We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Colorado Hidden Gem"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Ridgway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

This place was amazing and definitely a Perfect Getaway!! My husband and I were looking for a romantic Colorado place with a cozy log cabin feel and beautiful scenery. Chipeta captured all of that and much more. The view from our room was breathe-taking. The onsite "Four Corners Cafe" had an intimate ambiance with flavorful gourmet meals. Al, the chef makes the place worth coming back again and again. He was very inviting and showed lots of hospitality. Everyone at this resort was very kind and eager to help which made our stay just that much more enjoyable. We will definitely be back...even thought about making this place an annual trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TASMIA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

First of all, Ridgway is a nice little town. Not a whole lot to do, especially in the winter, but it has some ok little shops and surprisingly good restaurants for such a small town.

Chipeta is nothing fancy, but it's a decent getaway in the winter. They have a cozy lounge with a fireplace and a little bar stocked with tea and hot cocoa. The spa is ok. It had the basic services along with a sauna, steam room, and a nice yoga room.

Our room, the escalante something or other, was a little tight, but had a cozy, cabin feel. Features included a private balcony with a hot tub, king bed, fire place, big jacuzzi tub in the bathroom, and a nice corner closet space for luggage.

Mountain Village/Telluride is only 45 min to an hour way, so it's very reasonable in terms of travel if you like to ski/snowboard.

Overall it was a good stay for us. I was probably most impressed by the little restaurant they have there at the hotel. The food is excellent, service is great, and it's all organic.

I might go again, but my curiosity for other options in the area will probably prevail before I go back.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am genuinely surprised by some of the reviews below. Obviously some of these travelers have a skewed perspective of the place and life in general. We visited the Chipeta on a Groupon deal this past weekend, and we couldn't of asked for a better time. Everyone there was eager to please and make our vacation the best it could be. Upon arriving at the hotel you receive a personal tour of the place and showed to your room, where else do you receive that sort of service?! Everyone made us feel very welcome and at home. There are fresh baked cookies that stay out all day and they are to die for! At night they lite the fire place in the lobby and it makes for a cozy spot to wind down after a long day of cross county skiing in not to mention one of the most beautiful places I've ever been to! The San Juan Mountains are picturesque. The normal room prices are a bit steep, considering we got the Groupon rate, but you have to take into consideration those prices include use of their steamy, warm, salt water thermal pools and fitness center/spa facilities, which they sell day passes to for anyone else. We also got a couples massage and couldn't have been happier with it! Talk about serenity. Their on-site restaurant the Four Corner's Cafe was excellent as well. A little pricey, but so worth it! The chef Al was very personable and makes excellent food. Overall, if you are not a high-maintenance person and aren't focused on the negative, there is no way this place will let you down. We will definitely be returning again sometime in the future when we need our next getaway, and I would definitely recommend this spot for any traveler!

Room Tip: Choose a Kiva Suite or a Condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have been enjoying the western slope of Colorado quite a bit. We found a Groupon for this place and were pleasantly surprised. The city itself is surrounded by stunning views and the locals were all very nice.
The hotel has a boutique resort feel to it and the solar tub was amazing - along with the robes and fire pit!

Great service, great food on site and very nice, friendly staff!

We also enjoyed a massage at the spa- not a thing was disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Our room was atrocious. There was very little light, it had a poor layout, and you could hear everything from the outside. I got a whiff of funky smells when we first came, and they never went away. There isn't much to do in the resort besides work out in tiny, cramped gym and go in the heated pool (which closes at 10pm). The nearest ski logde is over an hour away driving and there isn't much to do in Ridgeway. On top of it all, the receptionist had a serious attitude problem. The one saving grace of this decrepit place was the Four Seasons Cafe. I will never come back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterT982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipeta L, Front Desk at Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Peter,
Yes it is true that all of our units come with blinds so as to block the sunlight allowing some guests the comfort of darkness to sleep in by, if so desired. Our great room, a common area located in the Lodge, offers two-story wrap around windows that with our passive solar design not only heats the solarium within but also offers breath taking views of the Cimarron Mountain Range. Our living solarium will ode an earthy scent throughout the lodge accommodations that most people find palatable but on rare occasion one could find fresh air off putting.
Ridgway itself is a small mountain town that is bustling with activities in all directions! Within the Chipeta itself the on site spa offers yoga and passive martial art classes most mornings at 8:30am; talented therapists and estheticians on call for any massage needs and live music every Thursday, Friday and Saturday evenings at our resident restaurant the Four Corners Café. Nestled in the San Juan Mountain Range one could indulge in several outdoor activities including snow shoeing, cross country skiing, hiking, horseback riding and ballooning just steps from The Chipeta’s front door! In town you might find the True Grit Café appealing giving it is the site where the original John Wayne film was shot. Perhaps a stop at one of several local art galleries is more you style? Well there is Resource, Ridgway Gallery and Coal Creek Studios just to name a few. Would you like to take in a film? There is the Sherbino Theater four blocks in town or try the Wright Opera House Theater just fifteen minutes away in Ouray. Does a relaxing soak sound more appealing? Just two miles down the road is Orvis Hot Springs.
Our front desk staff would’ve been happy to direct you and does work hard to meet all of our guests needs but I do apologize if you felt all and all that Ridgway and the Chipeta Solar Springs Resort did not meet your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

If you'd like to hear the guests next door talk, walk, laugh or cry you'll love these paper thin walls. The lobby music was left on all night which means we couldn't sleep. Although the bed, pillows and linens circa 1910 didn't help the situation. Anyone could have looked through the window without blinds into our room. Only one person gets a nightstand and a plug. Although the router light blinked all night in our open eyes we were unable to connect to the open and overloaded wifi. Broken light fixture, mold in shower, plugs against code next to the sink. Oh, and no TV. Camping would have been more enjoyable because it would have been quiet. WAY over priced!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipeta L, Front Desk at Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Unsatisfied Guest,
I am terrible sorry to hear that your stay with us was all together terrible. Our main Lodge in an Adobe style building that works quite well for our green and passive solar initiatives but occasionally we do receive a noise complaint as some guests are less aware of their surrounds and personal noise level.
We here at the Chipeta would love to control the weather however when a snow storm hits the Ridgway area our internet connection can become intermittent at best and we ask for patience and understanding in this matter.
Its quite a romantic idea that our linens are circa 1910, unfortunately I would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we restock our linens each season. We do enjoy offering our guests the opportunity to escape and unplug from all forms of technology including the television but again you should be aware that over half of our accommodations do offer satellite T.V.
If you do decide to book online with another hotel, resort, hostel, motel, etc. I offer you one word of advice: do your research. It just so happens that all of our units are clearly listed on our website, www.Chipeta.com, with comprehensive descriptions and photographs of each and every room.
Happy New Year to you and yours and always safe and Happy Travels!
Best,
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Truly, this place is stunning. The location is absolutely beautiful, and away from main roads. The Southwestern decor throughout the inside is very beautiful and relaxing. The staff are friendly, high caliber people who genuinely care about their guests comfort. The rooms are quiet, clean and quite nicely furnished.

Now we get to the best parts! They have a clean, natural pool for swimming that is open year round. All salt sterilized, no chlorine, and vacuumed daily. One of the nicest pools I've ever been in. Next, there is a very large outdoor hot tub, also salt water and no chlorine, with a thatched roof overhead. The view from the hot tub is extraordinary: huge mountain ranges in all four directions, and wide open spaces. Without a doubt, the most relaxing hot tub experience I've ever had. Also, there is a massage staff on board, a spa with steam room and nice, clean spacious shower areas and clean lockers. Very high class while being totally unpretentious. And all of this is literally a very short walk from the rooms. And there's a really great restaurant on the premises, with excellent food and even live music outside on the deck on certain nights.

It is no exaggeration to say that this is the very best resort/spa/vacation getaway hotel I've ever stayed at. In fact, it's actually the only one I've ever stayed at that I was truly able to deeply relax as we all dream of relaxing on an actual vacation. I cannot recommend this place highly enough for those looking for an almost surreal relaxation experience. Perfect for meditation, sunbathing, massages, hot tubs, steam rooms, dining, sleeping, playing and more. Yes!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
0.5 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
15.5 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
978 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices

Been to Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 304 S Lena St, Ridgway, CO 81432-9337 (Formerly Chipeta Sun Lodge & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgway
Price Range: £143 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Southwest Colorado Resort and Spa, your adventure travel and Colorado Staycation destination. This adobe-style Colorado Resort and Spa provides luxury boutique hotel lodging with private hot tubs & patios, summer solar heated Pool, Spa, Yoga & Fitness center, steam room, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipeta Sun Hotel Ridgway
Chipeta Sun Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing