We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nestled in the Rockies....”
Review of Poncha Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poncha Springs
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Poncha Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Franklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nestled in the Rockies....”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

On a recent trip to Salida, CO we came across the Poncha Lodge and will not forget our stay anytime soon!! We were treated to beautiful views and a serene setting that other local establishments could not provide for the very reasonable price for 4 adults.. The backyard courtyard with its floral arrangements, BBQ, fire pit, hot tub allowed us to commiserate after a nice hike in the Rockies!! It's location is perfect for whatever adventure you choose and limits long drive times. Theresa the owner was very courteous and understanding and gave great advice on local food options. A stay that will hold a special place in all our hearts:)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenMtnBoy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
I am so touched by your review! Our wish is that every guests have this feeling about Poncha Lodge. Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
49
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was our 1st time to the Poncha Lodge, but it will not be our last. Owners are very friendly and accommodating. You can tell that they take a lot of pride in their hotel. Rooms are updated and very clean. There is a beautiful patio/sitting area to relax in if you just want to chill. A great place to stay and a great value to boot!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodway, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was an amazing place to stay and incredibly clean. Teresa was exceptionally helpful in finding activities in the area for our two grandsons. The Court Yard was gorgeous and perfectly kept. Atmosphere was serine, just like Home Sweet Home. They have a grill for your use and a hot tub that is enclosed. I encourage you to stay here if you get a chance. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was such a pleasure to see you and your grand kids enjoy the Lodge. I am hoping those cute boys will always remember their vacation to Colorado with their grandparents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed here for a week in April and it was very comfy.
Clean rooms and well kept grounds and Teresa the owner is a very personable lady!
Nice BBQ area out back for families.
Can't wait to go back and do it all over again in the fall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Fall is a wonderful time to come back for the Fall foliage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrington, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed at the Poncha Lodge twice now and found both stays very pleasant. The first was a couple years ago where I road into town late one afternoon, not having a place to stay. The clerk at ta local gas station recommended Poncha Lodge. I found the Lodge quaint and reminiscent of the early days of travel by car/motorcycle in the US where there were small Motels practically in every town. Obviously the Lodge has owners that care and the upkeep and repair is first rate.
On this second trip, the Motel was under new ownership and things had just gotten better. The new owner, Teresa Dunlap was very accommodating when I asked to move my reservation ahead one day because of weather. No problem. When I did arrive, I was expected - like going home, and was immediately invited to dinner that evening. Of course Teresa doesn't feed all her guests, but I never did discover the occasion. All I know is the ribs, brats, chicken and several sides sure tasted good. But, never fear - if there is not a feed happening on the patio, all you need to do is ask about the other local eateries.
For a reasonable price, location and facility, I whole heartily recommend Poncha Lodge in Poncha Springs CO.

Room Tip: Just chose the size room you need, all the rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMercer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are always so glad when people enjoy the whole outdoor living space we have created for guest. Please come stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We did come to the motel because of the reviews. At first glance when we pulled in from the highway we were not sure about the hotel. It looked small. However, within moments we realized that this was going to be a lovely stop. The landscaping is nicely done. The patio is a little oasis and a pleasure after a long road trip. The room we had was clean and charming. The owner is terrific and we felt welcomed and our comfort her priority. We absolutely will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
thank you for your review. Yes from the highway it is a little deceiving and then you pull in and see there is a back area and then there's the really hidden secret (the courtyard,the outdoor living space for our guest)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carbondale, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a delightful stay at the poncha lodge. The woodsy room was charming and the innkeeper was wonderful. The patio out back is completely underrated- it 's LOVELY. We got our dinner to go and brought it back to enjoy on the cute tables and stonework. Our toddler cruised around and explored the trees, tons of flowers and decorations while we enjoyed our wine by the waterfall. It was perfect. We just loved the honeymoon feel of it.

Room Tip: We didn't have it, but it seemed like the room on the end might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank This M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa D, Owner at Poncha Lodge, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt that honeymoon feel because we have actually had one Wedding and two Wedding receptions this summer. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poncha Springs
3.6 mi away
Salida Inn & Monarch Suites
3.5 mi away
Amigo Motor Lodge
Amigo Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Salida
83 reviews
11.9 mi away
Monarch Mountain Lodge
Monarch Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Monarch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Browns Canyon Inn
Browns Canyon Inn
#10 of 16 in Salida
353 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Salida
15.5 mi away
Mount Princeton Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poncha Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poncha Lodge

Property: Poncha Lodge
Address: 10520 Hwy 50 W. at Junction of US 50 and US 285, Poncha Springs, CO 81242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Poncha Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Poncha Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teresa Dunlap is the new owner of Poncha Lodge as of November 2012. The Lodge is conveniently located at the junction of Highway 50 & 285 in Poncha Springs, Colorado, just minutes away from beautiful, historic downtown Salida and 15 miles from Monarch Ski area. Other outdoor activities available in the area are kayaking, rafting, fishing, "jeeping," hiking, camping, jeeping, snowmobiling and golfing & much more. Cable--Flatscreen TV and Wi-Fi are offered in 13 clean comfortable Cabin Style rooms at affordable prices. Rooms are smoke free. Great backyard with grills & picnic area.We recently put a new therapeutic hot tub. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poncha Hotel Poncha Springs
Poncha Hotel Springs
Poncha Motel Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing