We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for small motel...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poncha Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky Mountain Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for small motel...”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this motel several times now... The service is exceptional, rooms very clean and over all great value...plus I like to support small business instead of big corporate operations... The manager was always very friendly and helpful...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marek02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Owner at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for supporting small businesses! We appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!


Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    13
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
23
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very nice, clean economy rooms with kitchenettes. I would definitely stay here again! It's near the 14ers and all the activity that Salida has to offer. It's quiet and simple, but has everything you need for a vacation to hiking, skiiing, biking, kayaking or fishing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Owner at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our kitchenettes. We're extremely happy to hear that you will recommend us! We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!


Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmer Lake
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Quiet location, away from Salida. Very hospitable host and clean, comfortable room for the price. I would stay again! Fine dining only minutes away, grocery as well. Located near hot springs, swimming (Sand Dunes pool), hiking, biking and fishing. Recommending this one to all my friends, instate and out.

Room Tip: For a single traveller, this was perfect. One queen or full? size bed. Just right. Great shower hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 152ClaudiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Manager at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the great things this little gem in Colorado's rockies has to offer and took the time to list wonderful activities around the area for future guests. We're extremely happy to hear that you will recommend us! We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!


Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was was amazing ad to our trip. Me and my wife came through Poncha Springs Colorado and decided to stay in Poncha rather than Salida because it was so beautiful. We stayed in Poncha because of it's convenient location with Monarch Mountain, although the lodge didn't have discounted tickets, we still saved during the stay. The rooms were comfy and cozy with a login cabin feeling and although it was adjacent to the highway, there was no noise. We stayed in the cabin and can't wait to return. The place was clean, and fresh and the towels and sheets were so incredibly soft, we were pleasantly surprised considering it was a tiny place and not a chain hotel. The rooms are a good size as well keeping in mind this is a small - mom and pops - type of place. The lady running the place was incredibly nice and seemed to care a lot about the place to keep it running tip top, it's definitely changed a lot since my last stay in 2006. Great progress! Can't wait to come back for spring break next winter. I will be staying here and I will tell all of my skiing buddies about Rocky Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 585SamA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Manager at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to hear about your wonderful visit here in beautiful Poncha Springs and that you enjoyed the stay and the visit!! We're extremely happy to hear that you will recommend us! We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!


Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We recently stayed a night and very inexpensive. Cute room and very friendly. Within walking distance to Elevation Brewery (little hike through a ditch:) and only a few miles to Salida. Would totally recommend this place as a home base to adventure!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Manager at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to hear you thought our rooms and its location in beautiful Poncha Springs! I'm extremely happy to hear that you will recommend us! We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!


Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed at Rocky Mountain Lodge in Poncha in the fall time. The area is absolutely beautiful to stay in. The colors are great with the mountain scenes. The rooms were so cozy and cute! I loved the cabin décor. They were surprisingly really quiet, despite being located on a highway. The towels were really nice and not the cheap white ones most hospitality businesses use. They were ones I’d use at home. Maria was really nice and helped me use the coffee machine in the morning! Very clean and afforble! 100% satisfactory. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Manager at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property and we always love to hear that you would return! We are glad to hear that you were pleased, enjoyed the decor, rooms, and coffee! . We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!

Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in Buena Vista. We had the opportunity to visit Salida as well. We had 2 rooms. There was plenty of room for the 5 people in our group. Not the best bed but it did the job. There was a nice sitting area out front that we took advantage of in the evening while we were having a couple drinks.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockymountainlodge, Manager at Rocky Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 9 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our property and took advantage of our patio area to improve your stay! We look forward to seeing you again and safe travels!

Please keep us in mind with recommendations to family and friends - being a small, family owned business we take pride in our business - many costumers stay here due to word of mouth recommendations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poncha Springs
3.2 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
12.3 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
100 reviews
3.2 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
4.6 mi away
Mountain Motel
Mountain Motel
#6 of 16 in Salida
236 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Lodge

Property: Rocky Mountain Lodge
Address: 10036 U.S. Highway 50, Poncha Springs, CO 81242
Region: United States > Colorado > Poncha Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and cozy cabin styled rooms in Poncha Springs, Colorado! Our lodge also features 2 cabins. Did we mention our amazing mountain views and unique charm to each room? Each room is named after one the area's famous fourteeners. All rooms have air-conditioning, a private bathroom, cable, free wireless internet, microwave, and refrigerator. We are no longer "pet friendly." Each room varies from singles, doubles, queen and full sized beds, smoking and non- smoking. All rooms have daily housekeeping included in rate and complimentary coffee available in the front desk and ice machine access. The lodge also has kitchenette rooms and a kitchenette suite. More than half of the lodge is now newly renovated with hardwood floors, tiled updated bathrooms and flat screen TVs. Book your next stay in the Rockies with us! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing