We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Animal Welfare is their #1 Priority!”
Review of Amazonas Park

Amazonas Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.18*
and up
Amazonas Park and Agios Nikolaos Day Trip
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kourounes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Animal Park specialized in upkeep of endangered parrots.
Crete
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Animal Welfare is their #1 Priority!”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The folks who have built this park have done so for one reason, and one only - they care about animals! Their dedication to every creature that they offer a home to and their enthusiasm in helping breed endangered parrot species deserves all our admiration.

A beautiful park which will please visitors young and old...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    44
    10
    12
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We saw a sign at the side of the road and being an animal lover had to go and visit. It is up a steep road and for a while we thought we were lost but soon saw it. The park itself is beautiful and the views are amazing, I was only sad as we were the only ones there. The owners were so friendly and welcoming and I loved my visit. It is a must visit for all tourists.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappybunny_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“cheap entrance price, a must see if you love animals”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

It was 8 euros per person, and in about an hour we saw everything. It's a shame that there weren't other visitors, we were the only ones. It's all about parrots so you can expect some noise from the birds. there were a lot of plants to create a lovely environment. Also the Cretan farm area needs a little work but there working on that: I only saw a fluffy white rabbit and a lonely donkey. I think they should should buy another donkey to keep the other one company. I'll be visiting this place again, with friends.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EgyptAndSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santorini, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazonas!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

What a great find!
We found a leaflet in a hotel and immediately wanted to visit!

The birds are spectacular, the gardens fantastic, and the location with the views are incredible. Everything was immaculate and well laid out.

We would definitely go back and stay longer next time - just to sit at the cafe and look at the view is worth going by itself.

But the real stars are the birds. The colors are breathtaking!! Adults and children alike will love them!

Well done to this hard working couple with a great vision!

Highly recommended!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank SantoriniPhotoTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazonas Park Paradise”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

My eight year daughter with a thing for big exotic birds luckilly spotted a green leaflet in a hotel lobby the first day we arrived at our hotel in Sissi, Lasithi, and we absolutely had to go and visit the place the day after. The road to Amazonas Park might be a bit steep, but the view from above is wonderful. We have managed to get lost, though, so follow the signs closely once near Neapoli. Once there, another steep entrance to what seemed to be birds paradise. Wonderful, wonderful hosts, true animal lovers, Patricio and Fabienne have taken us on tour and showed us everything there to see with interesting stories behind it. Plenty of exotic birds to see, the best thing of all, they all seem very happy and well looked after. You can even get into the big cage with budgies, just magical for kids, and for grown ups as well. Since my daugter absolutely adores big parrots, Fabbiene and Patricio even took out them from the cage and let her pet them and have the picture taken. The story this great people told us, the sacrifice and troubles they have gone through to establish sanctuary for these endagered birds is tremendous and I have been left with full heart at the end of the day. If only there were more people like them. Definitely on our list, every time we come to Crete!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank NinaUna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amazonas Park also viewed

 
Gournes Pediados, Heraklion Prefecture
Hersonissos, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Amazonas Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing