We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Enjoyable”
Review of Rocky Mountain Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paonia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Mountain Inn
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Quite Enjoyable”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

A group of our family members from Pennsylvania and Colorado booked rooms here while attending a wedding in Crawford. The night prior to our arrival my husband and I had stayed in a very modern hotel in the center of downtown Denver. It was quite a culture shock to drive into this small town and see our new place. But after leaving I realized it was perfect for what we needed.

We had room 20, which was a separate building from the rest. It had a full kitchen, a king bed, and a small bathroom. (The hanging clothes had to share space with a hot water heater.) Outside was a little patio where we all gathered on the first night to enjoy each other's company. (There is a liquor store right next to the motel which has a great selection of beer, wine, and hard liquor if desired. Find soda for mixers at the drugstore.) We could easily walk into town for food and ice cream.

The second night, after returning from the wedding, we gathered in front of the motel itself. It was very relaxing and enjoyable. The staff was great, the rooms were clean, and the place really had character. No need for an alarm clock -- the rooster in the property behind us took care of that.

I still chuckle that the bathroom art was a print of cowgirl wearing only a hat, cowboy boots, and a gun ! But don't worry, she was strategically standing behind a fence !!!

Room Tip: We had Room 20 which was separate from all the rest. Even though we never used it, it did have its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
8
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We made reservations in February to stay in July and were quoted a price over the phone. Upon arrival our rate was much higher than quoted. We made repeated attempts over 3 days to resolve the issue but were told that it was up to the owner. She was never there and wouldn't phone us either! We would have gone somewhere else, but there were no rooms left in town.
After talking with the people in the two rooms next to us, they had to pay for a 3 night minimum even though they only were staying for 2 nights. Which we also found out wasn't true. There were several other people coming and going that only spent one night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockymountaininn, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Actually, every current staff member, as well as the owner, was questioned as to the supposed discounted rate that Chuck said he was given. We never give discounted rates during Big Events, such as the BMW Rally. All of these rooms are usually booked one year in advance. We also always charge the quoted rate on our website for single occupancy and only charge $10/per person/night for each additional person. There were no hand-written notes or contact data notes in the computer to support Chuck's claims and he had no name of the person he spoke to or written confirmation to support the rates he said he was given. As to his claim that he was told there was a 3-day minimum, we did schedule most guests for 3 days, but due to some last minute cancellations, we allowed guests out of their reservation if we were able to re-fill their rooms. Consequently, some last minute guests were booked for less than the 3-day minimum. Most of our guests are more than happy with our accomodations, our staff and our service, but there is always someone that we just can't seem to make happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This was my "home away from home" while on a temporary assignment. And it did feel like home! The rooms not only are very clean and well kept, they have character. Lots of thought has gone into decor and comfort. The grounds are beautiful and have so many places to relax and enjoy the rest of the day after work. The staff are exceedingly helpful, accommodating and friendly. It was nice to have these folks to "go home to" at the end of the day. The kitchenettes are great and even the lowest priced room has micro, fridge and plenty of space. Thank you, I will be back! I might even have to plan a vacation to the area (which is also beautiful).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oct2447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This little inn in Paonia turned out to be such a pleasant surprise. We have stayed in so many motels and inns and it seems you really never know what you are going to get unless you stay in one of the big chains. Some motel owners try to get away with whatever they can in terms of how little amenities they can provide. The Rocky Mountain Inn hosts are friendly and welcoming. The suite was very clean, the rugs seemed new and it was so homey - someone has really made an effort here. It was like staying in a little apartment or cabin - stove, refrigerator, microwave, dishes and toaster all provided. Nice bath products in an immaculate bathroom, albeit a small one. Large, comfortable beds and dining table in this suite. The outside of the inn had lovely flower beds which makes this place very pretty. I would definitely stay here again. The only concern I have is that there is no a/c but we do not have a/c in our Colorado home; a fan or two are sufficient. The coffee provided in the room was actually real coffee so that is a big plus for this coffee drinker. Overall, a really lovely little place.

Room Tip: This inn sits on a busier corner in Paonia with a liquor store on the other side. There is some stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockymountaininn, Manager at Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for staying at the Rocky Mountain Inn! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and want to return to our little paradise. We do have central evaporative cooling (swamp cooler) in each of our rooms. The vents can be adjusted in the ceiling to allow more cool air to come in and with the ceiling fans the rooms can stay comfortably cool. We also suggest opening the windows at night to let in the fresh and cool mountain air. We hope to see you again – Jeremy and Lindsey, Resident Managers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowley, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hosts at Rocky Mountain Inn are super. They take care of your every need and make you feel at home. We had a great stay and want to return very soon. The rooms are clean but if you want 5 star go pay for a 5 star. This inn is for people who want to see the town and pay for a reasonable but clean room.

Room Tip: The dog Sadie is a gem..she loves to greet the guests and the couple who cares for the property are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChuckH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Payson, Utah
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I stayed it a studio suite and it was clean and had a oven, microwave, full frig., sink, and some dishes. There is no A/C, there is a swamp cooler but you can not control it. You have to go to the front desk and ask them to turn it on for you. They will tell you to keep you windows open and it will cool off. I did get them to turn it on but it is not very strong. That said I went there at the end ofSept and it was not very hot. I did not see any kind of heater either so if you are staying in the winter bring blankets.

Room Tip: Remember to get at least the studio rooms. I spoke to others in the normal rooms and they did not l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shortsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockymountaininn, Manager at Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you for staying at the Rocky Mountain Inn! It does get pretty warm in the summer and we are happy to adjust the evaporative cooling for our guests in our studio rooms, if you are still hot we can also bring you a fan. These studio rooms also have in floor radiant heat that we can adjust for you as well when winter gets here. In the rooms at the front of our facility we have wall heaters that you can adjust and evaporative cooling that you can adjust with the ceiling vents. We always recommend the studio rooms for longer stays as they have full kitchens, are larger and have access to Internet. In our first 4 or 5 rooms (you referred to them as normal rooms) we cannot always guarantee Internet because of signal strength but some devices are able to access it. These rooms are smaller and designed for a shorter stay and a more economical budget. We hope to see you again – Jeremy and Lindsey, Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kremmling, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

On our way to the wine festival in Palisade we found this nice hotel. Clean and obviously cared for. Thank you for understanding us checking out the room before staying(just left a scary cabin). We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grizcabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paonia
17.7 mi away
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
Stay Wise Inn Cedaredge
#2 of 2 in Cedaredge
29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotchkiss Inn
Hotchkiss Inn
#1 of 1 in Hotchkiss
44 reviews
17.7 mi away
Cedaredge Lodge
Cedaredge Lodge
#1 of 2 in Cedaredge
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Inn

Property: Rocky Mountain Inn
Address: 304 Niagara Avenue, Paonia, CO 81428-8477
Region: United States > Colorado > Paonia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Paonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your private oasis in the heart of Paonia. Fully renovated Inn with a western theme!All of our rooms have private bathrooms and are equipped with coffee makers, microwave ovens, refrigerators, cable T.V., phones and central air cooling. We also have a large variety of rooms with complete, fully equipped kitchens, some with multiple beds and wireless internet connection.General InformationOffice Hours: 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. and 4 p.m. to 10 p.m.Check in is after 4 p.m. unless prearranged for a different time.Check out is 11 a.m.No smoking in any rooms. Smoking outside only.Pets okay with pet fee.Wireless internet is available in most rooms.48 hour cancellation policy.2 week special event cancellation policy. (Cherry Days, BMW Rally, Harvest Festival, Hunting Season, any big one day group bookings) ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing