We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Antipolo, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We've stayed here for two nights and the moment we arrived at the hotel, i was dumbstrucked by the appearance of the hotel. The frontage is not well trimmed with overgrown trees and bushes. I thought the hotel is already closed actually. We entered at the side door and saw this closed,unattended reception area, I thought that we've been riffed off because we pre-booked our stay but the hotel already been closed. out of nowhere, a man appeared and we showed him our booking. He processed our stay at the hotel in a very COLD treatment manner and he don't even make an effort to give information about the area (where's nearest resto or something about Rico). Actually, our destination is Telluride but we found this hotel offering affordable rate and its within driving distance from Telluride anyway. We been booked to a room just right in front of the reception area and man, you can hear every sound within the hallway, every creaking of the wooden floor, every convef\rsation that the other guest(?) and the receptionist made. Yes, Rico is very much a quiet town but not the hotel! I had a long driving time that day and I'm expecting a quiet room but its not! I even thought of leaving the hotel that night, minding not that we already paid our stay. Worst, my wife developed an bronchial allergy (its an old hotel with wooden structure, probably treated already) and this experience almost ruin our vacation in this scenic, prestine mountain get-away....I promise, i will never think anymore of coming back to this hotel and I will not recommend it to anyone....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoadRunner206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights to explore the area around Telluride. We enjoy unusual, off-the-beaten-path experiences, and the Rico Hotel was exactly that. This is definitely not a place to stay if you are looking for a fancy, chain-hotel type place - it is quirky, unique and homey. The staff were very friendly and the hotel (which feels more like a bed-and-breakfast) is very clean, but the accommodations are basic and the guest room we stayed in was fairly small. We enjoyed the unusual artwork, the rustic setting, the comfy bed and the fantastic home-cooked breakfasts. We also ate at the attached restaurant one evening and the food and service were excellent (Bill, our server, could not have been friendlier or more courteous). They also welcomed our dog for a small extra nightly fee. Overall, an incredibly pleasant experience and one we will remember fondly. Also note that the hotel is about a 20-30 minute drive to Telluride, depending on conditions and roadwork (but the drive itself is very scenic, so we considered it a bonus). Not much going on in the town of Rico so if you are looking for nightlife you may want to consider staying in Telluride itself - but we wanted a more quiet, out of the way location. Especially considering how reasonable the room rates were, we thought it was perfect!

Room Tip: Basic guest rooms are small - not much room to move around. But we weren't planning to spend a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raisingruckus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I along with our 1 year old stayed here and it was great. Great little town with really amazing food. We were 1 of 2 couple to stay the night and woke to an amazing home cooked breakfast. Worth the price of the room just for the breakfast. Cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlagFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedarville, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Three of us just spent a great get-away weekend at the Rico Hotel, Feb 10-12, 2012. We booked the third floor suite and it met our needs perfectly, to the quality of the beds, the complete kitchen, large bathroom and great views. And the Argentina Grill serves unbelievably good food and service, in a rustic, charming setting. With the same quality food, a full breakfast is served in the large lobby, replete with a roaring fire and comfortable tables and large sofas and chairs.
A mountain road drive, 25 mins. north to Telluride, makes this a perfect place to "do"
Telluride and avoid the crazy crowds and noise of the town.
Totally recommend this as a whim day trip and evening or part of a tour of the Rockies.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We travel every year to the USA from the UK staying at inexpensive motels/hotels and usually quite satisfied.The only comparison with the Rico
is the inexpensive bit.An exceptional hotel and such a relaxing place to stay. The best inclusive breakfast eaten in an old fashioned lounge with a log fire and people talking to each other.The 30 min. drive to Telluride for the skiing was pleasant and there was easy parking there .Ate evening meal at the hotel and again exceptional fine dinning at cafe prices.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kelvin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We traveled to Rico in June 2011 and because of the Rico Hotel, we are making plans to return in a few months. My husband found the Rico Hotel while looking for places to stay close to Telluride. We had the third floor apartment that had a bedroom, living room/kitchen, and bathroom. It was plenty of space and a gorgeous view of the summer mountains. The rooms were spotless! But the best part was the breakfast each morning. Fresh fruit, breads, breakfast casserole, coffee and juice. And the owner happens to be a world-renowned chef who left the fast paced life to settle down in this quiet town. The restaurant connected to the hotel is worth saving your pennies for. The service is outstanding as well. I have a much more detailed report on my blog with pictures of the rooms and meals. If anybody is looking to visit the Telluride area, consider the Rico Hotel.
http://www.katrina-runs.com/rico-hotel-colorado-2011

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatrinaRuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Do not be put off by the rather unkempt appearance of the outside space of this hotel; the proprietor and his staff are far too busy making the hotel comfortable and preparing the most amazing food for their guests to be worrying about the weeds and the overgrown grass outside!! Our room was a little out of the ordinary in that it had a large metal bedstead with cosy mattress, a small writing desk and an enormous leather chair and foot stool that had clearly seen many a wet pair of ski-pants and jacket at the end of a long day on the slopes! The bathroom was large by anyone’s standards and fitted with storage space for clothes and boots. We had a room on the first floor but we believe that the rooms on the ground floor have shared facilities. The view wasn’t particularly noteworthy – apart from the mountains! – as the surrounding dwellings were assorted cabins rather haphazardly scattered around this, the only hotel in Rico. There is a large communal area in the hotel boasting a huge fireplace; we could easily imagine log fires after a day’s skiing. The dining room is a little dark and has a number of alcoves for its diners all of whom have a good view of the relatively small kitchen…….but the food is to die for!! The chef used to cook for the rich and famous but quit the rat race to work in his own space and on his terms – more likely as not he will be the one who checks you in and out of the hotel as well! He looks relaxed, has a lovely young girl quietly washing up as he cooks and any wait you might have for your meal is well worth it. Sweet corn chowder and steaks the like you will never have tasted before! If you get up the following morning feeling as if you probably never need eat again…..wait until you smell breakfast!! We celebrated our wedding anniversary in this hotel and only wish we could return to do the same next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WirralStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rico
19.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mine Shaft Inn Hotel & Hostel
6.4 mi away
Dunton Hot Springs
Dunton Hot Springs
#1 of 2 in Dolores
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Cascade Village
Cascade Village
#10 of 21 in Durango
86 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge

Property: Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge
Address: 124, S. Hwy. 145, P.O. Box 65, Rico, CO 81332
Region: United States > Colorado > Rico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rico
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 night minimum in our Kinnick Suite-99.00 per night-coffee maker in room-great views of surrounding mountains-area renowned restaurant on site ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Rico Hotel Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico Hotel Mountain Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing