We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start your wine touring of the Palisades area”
Review of Canyon Wind Cellars - CLOSED

Canyon Wind Cellars
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1991, Canyon Wind Cellars is a family-owned, estate winery named for the mountain breezes that keep the fruit on our vineyard cool under the hot Colorado sun. With the assistance of renowned Napa Winemaker, Robert Pepi, the Christianson family produces award-winning, signature wines utilizing low-intervention winemaking and sustainable practices. We look forward to sharing our passion with you!
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is our second trip to this area. If you are coming from the East this is the first good winery you will come across. The wine is very good; we liked the 47-Ten red, Boreas, and the Petit Verdot in particular. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable, the small tasting area very welcoming and the outside area very nicely done. There are several vineries in the Palisades area, make sure to visit this one as it is one of the best.

Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thanks for the kind words! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us a good review. If there is anything that we can do to make the next trip even better please let us know so we can make the experience great.

Jay Christianson
Owner / Winemaker
Canyon Wind Cellars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Canyon Wind Cellars was stop #2 on our final day of trailing in the Palisades, CO wine country, but I would have to say that it was probably one of the best visits of all!

Canyon Wind Cellars produces about 5,000 – 8,000 cases per year and it is ALL estate grown. Their vineyard planting began in 1991 and has continued to total now about 35 acres of vines. The current owners, Jay and Jennifer, took over the vineyard from Jay’s parents and, it seems, have done an amazing job of keeping the winery top notch.

Canyon Winds has a beautiful operation, complete with a very large production area, a large storage facility, and one of the only completely underground cellars in Colorado. They offer tours as time permits and I must say, the tour was great, so you may want to call ahead and make a plan of it. You don’t want to miss the barrel tasting and a peek in their new wine library.

This vineyard and winery should be an absolute on your wine trail through Palisades, Colorado.

The Traveling Winers on www.TheVineyardTrail.com

Thank TheVineyardTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

So glad that you had a great time! If there is ever anything that we can do for you please let us know.

Jay C.
Owner / Winemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We found this winery a couple years ago by chance and we have gone back each year since. It is such a lovely place to not only enjoy a glass of wine outside in their small patio area but the view is amazing and everyone is very kind and helpful. My husband and I do not engage in wine tastings - we just like to enjoy a glass of wine - hopefully enough to bring some home from wherever we are. We both enjoy Cabernet Sauvignon, which my husband had a glass of and thoroughly enjoyed (2011). I enjoyed the 47 Ten red (Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Petit Verdot). It's described as medium bodied, light and bright - I agree with their description. My husband enjoyed a glass as well. For the price it is a very good wine and we brought a case home with us. If you're looking for a nice place, kind helpful people, lovely views and with very good wine stop by here. We'll be back again - and again.

Thank bjorndki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWind, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a good experience here! Thank you for writing such a nice review. If there is ever anything that we can do to make your next trip out this way special please let us know.

Jay Christianson
Owner / Winemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are lucky enough to go into the cave, like during the Barrel Tasting, this is an Excellent experience. On our visit, there were two large groups scheduled for tastings and the tasting was in the Fermentation area just inside from the Tasting Room. They have a number of wines to taste, from the 47-Ten, Canyon Wind Cellars Varietals and Anemoi. Quite a selection and a couple standouts for our taste.
Tasting room in a pretty cool setting with a few tables in the shade of a great tree. Worth the short trip just outside of downtown Palisade.

Tip - learn about their Project Wines

Thank COparrotheads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWind, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thanks for the great review! If there is anything that we can do to improve to a five star rating on your next trip please let us know! Thanks again and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just a short bike ride out side "downtown" Palisade, CO, this has become one of my "go to" places for a delightful white wine, "47-Ten". It's a dry, but fruity white for a summer afternoon or evening (89% Chardonnay & 11% Pinot Grigio). Goes with lots of summer dishes. Also a favorite is a "blush" - a Pinot done "white" so it is a pleasing light pink color and dry. Goes well with chicken and turkey.

Thank David12815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CanyonWIndWines, Owner at Canyon Wind Cellars, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thanks so much for the great review - I am glad you like the 47-Ten series! IF ever there is something that we can do to be doing a better job please let us know. Thanks again!

Jay C.
Owner / Winemaker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canyon Wind Cellars also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing