We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it with just a few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Ridgway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Chaco Canyon, it was very cute but on the crowded small size. The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows might have been from the 1970's (very flat) and there was only one chair in the room. The fireplace was wonderful and the Jacuzzi tub was a great bonus. The thermal hot tub was the best ever and the actual grounds were very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful, we asked for additional pillows and received more of the same but then they smelled like smoke. Not the best time not to bring out own pilliws! Had a blast snowshoeing in Telluride, not too far awsy.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chealio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while house hunting and the experience was superb! I could swim in the massive bathtub and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub views from our deck. Very peaceful and relaxing! Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Alyssa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Nice Aztec meets rustic lodge feel. With our private hot tub overlooking a beautiful mountain view and the wonderful morning breakfast alongside a roaring fireplace, we found Chipeta to be the perfect getaway to relax and enjoy the mountains. Staff was very friendly and truly gives this a spa/resort type feel. Would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Deluxe room with private hot tub is worth it. Loved the Whitehouse room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Had a very relaxing and memorable stay over Dec. 23-26/13. I love the Santa Fe architecture, layout, hot mineral pool with a fire pit and views of the mountains.It felt a little like going back in time to stay in a Pueblo. We enjoyed the hot pool by day looking at the gorgeous mountain views and at night stars. They have another larger pool that is seasonal and a beautiful patio.

Friendly and helpful staff. They seemed a bit overworked though.
Good breakfast in the great room with a crackling fire in the beautiful stone hearth. Christmas tree and holiday music added to the enjoyment.
The sunroom is very nice with plants and a fountain. It offers great views and seating for breakfast or snacking.
We enjoyed our upgrade to the Tower room :o) This room is larger than we reserved and has two rooms and balconies.Very nice, spacious and comfortable.Good beds and nice furnishings. Unfortunately, the windows are drafty and need replacing and the hot/cold water in the shower is very tricky. Be careful to avoid a burn! Also, the furniture on our balcony needed a good cleaning.
The stay was very relaxing until check out when there were several issues that we needed to clear up. I was almost charged for the upgrade and more than I had been quoted. Keep your reservation info until the end and be attentive to avoid problems.

Room Tip: I would choose a room away from the check in area.Voices carry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEThigpen80132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I took my girlfriend here for her birthday in September 2012. We had the Canyon de Chelly room. It is right across from the rooftop restaurant with a guy playing guitar and singing. We were getting ready for dinner and listening to the music. It was pretty romantic. We had dinner which was great and drinks with the owner. The room has a rooftop hot tub that is private to the room where there are incredible views of the Sangre de Christos. There is also a large public hot tub and heated pool. It turned out to be an incredible stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cobaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had a lovely time at the Chipeta Resort last weekend. The staff were all very helpful and welcoming. I enjoyed a great massage in their spa, as well. The hot tub area was great for hanging out with friends, with a lovely fire nearby providing a relaxing atmosphere. The deluxe rooms get a bit toasty at night, so be sure to turn your fireplace way down at night. My only disappointment was that they served the same breakfast both days we were there, and I'm not a fan of eggs and potatoes for breakfast. The alternatives were yogurt and granola or bagels/English muffins.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I am not really one to write bad reviews as I am a fairly relaxed and easy going person but this place did absolutely nothing for us. My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon in early October of 2013 and we decided to spend the extra money on a "deluxe" room which was absolutely filthy. I respect the idea of a green hotel, but seriously, this was disgusting.. There was some sort of gunk dripping from the wall and the sides of the hot tub on the deck had some weird red filth on it. In the breakfast room we ate in you could barely even see out of the windows because there was so much dust. The outdoor salt water hot tub was slimy and you couldn't even see the ground of it...Not only was it filthy but there was almost NO privacy on our "private" balcony. We could nearly see into our neighbors rooms and vise versa. It is disheartening because with some maintenance and separation tatics done it really could have been a somewhat decent place to stay. BUT unfortunately it wasn't. Luckily my wife had I have a good sense of humor and were able to laugh it off and write it off as possibly the worst honeymoon in history. However, we would absolutely never stay here again nor recommend this place to anyone we like.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Zach P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
0.5 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
10 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
15.5 mi away
The Inn at Lost Creek
The Inn at Lost Creek
#1 of 7 in Mountain Village
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
684 reviews
15.5 mi away
Madeline Hotel & Residences, Auberge Resorts Collection
Madeline Hotel & Residences, Aub...
#2 of 7 in Mountain Village
878 reviews
9.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge
Timber Ridge Lodge
#14 of 15 in Ouray
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa

Address: 304 S Lena St, Ridgway, CO 81432-9337 (Formerly Chipeta Sun Lodge & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgway
Price Range: £135 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Southwest Colorado Resort and Spa, your adventure travel and Colorado Staycation destination. This adobe-style Colorado Resort and Spa provides luxury boutique hotel lodging with private hot tubs & patios, summer solar heated Pool, Spa, Yoga & Fitness center, steam room, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipeta Sun Hotel Ridgway
Chipeta Sun Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing