We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

After a warm and friendly welcome from Pete and Irene, we enjoyed our complimentary scones and settled into our cosy accommodation in Smiddy. We had a lovely long weekend exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside with good tips on where to go and to eat from our hosts. We would highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

We originally booked Smiddy but were upgraded to Norton which was a pleasant surprise! The cottage was superb; cosy, romantic, with excellent views and everything you would need for a short stay. Peter and Irene are wonderful hosts, they really do know how to make you feel at home and have a real knowledge of the area to give you the best possible stay. I love the fact that the farm is not in any main town, the feeling of relaxation you get is priceless, a real humanistic centred nirvana that you can't find just anywhere. We spent 3 days in rain, snow, wind, hail and some sun and it was absolute bliss. We didn't want to leave. Thank you to Peter & Irene for their fantastic eggs, scones and plentiful logs. Hope to see you again very soon. L & J

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fantastic start to the New Year spent at West Hollowcombe Farm. Peter and Irene could not be better hosts. Cream tea on arrival, log fire set in the afternoon whilst we were out walking on the moor and many other lovely touches make this the best place to stay on Exmoor! The accommodation is clean, well equipped, nicely furnished and has everything you need to for a 'get away from it all' time in the countryside.

Marybeth M.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We've spent many.a New Year with friends at West Hollowcombe and we are delighted that the present owners are making every effort to ensure that their guests have a great stay.
Lovely touches such as a cream tea, fresh flowers and a log fire awaited us and was much appreciated, There are some great walks across the moor and the small town of Dulverton is but a short drive away.We will return in 2014.

Room Tip: We stayed at the cottage named 'Nelson' it has lovely views across the moor.The bedrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The family rented this and the adjacent cottage for Christmas. We were made very welcome when we arrived with the fire already lit and a cream tea waiting along with thoughtful touches such as wine, flowers, Christmas tree and card. The cottage was clean and cosy with all the equipment needed. It had great views and many walks in the immediate and surrounding area. A real 'get away from it all' location as there is only occasional mobile phone & internet connection. The night sky was fabulous and the wildlife plentiful.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Visited for Christmas with family spread across Kiri and Jasper. Upstairs in Jasper has great lounge space for family gatherings and games, and was well-equipped for entertaining. Log burners kept both cottages very warm and cosy - and kept electricity costs fairly low (as logs were provided freely but electricity is now metered).

Also had a warm welcome from Peter and Irene, with cream teas, Christmas cards and tree. Location was great for a remote Christmas break, with beautiful walking, villages, and some nice small pubs (the Bridge Inn does fab food and Tarr Farm Inn is very cosy, with both welcoming dogs and mud!).

Despite the remote location, there is a food shop within easy driving distance (in Dulverton) which was useful. And although the lack of mobile signal is not too much of a problem, the similar lack of internet proved a bit of a problem for some family members, especially as it was advertised with free Wi-fi.

All in all had a lovely family Christmas, in cottages that were very good value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank CRowley29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second stay with Pete and Irene at west hollowcombe, my sisters 4th and my parents 2nd. The reviews speak for themselves nearly 180 reviews and most are 5 star. Its a lovely well run little place and the cottages couldn't be cosier, the welcome cream tea is a nice touch too. The main reason for our visit was for enjoy the Exmoor countryside on foot and there are plenty of walks from the cottage door. There is also plenty of wildlife about the property including partridge, sparrow hawk, tawny owls and weasels plus numerous other birds. On a night walk we came across a herd of 20-30 red deer about 300 meters from the cottages. Really would recommend this place to anyone

Stayed: November 2013
3  Thank weste4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hawkridge
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing