We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem.”

San Isabel National Forest
Ranked #5 of 36 things to do in Pueblo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of twelve national forests in Colorado, this one-million-acre forest offers snow-capped peaks and crystal mountain lakes.
Wilmer
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We camped at the Davenport Campground in the San Isabel National Forest on our way back home from Yellowstone. It was not on our list of stops but we stumbled upon it while looking for a restroom near Bishop's Castle. It was the nicest campground that we stayed in on our entire 2 week trip. Clean bathrooms, beautiful sites, peaceful location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank CourtneyLeSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    13
    0
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, with fewer tourists”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This forest covers a lot of south central Colorado and includes the amazing Spanish Peaks, the azure San Isabel Lake, and Greenhorn Mountain. Most of the visitors are locals, and the crowds are a lot easier to deal with than in the more touristy parts of Colorado.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank spanishpeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Breaktaking Beauty”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

whether in summer/winter this is a beautiful area. Trees and wildlife alike, and so quiet. Lake Isabelle area is so gorgeous.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dfwbarberstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“THE LODGE AT SAN ISABEL..HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

stayed for one night for my husbands birthday. the put us in a cabin knowing full and well there was a dead deer behind us that they were POURING BLEACH ON DAILY!! Pipes made a horrific moaning on and off all night and to top it off the housekeeper stole my brand new pair of running shoes! Never again! P.S. horrible food at the café!! Waitress was awesome though

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank 813angeliquej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun place to picnic”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This is a nice place to take a romantic stroll with your loved one, pack a picnic lunch and enjoy the outdoors. Not to mention the lake you can fish, rent paddle boats.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed San Isabel National Forest also viewed

 

Been to San Isabel National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing