We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location...Not So Great Lodging” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Redstone Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Redstone Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Certificate of Excellence
Winnemucca, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location...Not So Great Lodging”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were gifted a two-night stay at the Redstone Inn as a gift for our wedding. We had high expectations for the Redstone Inn and unfortunately those expectations were not met.

The Redstone Inn has the most perfect setting. It is in the mountains, next to a beautiful river and charming shops and buildings nearby. Unfortunately the Inn does not match its surroundings. The Inn itself has a rustic charm that is very appealing. The rooms on the other hand are not rustic or charming. Our room, which was pet-friendly, had very outdated furniture that neither matched when the Inn first came to be or the "modern amenities" that it claimed to have. We quickly decided to adjust our expectations to "we are just staying a few nights" instead of being thrilled to be there. There was no a/c but unfortunately for us the nights were still hot and the tiny window did not provide any relief what-so-ever! The room was clean, just extremely outdated.

We did not receive the greatest of service. When we checked in the response we got from the front desk was "You finally made it!". She got to leave after we checked in at 9pm. We were tired from a long drive and were looking forward to ordering some room service. We went to the bar/grill and asked if we could order room service. We were told that they don't have anyone to do that (it does say in the welcome book in the room that they do) and that we would have to wait there for the food. So we waited, and paid and brought the food, our champagne, champagne flutes, ice bucket, plates, silverware, and napkins back to our room which was on the opposite end of the Inn and down a hill with no lighting. Once we got to our room, we opened the food and it was not what we ordered. So my husband walked back to the bar/grill and corrected the order. The waitress took the wrong order back then came back to charge us more because what we had actually wanted cost more money. Not a great a start...

The next day my Husband had inquired about the fly-fishing he had seen on the website and in the welcome book in the room. He was told where the fishing took place but that it was too last minute to get him gear or a guide. She still wrote him down ($45.00) to be fishing even though he said he didn't have any gear or a rod....

Needless to say we did not spend much more time at the Inn, instead we went to Carbondale to eat (Great food!!) and did some window shopping in Aspen.

Overall, the location is amazing but the Inn could really use some training on customer service and is in need of some serious updates...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r8chelberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    50
    30
    15
    7
See reviews for
41
92
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

We went to to the Redstone Inn for a wedding and couldn't have asked for a more beautiful setting. The Inn is small and everyone was friendly but be prepared for slow dining service. We waited about 30 min for cereal, milk, and a mimosa. We spent two nights at the Inn and the room definitely needs updating. I know they are trying to maintain the historic setting but it would have made the weekend even better with a few upgrades. Definitely ask for a 2nd floor room which tend to have better views. The fitness center did not open up until 10 am which was too late for us so we weren't able to take advantage of that. The scenery getting to Redstone and once there is incredible and you will have a wonderful time if you are looking to relax. I would recommend visiting Carbondale which is a small town 20 min from Redstone- very quaint and more restaurant options.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennpaz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to Redstone for a romantic getaway.

1) Redstone, Co: The idyllic town is very small with a fascinating history. It's set on one street along the river, only 1/2 mile long; but there's a few cute shops & a wonderful cafe for lunch or dinner. All homes in Redstone must be kept to certain historic standards & the yards are beautiful. Walk from the Inn and you can find a private road overlooking the rest of the town, that welcomes pedestrian only traffic. The historic fire house & other beautiful homes sit on the on the hill & home owners are happy to share the history.

2) the Inn: The historic Inn is beautiful! There's a small spa, a beautiful outdoor pool & billards room below.
I loved the historic rooms & think they're a charming mix of the original details, with some modern conveniences added. My husband is more of a chain hotel type & thought it was outdated. It was clean, the beds comfortable & the rooms are spacious. Due to the age of the building the walls were a bit thin.
The gourmet restaurant was very good and though pricey, worth it. We ate at the bar the next night & it was very busy. Our waiter was trying to service the dining area & the outdoor dining as well. We could only watch helplessly as my husband's margarita sat on the bar as the ice melted, watering the drink down before I got up & grabbed it. The poor waiter was busting his rump while the bartender just watched the tv behind the bar as drinks piled up. Seems like he could've helped the waiter out a bit... But the food was good, our server apologetic.

Overall, the pace of the town is slow & easy; a good place to unwind, go on some hikes or bike rides. There's a tour of the castle I regret not taking, and stables across the highway for trail rides. I recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugaboos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is my second time to the town of Redstone....it is a magical, beautiful, and friendly place. The hotel has a nicely furnished restaurant and bar. It also provides a pool, jacuzzi, and gym. However, the rooms need updating. Only one person could fit in the bathroom and it was run down. But for one night, it was fine. Tip: ask to see your room prior to taking it. There was no air conditioning in the room, too. Having a room over the bar/restaurant would not be pleasant with the noise and smells. The staff there were pleasant and helpful.
There are some B and B's down the road and nice homes to rent. I would suggest that.
The Redstone Inn has tremendous potential. It just needs to address some room renovation issues.

Room Tip: Always ask to see it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muffyiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

I love Redstone and would sleep under the bridge just to be there. Fewer and fewer places in Colorado can give you such a spectacular view of the stars or have that old Colorado feel. I had really high hopes for the Inn (this was our first stay) but sort of get the feeling that it has two personalities. Some of the other reviewers really raved about the place but our experience was just ok. I suspect it was because we had our dog in tow. They have dog friendly rooms (which is great) and we booked one. We arrived late and literally caught the receptionist on her way out the door to go home. She was nice, we signed in and drove around to our room. It was a motel like arrangement. We parked right outside our room. The room faced on to a dirt parking lot which was ok but not particularly scenic. The room itself was big but spartan. Big beds but the finishings were really basic verging on run down. I expected noise from the parking lot in the morning but that wasn't a problem. In any event, the rooms in the main part of the Inn may have more character which is why I suspect that there could be two kinds of experiences. The lobby was certainly appealing and the bar looked fun. We didn't stay long enough to use the pool or other facilities.

You are right on the edge of the "town" and it made for a couple of nice walks, one in the evening and one in the morning. Our interaction with the staff was minimal but they were friendly enough.

I love Redstone and was happy to be there. I also liked having the dog along and the Inn made this easier. However, the room itself was average and the price was on the high end which reflects the lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingColoradans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Town of Redstone is across Crystal River from Hwy 133. Redstone Inn is a charming 100 year old hotel, with well maintained grounds, heated pool, jacuzzi and gym. Approx 75 rooms, library, tennis court, popular bar and restaurant, and formal dining room. Food and service in the bar was very good and food was much better than standard pub food. Wait staff and receptionist were always attentive and helpful. We had a king room on 3rd floor with 1/2 bath and shared bath/shower. Never a problem with shower availability. Room with king was very private with nice views and very comfortable bed.

Redstone is 30 miles South of Glenwood Springs on Hwy 133. Originally built for coalmine workers in 1902 along with the town. Mine has long since closed. The area has stunning scenery, and hiking. Marble (5 miles South) is very interesting (Lincoln memorial stone from the Marble quarry). Take jeep tour to crystal city, or hike. Glenwood Springs has lots of activity including adventure park and mineral hot springs. Aspen is 50mi away on good 4 lane road, well worth a visit, as well as Independence Pass (road to Leadville from Aspen), with crazy bends.

Arrived in town expecting a couple of rundown motels, and was very impressed with RedstoneInn. Extended our stay by 1 day as had such a great time. We will be returning.

Room Tip: get room overlooking garden on East side. West side gets afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bitnibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

quaint historic hotel. Clean and comfortable, expect small rooms. We were there for a wedding so we had 2 breakfasts and a catered dinner. All were delicious. The catered meal was one of the best I have had. Staff was helpfully. Breakfast service on the patio was relatively quick considering the number of guests sitting on the patio.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redstone
16.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Carbondale
16.2 mi away
Days Inn Carbondale
Days Inn Carbondale
#2 of 2 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
24.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
17.1 mi away
Aspenalt Lodge
Aspenalt Lodge
#2 of 2 in Basalt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redstone Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redstone Inn

Property: The Redstone Inn
Address: 82 Redstone Blvd., Redstone, CO 81623
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Redstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Redstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Redstone Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Redstone Inn is a rustic turn of the century style Rocky Mountain resort in Colorado. When you come upon Redstone,Colorado, you'll find a tiny mountain village hidden surprisingly beneath massive red cliffs.The entire village is on the National Register of Historic Places, and the Redstone offers a unique sanctuary for those looking to get away. Open 365 days a year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Redstone Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redstone Hotel Redstone
The Hotel Redstone
The Redstone Inn Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing