We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay with wonderful people and great food.”
Review of The Angler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Angler Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Placerville
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I loved this place! We checked in late at night and were greeted very warmly by everyone we encountered. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I loved the setting- it is so romantic and serene. The breakfast the next day was all the things I love- many of them organic and healthy. We had a waffle with fresh fruit and some cereal. Again the people we interacted with were so nice and friendly. People who work here seem to care and actually like their jobs. The guy in the kitchen was actually singing. The gal behind the bar was very cheery too. I loved this place every second I was there- I just wish it could have been more than one night. The dog that someone had who worked there was very nice too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sablinc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for the five stars! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes us happy to know we made you happy! :) We hope you'll be back again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Awesome place, awesome restaurant. The cheesesteak with jalapeno cheese was great along with the chicken pot pie. We had a very friendly waitress and the guy running the inn was friendly as well. Willa the dog was also very friendly.

The only issue we can think of is that the hotel needs an iron. Other than that this place is great.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cofc4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Thank you so much for the stars and for the review! We truly appreciate your feedback and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll be back again soon! Next time ask the front desk for an iron and they'll deliver it to your room! Cheers! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Angler Inn is a hidden gem. Simply, they made me feel like a guest in their Colorado home. We were close to Telluride but away from the hustle and bustle. We spent time outside by the fireplace and each room had a complimentary bottle of water and a little desk where I could journal. I adored the rustic style of the rooms... everything was so clean and the hospitality was phenomenal. I appreciated the organic and fresh food served. We didn't even think to stay in Telluride for the evening meal because we knew we'd have much better options right at the Angler Inn. Overall, there was a sense of peace I felt there similar to that of the mountains. It gave us time to reflect on our day and connect with the friends we came with. I can't wait to go back.. it was an experience that I'll always cherish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! It makes us so happy you had such a wonderful time! :) Thank you so much for the delightful review and the stars! We truly appreciate your feedback! We hope y'all will be back again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We will return. The room was cozy with the lawn fireplace. Loved the waitress at the restaurant,Jennifer, I believe. She made my daughter and I feel right at home. The breakfast made for a wonderful trip as we were just passing through. Thanks to the friendly house keepers too who helped us a long the way.

Room Tip: Even though there is a sign that points to the ice machine-there is none in the actual hotel...you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you so much for the reviews and the stars! We are so glad you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope y'all will be back again soon! We apologize for the confusion about the ice machine and coffee machine -- please stop by or call the front desk next time and we'll help you out! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We took our teenage son and his friend skiing in Telluride for a week in March and opted to stay at the Angler Inn because of the great price and rave reviews. Although it is about a 15-20 min drive to Telluride, we were very happy with our stay.

The rooms were very clean and minimally furnished. Kind of a Restoration Hardware type feel. Bathroom was nice. My only suggestion on the room would be to include a small chest of drawers. I typically unpack and, especially on a trip this long, it would have been nice to have a chest of drawers to put our clothes in. As it was, we just used the bedside table "cubby" and the high closet shelf which was fine.

A mini-fridge is available for the room upon request. We had fridges in both of our rooms so we could keep drinks and snacks on hand.

The owners and staff were excellent. Our son left a few small items behind and they graciously mailed them back to us, which we really appreciated.

Meals in the hotel restaurant were about the same price as places in Telluride, and we ended up eating many meals at the hotel because it was convenient. Most meals were very good - we especially enjoyed the tacos, the falafel wrap and the chicken wings. Service was excellent.

The complimentary breakfast was very good. Hard-boiled eggs, cereals, bagels/breads, fruit, waffles, etc. It was just what we needed to get ready for a day of skiing.

The teenage boys *loved* this hotel. They liked the overall feel of it, the fact that the owners' (I'm guessing) dog was outside in the hotel yard a few times and they could play with it, and the pool table in the bar area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dognamedrudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We loved having y'all stay with us! And we're so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope y'all will be back again soon! Thank you much for the review! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We were so happy with our stay at the Angler Inn, it was just down the street from Telluride ski area, rooms were very clean , breakfast in the morning had everything you needed before heading for the slope, and the girl at the front desk had all the info that you needed for that area, even where we can park for free at ski area. I would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueloveskiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for the great review and for the stars! We love to hear from guests and are always over the moon when we hear how much they enjoyed their stay. We hope y'all will be back again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Love, love, loved our stay here! Very close to Telluride, yet you feel so remote at the Inn. Very pet and kid friendly. The views of the red rock mountians outside our patio were lovely. The rooms were very clean, and the continental breakfast was tastey and hearty before a day of skiing. Our family would stay here again, any season, in a heartbeat! Kids loved the down comforters on the beds. With only 14 rooms, we felt like we were staying at a B&B. Couldn't beat the price either! Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony, I think there were only a few, but it was nice to sit out there, drin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schranzg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheAnglerInn, Owner at The Angler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you so much for the stars and for the review! It puts a big smile on our face ;) We are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us! Come stay with us again soon! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Placerville
10.7 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
943 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Victorian Inn
The Victorian Inn
#5 of 11 in Telluride
396 reviews
19.6 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Mountainside Inn
Mountainside Inn
#6 of 11 in Telluride
218 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
674 reviews
12.6 mi away
New Sheridan Hotel
New Sheridan Hotel
#2 of 11 in Telluride
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angler Inn

Address: 22332 Hwy 145, Placerville, CO 81430 (Formerly Blue Jay Lodge)
Region: United States > Colorado > Placerville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Placerville
Price Range: £90 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angler Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 13 miles from Telluride and across from the San Miguel River, The Angler Inn is a New American-style restaurant and 14-room lodge in the San Juan Mountains. Our property is pet-friendly and most rooms feature a patio or balcony. Amenities include: flat-screen TVs with satellite channels, complimentary Wi-Fi, AC/Heat, Microwaves, Mini-Fridges, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Angler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Placerville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing