We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic holiday in West Hollowcombe once again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawkridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A fantastic holiday in West Hollowcombe once again!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have just returned from our 13th year staying at West Hollowcombe. Another fantastic holiday, since last year the kitchen has been refurbished to a high standard. The cottages are very well presented in a fantastic location, peace, quiet and tranquillity. There are plenty of places to visit in the area but to be honest you don't even need to drive anywhere, there are wonderful walks straight from the cottages in stunning countryside. Peter and Irene are very welcoming and helpful, on arrival there will be a cream tea awaiting you along with fresh eggs and flowers.

We will be returning again for our 14th year!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
145
79
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have had a fantastic week away in exmoor. 3 families, 4 ponies and 2 dogs. Everyone has been comfortable and well looked after. The cottages are clean and well presented. Beds are comfy and the bathrooms adequate. The self catering facilities are very good with a kitchen. Fresh eggs and flowers are provided, as well as a cream tea on arrival. There are plenty of places to eat out as well as local shops for the essentials.
The ponies have been more than comfortable in their brick built stables with bedding and buckets provided. A four acre field was split up ready for our ponies to be turned out in. Riding takes you out onto the moors, check your routes before you leave and take a map.
The dogs have enjoyed walks in the private woodlands as well as out on the moor.
We would definitely return as Peter and Irene have been so welcoming and helpful.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Susannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A picturesque home away from home with warming hospitality. The cottages are remote enough to provide a much needed tranquillity, but are situated just a short drive away from the town of Dulverton. The Smiddy Cottage in which I and my family stayed was equipped with everything needed for both us and our Springer Spaniel; who enjoyed the cottage just as much as we did, including its surrounding acres of field. Our stay was second to none- and I'm sure our return will be the same.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We needed a break from the hustle and bustle of life and found it here in tranquil and stress free Exmoor - 4 miles from picturesque Dulverton.
Numerous variety of walks and landscapes where you may not meet another person – and we found a little paradise. The 3 of us and our dog fitted nicely into Smiddy, the smallest of the cottages, with everything you need to kick back. Exmoor national park on your doorstep offers a huge amount to see and do, amazing places to eat and of course look out for the ponies and deer. On our fist day we walked to Tarr steps from West Hollowcombe Farm where we lazed around by the stream and had a drink in the pub before taking a slow walk back late afternoon. Bliss.
We recommend this place without hesitation.
Thanks Peter and Irene for your warm hospitality.

Angela, Daniel, Amelia and Bella (the dog)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank rubbish y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and two young kids spent one week in 'Jasper cottage' at West Hollowcombe Farm recently. We were very warmly welcomed by Irene and Peter on our arrival. The complimentary and welcoming cream tea with freshly baked scones was the pinnacle of our arrival. This is a wonderful place to visit, so peaceful and beautiful. It would definitely be a place we would like to return to some day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

You get complimentary scones when you arrive and the stay just gets better and better. Excellent location and the hosts are always willing to help out in any way possible. Could not recommend it enough even if my own mother depended on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragusaraver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our third holiday staying in this wonderful accommodation and, as on previous occasions, the welcome that we received from Pete and Irene made us all feel immediately at home. This was our first visit with a young child and whilst we had concerns originally about keeping a 2.5 year old occupied we needn't have worried especially after Pete produced not only a pedal powered tractor complete with trailer, but also a go-cart! The facilities for Sam were just top-notch, starting with the play area and finishing with child-friendly hosts. For us adults, the sense of peace and tranquillity (even with our 2 dogs running around like mad things) was much needed and the facilities in Kiri, including the newly fitted kitchen, added to our overall feeling of bliss! We will be back - how could we resist Irene's fabulous scones and Pete's joie de vivre?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hawkridge
16.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
7.6 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Woodcombe Lodges
Woodcombe Lodges
#4 of 21 in Minehead
61 reviews
5.1 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
146 reviews
3.1 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages

Property: West Hollowcombe Self Catering Cottages
Address: Hawkridge, Hawkridge, Exmoor National Park TA22 9QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Hawkridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Hawkridge
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing