We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Billabong”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maraylya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Billabong Retreat Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Return to the Billabong”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Our second visit to this enchanting retreat. The location, activities, staff, cuisine all perfect. The New Years Eve retreat is very special because the five day program allows the time to go deeper into the yoga and mindfulness practices. And also more opportunities to create rapport between guests and enjoy building new friendships.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    32
    3
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
27
92
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had the most wonderful 5 day retreat over NYE. The owners have really put their heart and soul into this business and it shows.

The tranquil bush setting is gloriously unblemished, there is plenty of opportunity to enjoy the surrounds.

Come with an open mind - you will be expected to make up your own bed, serve your own food, take your used plates/cups back to the servery etc but really, this adds to the charm. Communal meal times plus yoga, meditation, nutrition classes mean you will become friendly with everyone on the retreat with you.

Accomodation is basic with a bed and a lamp plus a shared bathroom; I stayed in the cottage but there is the option to stay in one of the custom-built yurts overlooking the billabong, amongst the trees.

The food is vegetarian and sugar-free, absolutely DELICIOUS you are never left wanting at the end of a meal and I certainly didn't miss the meat or the sugar (amazing what sweet treats can be whipped up using natural whole ingredients).

Yoga practice was gentle and suitable for all ages/abilities. Our instructor was incredible, we were each given personalised attention with the opportunity to push as hard or as gentle as we wanted to. You certainly don't realise you're having a workout until the next day when you discover muscles you never knew you had! The meditation and mindfulness courses opened up a whole new world for me on how to reconnect to myself and release stress & anxiety.

There were couples, singles and groups of friends (I went as a single) so don't be afraid to go alone! I recommend fully committing to each and every activity on offer even though everything is optional. There is plenty of time to spend alone if you need it but equally plenty of opportunities to connect with others outside of the class schedule.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you can, try to be in one of the Treehouse rooms for the full bush experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

If an affordable retreat not too far away from Sydney is what you need, this is it. Set in a tranquil location, and run by the friendliest staff, you will enjoy good food, guided meditation and plenty of opportunities to just relax and do very little. Coming away refreshed and prepared to apply what you have learnt on your own is just what I was looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was in need of a break - mentally, emotionally and physically. Billabong is so unique and exactly what I was craving. The blissful beauty treatments would usually be my highlight, but with such gentle yoga, introspective meditation, delicious and nutritious food, my favourite part would have to be all the knowledge I gained about how to approach my life differently. With more balance & kindness, to myself and others. Honestly a life changing break. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Delicious food, gentle yoga and meditation, lovely people. I felt relaxed and reinvigorated for real life after my 3 days at Billabong Retreat. The sound of the rain on the windows in the yoga room made clearing my mind of other worries very easy. Set in beautiful surroundings its a great place to completely unwind alone or with friends. And all the tea you can drink.

Room Tip: We booked out the Harmony cottage with 6 friends. It was very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The food surpassed all expectations, and was a stand out. If you are into healthy eating (or need a really tasty introduction to it) its ideal.
after three days of healthy eating you feel much cleaner and healthier. As well as that, you really come away with the feeling that you have tools to better manage stress, anxiety and simply live better day to day.
I learnt much from instructors and other like-minded guests about wellness and health. Just fabulous!

Room Tip: The Treehouse Cabin was fabulous! Glorious to have a bath on the deck at dawn overlooking the magnif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A three day retreat nourished my mind, body and soul. Guided meditation and yoga in a bushland setting was the perfect remedy to take me away from the city hustle and bustle. I stayed in the Tree house Pavillion, perfect if you are looking for a glamorous upgrade on a camping experience, the 'clears' roll up on three sides to give you first hand access to nature. Morning bird calls, strolls by the billabong, full of coloured waterlilies, and endless cups of tea and filtered water added to the revival I experienced in my soul. The food of course was nourishing and delicious, I very much appreciated the organic locally sourced produce.
Very well looked after by all the team, thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fleur_DY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maraylya
17.2 mi away
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
Spicers Sangoma Retreat
#1 of 2 in Bowen Mountain
263 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hawkesbury Valley
3.9 mi away
Ingenia Holidays Avina
Ingenia Holidays Avina
#1 of 1 in Vineyard
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Retreat at Wisemans
Retreat at Wisemans
#1 of 2 in Wisemans Ferry
261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bingle Tree Retreat
Bingle Tree Retreat
#2 of 2 in Maraylya
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Retreat Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Retreat Sydney

Property: Billabong Retreat Sydney
Address: 41 McClymonts Rd, Maraylya, New South Wales 2765, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Maraylya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Maraylya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Billabong Retreat Sydney a place for relaxation, adventure & wellbeing. We have treehouse ensuite cabins with waterview rooms and traditional cottage rooms available plus yoga, meditation & massage. Abundant with colourful & vocal native life you can spot hundreds of bird species, albino faced black wallabies, lace monitors, deer, micro-bats, water lizards and at night the whole place throbs to the chorus of frogs and cicada’s. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing