We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular in every way-views, hospitality, relaxation, fun, animals, staff & owners!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Red Feather Lakes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular in every way-views, hospitality, relaxation, fun, animals, staff & owners!!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I haven't enjoyed myself this much in ages. As the movie says, "you ride in as city slickers but you leave as cowboys!". In addition, you may just find you have finally slowed down enough to actually relax & enjoy & make lifetime friends. Leave your jobs and traffic and troubles and enjoy the whole week. If you're like me, you will be planning your next visit as you drive out of the gate. And all of this "glory" starts with the owners, Dan & Ellen & their highly qualified staff!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PSHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
20
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The perfect Ranch for Family or a personal retreat. We went for the 6th time (I think) this year with a smaller 3 of us this year, normally 12, and it was as good as ever. The food, sublime. The location, perfect. The people, welcoming, entertaining and fun. The horses, beautiful. The shooting, brilliant. It was so nice to go back and really feel like family. I can't suggest this place more highly, honestly. Enjoy your time at the Sundance Guest Ranch. J

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JDebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We chose to spend a night on our way back from Steamboat. On very limited time we had a blast. We rode horses. Our daughter who is 6 adored Victor the wrangler. She was crying her eyes out when we left. She told her grandpa on the phone she's taking him next. Very relaxing, friendly setting. Gorgeous country. Horses in great shape. Dan and Ellen are very gracious hosts.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oishiimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Had a fabulous time! The staff was great, friendly and helpful, felt well taken care of. The horseback rides were fantastic. Loved our cabin (Wyoming), comfortable with a great view. And the meals were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank srashworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I stayed with my 13 & 14 year olds for one week on Dan & Ellen's ranch in the beautiful hills/mountains of Red Feather Lakes. The ranch is up high at 8000feet, very pretty and the 30 or so horses well cared for, though they had slight dung problem while we were there which I am sure they will sort out. The staff were extremely pleasant, had a good sense of humour and worked very hard. Nothing was too much trouble. Ellen's cooking is sublime, and when she is not there her cook is pretty good. Hearty stuff and plenty of it. The rides were great, some with breathtaking views and the wranglers looked after my special-needs son with enormous care, matching him with quite possibly the most obliging horse on the planet. He enjoyed it so much he hasn't stopped talking about it yet. We had a truly wonderful time with a set of lovely people. More please!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lothlorienlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband, daughter, son-in-law, son, daughter-in-law, and three grandchildren just returned from a week at Sundance Trail, and I can't say enough good about it. We try to go someplace together every couple of years--beach, Disney, cruise, etc. This year we tried our luck at this ranch, and everyone agreed it was by far the best vacation ever. Most of us had not done the activities before. All of them took us out of our comfort zone, and we absolutely had a ball. We whitewater rafted, rode horses, rock climbed, shot rifles and pistols, threw tomahawks, and felt enormous satisfaction at doing each one. Even the six-year-old, who was somewhat afraid of horses at the beginning, was riding the mountain trails like a champ by the second day. The young staff were all excellent and wonderful with children as well as adults. I don't know where we'll go next, but the unanimous vote is that everyone wants to go back to Sundance!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VaTraveler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I have been to several Colorado guest ranches, and Sundance is my favorite. The horses are great, they match you well with your experience level (even good for first time riders) and you can ride as much or as little as you want, no pressure. The owners are very hospitable and down to earth, they and the staff will go out of their way to accomodate you. Fun evening activities, good food, secluded rustic cabins or bunkhouse availale. The best thing is that this is not a nose to tail ranch, you have more freedom to ride off trail. Staff is very safety conscious and childrens wrangler available. I would highly recommend it for a couple's, singles, or family vacation,.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KCHkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Feather Lakes
3.2 mi away
Shambhala Mountain Center
Shambhala Mountain Center
#2 of 3 in Red Feather Lakes
1 reviews
18.4 mi away
Vista de la Luna Bed and Breakfast
25.0 mi away
Fernweh Inn & Hostel
Fernweh Inn & Hostel
#1 of 6 in Fort Collins
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch

Property: Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Address: 17931 W County Rd 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Red Feather Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Red Feather Lakes
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated dude ranch 100 miles NW of Denver - we love living here, and we love guests!Family friendly summer dude ranch, and pet friendly B&B the rest of the year, with horseback riding every day.Families play together and make memories of shared adventures. Horseback riding, mountain hiking, white-water rafting, awesome disk-golf, trout fishing, riflery/trap and lots more!Ours is not a nose-to-tail program - a good place to learn to ride. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundance Trail Guest And Dude Ranch
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch Hotel Red Feather Lakes
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch Colorado/Red Feather Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing