We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Nearby Hotels
US$209
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simonsbath House(Simonsbath)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(South Molton)
US$113
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveller rating
275
16
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
275
16
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter and irenewest hollowcombecream teasconeson arrivalwarm welcomefresh flowerswood burnernext yearplay areared deercosy cottagewonderful hostsmade us feelsecond visithome from homenorton cottage
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Just wanted to put in a review to say how wonderful this place is. It is so relaxing and surprisingly very, very clean! I have been back to the States now for a week and still can't stop wishing I was back there! Peter and Irene are lovely and accomodated us with whatever we needed! I am still hoping that I can get the scone and clotted cream recipe as here in the States we don't really have this and so want to make some! Yum!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eskimonose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was our third visit to West Hollowcombe and from the moment we turned into the lane it felt totally familiar. The subtle changes, a new kitchen, a new shower unit; all added to enhance the already familiar. We stayed in "Norton" and the view down the valley from the living room window is ever changing with the light, and simply unbeatable; although this last week we mostly sat in the spacious garden and enjoyed the views in the sunshine. As with both previous visits the accommodation and grounds were immaculately presented being constantly tended by Peter and Irene; without compromising privacy.

Local eating is excellent, both the Royal Oak at Withypool and Winsford serving great food and beer, the Tarr Steps likewise. However the best was to be had at Wood's in Dulverton, great service, excellent produce and a wine list to make the mouth water! The London Inn at Molland also did great fish and is worth the effort of getting there.

We'll definitely be going back to West Hollowcombe for it's peace and tranquility and as an excellent pushing off point for any number of National Trust properties and other sites of interest.

Room Tip: They're all good but we stayed in Norton and can recommend it for it's privacy and views.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColandPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

This was our second visit to WH, and this time we stayed in Kiri. A very pleasant well equipt cottage. I won't labour over a long write-up as I have reviewed this previously. I will just echo the sentiments of other reviewers and say that P&I make a great team and really do everything to make your stay comfortable. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chez-Hart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Thank you for a wonderful week at West Hollowcombe Farm.
The location was fantastic with great views from the farm. It was a bitterly cold week when we were there, so the Peter, the owner, ensured that the fire was kept going whilst we were out sight seeing. If we go back to Exmoor, we would certainly consider staying at West Hollowcombe Farm again. The farm is in a prime location for anyone who loves walking from the doorstep without getting in the car to drive anywhere. As Norton was the end cottage, it certainly needed the fire going all the time when the weather was cold.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed at West Hollowcombe last October (2012) and can thoroughly recommend it. The cottage we stayed in was fantastic and the welcome from Peter and Irene was superb; particularly the scones and clotted cream awaiting us when we arrived! The location is a little more out of the way than other cottages we've stayed at but that only adds to the charm as far as we were concerned and the kids loved it just as much as we did. If you're looking for somewhere on Exmoor your search is over!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews