We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“redstone castle: not a castle, but well worth it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redstone Castle

Redstone Castle
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Redstone
Attraction details
Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“redstone castle: not a castle, but well worth it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you're expecting to see a castle, you're going to be disappointed. But if you want to see a magnificient mansion, and get a glimpse into the life of a successful industialist baron, then you will be pleased. The home was built on, or about, the turn of the century. It features tiffany lighting fiixtures, extensive wood mouldings, and over the top furnishings. There is a guided tour, and you may buy tickets in the nearby town of Redstone. Allocate 1 1/2 or 2 hours.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank noahbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, CO
Level Contributor
251 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“History with Wonderful Guide”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I walked the easy road from the parking lot below the gate so as to enjoy the Crystal River and colorful aspen trees. The castle history was told by Sue, a fantastic guide of 17 years. She made the castle come alive with the history of the Osgood family and right up through today. The tour took about 90 minutes and was very enlightening. I strongly suggest taking the tour if you visit Redstone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Triumph1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
467 reviews
205 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A slice of History, Mystery, and Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

First of all, you must buy your tickets in town - several choices, and you cannot drive to the castle until the gate is opened (about 20 min prior = 110pm). Tours only once a day @ 130pm.
,
The road to the castle is not well marked, but lies through the first parking lot of the Redstone Inn....just after the bridge (don't pass the Inn). It was raining the day we went, and the road can be a bit perilous.....but isn't too long.

The 'castle' isn't that impressive from the outside, but quite lovely once you enter. I liked that the gal giving the tour allowed you to free-roam the halls and rooms, but did give great information and stories about the castle history.

I believe the hope of the towns people is that it will be restored as a B&B again....we shall see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Redstone Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our tour guide was the best! Very knowledgeable, entertaining, interesting. The property itself is still in need of repair/restoration, but does give a good look at the past. Beautiful drive getting there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
436 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Long Live the Coal Barons...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The tour of the Redstone Castle was excellently led by our history buff. She was able to detail the history of the house and various owners as we went from one unusual and beautiful room to another. Everyone who was anybody from the wealthiest persons of the day to the political power players stayed here in the early 1900's.

Come and touch where only the 'finest' people were invited to stay......in the fantastic Colorado mountain community of Redstone.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Redstone Castle also viewed

 

Been to Redstone Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing