We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Just spent a lovely weekend West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages, 6 of us stayed there in 2 cottages. myself plus 3 stayed in Norton while my sister and her boyfriend stayed in Smidey.

I cant really add much to what has already been said on previous reviews. Peter and Irene are perfect hosts and we arrived to find the fire going and a cream tea waiting which was a nice touch, peter was very helpful with suggesting local walks and a good pub to visit (royal oak, withypool. food was v good)

lots of walks straight from the door and the setting is very scenic, i will be visiting again and was very tempted to call in sick and spend the rest of the week there. Everything was provided right down to the logs for the fire which made the cottage very warm and cosy

best overall cottage experience ive had in the west country and might i add cheaper than some 'lesser' cottages in stayed in, in the exmoor/dartmoor area

many thanks

Luke Westacott

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weste4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
149
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

What a lovely find! We were caught short with nowhere to go for our weeks holiday of the 20th october12, and felt lucky to find somewhere to accommodate the four of us.Jasper cottage was where we stayed; cosy and comfortable,we found it to be an exceptional base to which we looked forward to returning each day.
The delicious cream tea we found on our arrival was very welcome, and Peter and Irene were attentive to every detail.
We have a large extended family and this could prove a useful 'find' for those times where several related families might congregate for fun and to explore the beautiful exmoor countryside.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

You absolutely cant find a nicer part of Exmoor to stay; supreme views, riding, biking and hiking minutes from your front door, the perfect hosts, Peter & Irene, with their genuine friendliness, and attention to detail to make your stay go smoothly, a stunning cottage, with all mod cons, log fire, wood beams, and most importantly no noise whatsoever, limited mobile reception, and limited wifi... the key engredients to a perfect stay... top tip, go on a widlife safari, we saw two herds of stags and hinds, and leant so much about the landscape, the history, and the wildlife of Exmoor... We will be coming again...
Mike & Kate Tindal - Robertson... oh perfect for kids; stairgates, soft play area, ride on tractors... little uns were in heaven...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Beautiful cottage ( Jasper ) and surroundings. Pete & Irene were marvellous hosts, giving assistance on places to go and Pete once offering to be our 'designated driver'. No mobile service and limited internet, this is a perfect place to get away from modernity. Would love to go back in better weather although our dog ( Bella ) was quite happy with the rain.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in the heart of Exmoor – West Hollowcombe is a real gem. We had a really relaxing holiday in a cosy cottage that felt home from home. Peter and Irene were really welcoming and friendly and the cream tea on arrival was a nice personal touch. Our cottage faced lovely views, surrounded by wildlife and some great walks through Exmoor. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen and john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielefeld, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a wonderful stay at West Hollowcombe, located in a wonderful landscape. The Cottage was very cosy, comfortable and well equipped. Peter an Irene were very helpful and we will miss this delicious scones.
Viele Grüße aus Deutschland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2012

go-carting has never been so much fun in our family! races around the grounds and much laughter made for many happy memories. thanks to Peter the bird feeder outside Smiddy was filled daily which added to the joy of breakfast time (for the birds and us!!) we had a lovely stay at west hollowcombe despite the rain and hope to return next year- hopefully with some sunshine!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkridge
9.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
4.9 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
1.2 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Withypool
148 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
153 reviews
4.1 mi away
Stags Head Farm B & B
Stags Head Farm B & B
#2 of 17 in Dulverton
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Property: West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hawkridge
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing