We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garden House Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Swan Hotel(Alton)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Travelodge
View Deal
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Alresford)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Odiham)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
24
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjane austenevery morningb bthe pubwhartonbedroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were after somewhere friendly and comfortable to stay for a weekend away in the country to explore some of Hampshire, and this place couldn't have been more perfect.
The house is lovely, with the feel of a traditional English country family home. The beds, rooms & bathroom were all very comfortable. The location is beautiful, so close to the wonderful history of Jane Austen's house and the quaint village of Chawton but also not far from the train line into London which was convenient for getting there and getting home.
The hosts Kate and Mark were very welcoming and friendly, cooked us a delicious breakfast on both mornings before we disappeared off to explore for the day.
Very highly recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StephHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

As a Jane Austen enthusiast it was fantastic to stay at the house of the gardener of Chawton House. We have enjoyed the delicious vegetarian breakfast, the friendliness of the dogs Marcie and Ilsa, the lovely bed, the soft and clean towels, the quietness of the house and above all the thoughtfullness of the owners. Even my fiftieth birthday was not forgotten: at breakfast burning birthday candles! This lovely B&B is situated in the village of Chawton where jane Austen lived. We visited the Jane Austen House, had a delicious tea at the tearoom (Cassandra's Cup) and excellent meals at the cosy pub (the Greyfriar). We walked in lovely autumn weather to Upper Farringdon and visited the interesting Gilbert White museum.

eetkamer, van de vriendelijke huishonden omgeving om te wandelen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Garden House surrounded by beautiful trees and shrubs is a dream. Found in the fascinating village of Chawton, within walking distance of Jane Austin's house/Museum. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed so comfortable. The owners were very friendly and went out of their way to accommodate us. Plus the breakfast was superb.
We shall definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Susanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Arrived from Spain and stayed for two nights when we were visiting family and friends. We had a lovely, warm welcome from the owners and the bedrooms were extremely comfortable. The English breakfast was delicious and my son said it was one of the best he had ever had! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are going to book again for our next trip. I would highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stay in this beautiful country home whenever I am over from USA visiting my family who live close by. Kate and Marks gracious hospitality goes above and beyond, nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom with an en suite bathroom is cosy and spotlessly clean. The bed is wonderful and the sheets and towels are top quality. The fantastic English Breakfast they serve in the morning cannot be beaten.
It is perfectly located, close to everything in the historic village of Chawton but also close to other wonderful towns - Winchester, Farnham, Guidford Alton etc.
If you are looking to stay in a quintessential English country home look no further - this is it!
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews