice restaurants.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the end and away from the street for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoCarol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    30
    21
    11
    6
See reviews for
33
34
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just needed a hotel to stay in for the night and this one did the trick. The gentleman that checked us in was very friendly and helpful. The other staff members we encountered while here were also friendly and ready to help with anything. The bed was comfortable and we were able to get a good nights rest before continuing with our drive.

We loved the location of the hotel. It is a very short walk from the river where there are picnic tables and a path if you would like to walk along the river. We were also able to walk to a river front restaurant that was very close to the hotel.

If we do come back to the area we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesliea277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The staff and owner were super nice and extremely accommodating and helpful. Nice clean rooms and after a long day of traveling the shower had awesome water pressure! We'll definitely be coming back to enjoy this beautiful little community.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delilah432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was tired and the other places I called didnt answer their phone so we settled for one that was close at the time. We checked in with Pierre and he seemed nice enough but a little confusing when asked a question he responded with unrelated answers. Since Colorado legalized pot we thought he might of been high. We noticed other strange characters around as well. The room seemed clean enough but we we not really comfortable here. The price was a little high for the quality of the room. The TV wasn't plugged in and we had to move it just to reach the plug. The bed was too soft and we didn't sleep well. Would never stay here again. Would not recommend. The back entrance was dirty and unkept.

Room Tip: Find another hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahTouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed just one night at this cute little hotel. Room was clean and quiet. We got in late and the owner was there to greet us and make sure we were comfortable. In the morning he was up making muffins and cinnamon rolls, very nice touch. Would stay again in a heartbeat, what a cute little town and hotel! It was just my husband and I, but we would come back with our family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelley_Hepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ft walton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel was recommended by a friend as a good place to stay when going to ski at Wolf Creek. It has the basic amenities such as fridge and microwave. Room was clean and comfortable for my family and I. Breakfast assortment had muffins, pastries, juice and coffee. Couple of good restaurants right down the street within walking distance. Room was reasonably priced and was close drive to ski resort. Would recommend to others and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We knew this was a basic hotel when we booked but somewhere can be out of date and basic but still comfortable. This wasn't. The bed was uncomfortable and we slept very badly. We considered leaving a day early just to get some sleep. We were near the back door that started banging at 6am and the people above were noisey before that.
There isn't a lot of options in this town and most were booked. We were glad when it was time to move on.
They need to make basic repairs like the light hanging on wires in our room.
Breakfast isn't worth going to .. Head to the bakery.
When skiing you need your sleep and this isn't the place for that! Disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay away from back door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ,,,,
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
4.0 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
2.9 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
Pagosa Springs Inn and Suites
#7 of 15 in Pagosa Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Inn of Pagosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Inn of Pagosa

Property: First Inn of Pagosa
Address: 260 East Highway 160, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — First Inn of Pagosa 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The First Inn of Pagosa is located along the banks of the San Juan River and in downtown Pagosa Springs, Colorado. Next to Wolf Creek Ski for perfect skiing or snowboarding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your First Inn of Pagosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Pagosa Springs
First Hotel Of Pagosa
First Inn Of Pagosa Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing