We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good for Pagosa”
Review of HillSide Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HillSide Inn
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for Pagosa”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I really wanted to like the Hillside Inn. Pagosa Springs seems to be plagued with older properties that are struggling to stay decent. The prices for lodging in Pagosa Springs reflects that the hotels are not as nice and the town is not as popular as Durango.

When we checked in, the front desk clerk (owner?) asked how old my 14 year old daughter was and added an adult to our room cost. Ouch, but I didn't argue. I didn't notice that on their website.

The breakfast was a typical cereal, make your own waffle, pre-cooked sausage, and instant eggs. Much better than the mini-cinnamon rolls served in a freezing sunroom at the First Inn, but not as nice as the cooked to order breakfast at the Oak Ridge Lodge.

The mattress was decent, but there was a little deferred maintenance in the room. The lamp one side of the bed had the switch removed instead of repaired, so you could only read well in one bed, but not the other. The walls are a little thin. I was surprised to hear coughing in the room next door, and irritated to hear an early alarm clock surprisingly clearly.

The indoor pool and spa are nice and big. Plenty of room for everyone. The hallways by the rooms were overheated and it may be the heat is ducted from the indoor pool area since our room seemed very humid.

Not bad for Pagosa Springs, and the price was only a little high after they added an adult to my charge. I will keep looking for a better option before I stay at the Hillside Inn again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    49
    31
    20
    21
See reviews for
59
58
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guffey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We did not actually stay here, thank goodness. When I called to cancel our reservation it took 3 tries before anyone even answered the phone. When I did get a live person, the owner Irek, he was so rude I would never consider staying here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheri j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pagosa Springs hotels

Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I am so happy with our decision to stay at Hillside inn! I got amazing customer service, the people here are very down to earth, and the room was spotless! I used to be a housekeeper and I'm very picky but this place is clean! They even have remotes that are meant to be cleaned! The room was nice and warm despite the bad weather, it's in the perfect location right in the middle of town not to far from the hot springs or the grocery store. The beds are comfortable and the breakfast was great. Me and my husband will be staying again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelpanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

This was a great place to stay at the front desk lady was very polite and helpful. The room was very nice and clean, the hotel was very quiet and in a great location! They had a great selection for breakfast and it was really good!! A great stay for sure!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelingintheVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Needed a reasonable priced place to stay at last minute for two nights. Room was a little dated but otherwise clean and in good working order. Pool and hot tub were nice and well maintained. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was very good as well.

Room Tip: Not far from downtown Pagosa Springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokonut33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

It is a family owned and operated family hotel formerly named as holiday inn. The owners son recommended places to eat and they were. We had good water pressure in the shower. The lobby was clean. Our room needed updating, furniture and bedding were old and worn. The bed was comfortable.Our bath towels were thin. No refrigerator in room. It did have an iron and board. For the most part we did enjoy our stay there.

Many items available for breakfast. The area was safe but road from lot needed repairs as did much of pagosa due to the weather.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Looking for a nice clean place to stay and great location, you won't be disappointed here. The hotel offers a nice breakfast and the rooms were clean but they could use an upgrade on the TV's. The staff was very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pagosa Springs hotels
5.3 mi away
High Country Lodge
High Country Lodge
#2 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alpine Inn
Alpine Inn
#4 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
Econo Lodge - Pagosa Springs
#5 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wyndham Pagosa
Wyndham Pagosa
#3 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
609 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
347 reviews
3.0 mi away
First Inn of Pagosa
First Inn of Pagosa
#7 of 14 in Pagosa Springs
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HillSide Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HillSide Inn

Property: HillSide Inn
Address: 2 Solomon Dr, Hwy. 160 W., Pagosa Springs, CO 81147-9435
Region: United States > Colorado > Pagosa Springs
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Pagosa Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HillSide Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the HillSide Inn you will find quality and comfort in Pagosa Springs lodging at a price you can afford. We want to make sure that you are happy with your stay. If you are searching for a hotel in Pagosa Springs with the luxuries that you can afford, then HillSide Inn is your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your HillSide Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Pagosa Springs
Holiday Inn Pagosa Springs
Pagosa Springs Holiday Inn
HillSide Inn Pagosa Springs, Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing