We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Wine to Choose From”
Review of Canyon Wind Cellars - CLOSED

Canyon Wind Cellars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1991, Canyon Wind Cellars is a family-owned, estate winery named for the mountain breezes that keep the fruit on our vineyard cool under the hot Colorado sun. With the assistance of renowned Napa Winemaker, Robert Pepi, the Christianson family produces award-winning, signature wines utilizing low-intervention winemaking and sustainable practices. We look forward to sharing our passion with you!
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are lucky enough to go into the cave, like during the Barrel Tasting, this is an Excellent experience. On our visit, there were two large groups scheduled for tastings and the tasting was in the Fermentation area just inside from the Tasting Room. They have a number of wines to taste, from the 47-Ten, Canyon Wind Cellars Varietals and Anemoi. Quite a selection and a couple standouts for our taste.
Tasting room in a pretty cool setting with a few tables in the shade of a great tree. Worth the short trip just outside of downtown Palisade.

Tip - learn about their Project Wines

Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWind, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! If there is anything that we can do to improve to a five star rating on your next trip please let us know! Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

28 - 32 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just a short bike ride out side "downtown" Palisade, CO, this has become one of my "go to" places for a delightful white wine, "47-Ten". It's a dry, but fruity white for a summer afternoon or evening (89% Chardonnay & 11% Pinot Grigio). Goes with lots of summer dishes. Also a favorite is a "blush" - a Pinot done "white" so it is a pleasing light pink color and dry. Goes well with chicken and turkey.

Thank David12815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks so much for the great review - I am glad you like the 47-Ten series! IF ever there is something that we can do to be doing a better job please let us know. Thanks again!

Jay C.
Owner / Winemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I've visited this vineyard many times and every visit is a paramount of good vibes and good wine! I enjoy their wines, serbice, and expertise. i especially like their red pepper and anjo chili jelly and olive tepenade.

Thank 808JimP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Thanks for the kind words and the many visits! We are constantly trying to improve all aspects of our business and would love feedback about what we need to improve to earn the fifth star! Thanks again for your kind review and please come back and visit us soon!

Jay Christianson
Owner / Winemaker
Canyon Wind Cellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have been a routine visitor to Canyon Wind Cellars for the past several years while visiting the area. We have been fortunate to visit several world wine regions and found that the Canyon Wind wines to be consistent and an exceptional value. The tasting room is located at the winery and in the vineyards, and is a beautiful setting just above the Colorado River. The winery is east of downtown Palisade. You may need directions, but it is highly recommended to venture out and find.

Thank foodisourpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thanks for your kind review. We'd love to know what we could do to earn 5 stars from you on your next visit! Either way if you are headed back this way again we'd love the opportunity to improve!

Thanks,

Jay Christianson
Owner Winemaker
Canyon WInd Cellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Beautiful winery and tasting room in the middle of vineyards. Fun patio, yard w shade trees, Buy a bottle and sit and enjoy the vineyard!

Thank Snowpiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Thanks for the great review! Next time you are headed in let us know - we would love to see you again!

Thanks,

Jay Christianson
Owner / Winemaker
Christianson Cellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Wind Cellars also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing