We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun for the whole family or just couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
arizona
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lots of fun for the whole family or just couples”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

When choosing a dude ranch I was looking for good horses and trails and nice people. We found all three at sundance. Ellen and Dan are great hosts and take the time to talk with the guests and eat with them. There are plenty of activties if you don't want to ride and after riding. We hiked to an overlook, had a bonfire with local singers, and learned some new moves at the square dance. The food was great and plenty of it. The location was easy to find and close to other activities. We were just a couple but a family would have a great vacation and lots of memories to take home.

Room Tip: All the cabins are in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jeaniemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
21
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

What a brilliant place, found through Trip adviser.
We stayed here as a first holiday for me and my 3 children (11 to 16) and my boyfriend and his 2 (15 and 17) and it was fantastic.
Small enough to be intimate, but big enough to have lots going on!
The boys were not too sure about the riding bit before we went, but after the first day they loved it and were out riding at every chance!
We did not see the kids for a lot of the time, as they rode in groups with their new friends, or were shooting, in the jacuzzi, playing pool/ table football, throwing axes (tomohawks to you cowboys!) rock climbing or just chilling!
We had a lodge which was brill, lots of space and away from the main house- and this worked perfectly for our group.
The staff were very accomodating and Dan and Ellen were perfec hosts.
I did worry that it seemed a bit too structured at first but you can opt in and out of anything, so no problems.
Two things to mention- it is at altitude, and we did feel a bit queesy for a couple of days. It is also very dry (lip salve essential) and dusty, so no good clothes needed!
Compared to the prices of other ranches this one is very good value.
Overall an amazing week, the kids want to know when we can go back!

Room Tip: The lodges give you more privacy, as some of the main house rooms open into the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Frankie060396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

My son, 11, and I just spent a week at the ranch and couldn't have had a better time. We have traveled a lot and we both agree this was one of our better vacations! We both enjoyed the riding and really learned how to control the horses and make them do what you want them to do and go where you want them to go. We have always sought out trail rides on vacations but they have always been the nose to tail line without any real excitement. I tell you riding bareback doing arena games and swimming with a horse is EXCITEMENT!
The staff, food, accommodations, and activities all exceeded my expectations. We will be back again.
My only complaint....I can never do a nose to tail boring ride again because I now know what horseback riding is supposed to be!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Dsquared512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

What a great week! We found Sundance Trail on tripadvisor and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We're a family of 5 with 3 boys between the ages of 10 and 17. There was a lot to do and the setting was magnificent. Though we were among several families staying at the ranch, there was a warmth and intimacy to the place, a product of the gracious hospitality of the owners and their dedicated staff. The pace was casual but there was never a lack of options and opportunities to ride, shoot, play or just hang out.

We rented a car to get there from Denver and were glad we did as it allowed us to get out and see Fort Collins, drive out to the Fire Tower on Dead Man's Road and make a half-day trip to Laramie, WY - only about an hour away.

We strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TENAFLYDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our short stay was TOO short! The High Park wildfire may have caused lower bookings, but we are glad we were not afraid, since this right-sized ranch made us feel like more than guests. The area is gloriously beautiful and the people who staff the ranch must be chosen for their kindness and patience! The trail rides were breath-taking (especially for this flat-lander!) with abundant explanation and conversation. Our wrangler mentored our granddaughter so well that she got up at 6 AM to help with chores. That's miraculous! We are so proud.

There is every indication that her family will be making a return visit, so it's more "hasta la vista" than "adios" Thanks a million!

Room Tip: We were at the top of the lodge, in the Eagle (huge!) room with fireplace, coffee maker and fridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesY245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I haven't enjoyed myself this much in ages. As the movie says, "you ride in as city slickers but you leave as cowboys!". In addition, you may just find you have finally slowed down enough to actually relax & enjoy & make lifetime friends. Leave your jobs and traffic and troubles and enjoy the whole week. If you're like me, you will be planning your next visit as you drive out of the gate. And all of this "glory" starts with the owners, Dan & Ellen & their highly qualified staff!! You will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PSHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

The perfect Ranch for Family or a personal retreat. We went for the 6th time (I think) this year with a smaller 3 of us this year, normally 12, and it was as good as ever. The food, sublime. The location, perfect. The people, welcoming, entertaining and fun. The horses, beautiful. The shooting, brilliant. It was so nice to go back and really feel like family. I can't suggest this place more highly, honestly. Enjoy your time at the Sundance Guest Ranch. J

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JDebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Red Feather Lakes
18.4 mi away
Vista de la Luna Bed and Breakfast
25.0 mi away
Fernweh Inn & Hostel
Fernweh Inn & Hostel
#1 of 6 in Fort Collins
104 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shambhala Mountain Center
Shambhala Mountain Center
#2 of 3 in Red Feather Lakes
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch

Property: Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch
Address: 17931 W County Rd 74e, Red Feather Lakes, CO 80545
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Red Feather Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Red Feather Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated dude ranch 100 miles NW of Denver - we love living here, and we love guests!Family friendly summer dude ranch, and pet friendly B&B the rest of the year, with horseback riding every day.Families play together and make memories of shared adventures. Horseback riding, mountain hiking, white-water rafting, awesome disk-golf, trout fishing, riflery/trap and lots more!Ours is not a nose-to-tail program - a good place to learn to ride. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundance Trail Guest And Dude Ranch
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch Hotel Red Feather Lakes
Sundance Trail Guest & Dude Ranch Colorado/Red Feather Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing