We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totaly unexpected Kelvin UK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We travel every year to the USA from the UK staying at inexpensive motels/hotels and usually quite satisfied.The only comparison with the Rico
is the inexpensive bit.An exceptional hotel and such a relaxing place to stay. The best inclusive breakfast eaten in an old fashioned lounge with a log fire and people talking to each other.The 30 min. drive to Telluride for the skiing was pleasant and there was easy parking there .Ate evening meal at the hotel and again exceptional fine dinning at cafe prices.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kelvin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

We traveled to Rico in June 2011 and because of the Rico Hotel, we are making plans to return in a few months. My husband found the Rico Hotel while looking for places to stay close to Telluride. We had the third floor apartment that had a bedroom, living room/kitchen, and bathroom. It was plenty of space and a gorgeous view of the summer mountains. The rooms were spotless! But the best part was the breakfast each morning. Fresh fruit, breads, breakfast casserole, coffee and juice. And the owner happens to be a world-renowned chef who left the fast paced life to settle down in this quiet town. The restaurant connected to the hotel is worth saving your pennies for. The service is outstanding as well. I have a much more detailed report on my blog with pictures of the rooms and meals. If anybody is looking to visit the Telluride area, consider the Rico Hotel.
http://www.katrina-runs.com/rico-hotel-colorado-2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatrinaRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Do not be put off by the rather unkempt appearance of the outside space of this hotel; the proprietor and his staff are far too busy making the hotel comfortable and preparing the most amazing food for their guests to be worrying about the weeds and the overgrown grass outside!! Our room was a little out of the ordinary in that it had a large metal bedstead with cosy mattress, a small writing desk and an enormous leather chair and foot stool that had clearly seen many a wet pair of ski-pants and jacket at the end of a long day on the slopes! The bathroom was large by anyone’s standards and fitted with storage space for clothes and boots. We had a room on the first floor but we believe that the rooms on the ground floor have shared facilities. The view wasn’t particularly noteworthy – apart from the mountains! – as the surrounding dwellings were assorted cabins rather haphazardly scattered around this, the only hotel in Rico. There is a large communal area in the hotel boasting a huge fireplace; we could easily imagine log fires after a day’s skiing. The dining room is a little dark and has a number of alcoves for its diners all of whom have a good view of the relatively small kitchen…….but the food is to die for!! The chef used to cook for the rich and famous but quit the rat race to work in his own space and on his terms – more likely as not he will be the one who checks you in and out of the hotel as well! He looks relaxed, has a lovely young girl quietly washing up as he cooks and any wait you might have for your meal is well worth it. Sweet corn chowder and steaks the like you will never have tasted before! If you get up the following morning feeling as if you probably never need eat again…..wait until you smell breakfast!! We celebrated our wedding anniversary in this hotel and only wish we could return to do the same next year!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I just had the best dinner I've had in ages!!! Wow! The hotel is quaint and clean and I will stay here every time I travel to Rico for work.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
1  Thank redlizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We originally had reservations in Dolores but cancelled because it was not clean and tidy. The Rico Hotel was a blessing. They had a room where pets were allowed and we were pleased with every aspect. It is an older building so the rooms were not soundproof but it wasn't a serious issue. We had an amazing meal in their restaurant - a trip highlight.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desertsand12282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was our second "girls trip" to the Rico Hotel. Every time it gets better and we plan to come back twice a year as a ritual. The staff is always helpful, rooms are clean and comfortable, laid back, yet efficient. The restaurant is first class fare and such a special place to dine. The filet mignon is the best I have ever had and the creme brulee was so good that my friend had to kiss the chef :-). The breakfast is a lovely beginning to every morning, served with a smile and always plenty to go around. This place is our little getaway from children and husbands and we cherish it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liv1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We nearly drove right by this wonderful hotel in the middle of nowhere. Sure glad we didn't. The food was to-die-for and the room was the deluxe with extremely comfy beds. The staff were so wonderful and the service great. So glad we dropped in... would have loved to stay longer. A diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamnitJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge

Address: 124, S. Hwy. 145, P.O. Box 65, Rico, CO 81332
Region: United States > Colorado > Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Price Range: £72 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 night minimum in our Kinnick Suite-99.00 per night-coffee maker in room-great views of surrounding mountains-area renowned restaurant on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico Hotel Mountain Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing