We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small Town Cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Ridgway B&B and Inns
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Small Town Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The whole place (rooms, spa, restaurant, etc.) has a Southwestern ambiance with a distinct style all of its own. The plants and plantings in the solarium and elsewhere are worthy of a trip by themselves. Each room is distinctly and individually decorated. The food in the restaurant (Four Corners Cafe) was very good. We had Pork Tenderloin Roulade which was very good. The restaurant's homemade granola with fruit and yogurt for breakfast was outstanding.

A most restful and relaxing place. A great small resort.

The towels in the room could be of a higher quality. The bed was too soft for our liking - not a criticism, but an observation. Overall the room was excellent.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a southern or eastern view of the mountains.
See more room tips
Green Features: The maid service only replace towels if the guest requests. Observed solar panels at the resort.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    49
    19
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
112
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hotchkiss, CO
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This resort and restaurant is tucked away off the main street of Ridgeway, CO. The food was superb breakfast: chicken enchiladas; steak and eggs; biscuits and gravy; and quiche. Quite a variety and all excellent. The roof top bar/lounge has tapas on selected nights with wonderful views of the mountains and the decor of the resort is SouthWest with a lot of landscaping to make it more of a hideaway. Definitely a place to go for cocktail hour or tapas nights or a few days stay to relax and enjoy the ambiance.

Room Tip: Upper floor has views, lower floor is pool and vegetation
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MtHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Most people drive through Ridgway with no idea that this incredible little Spa Resort is just a couple blocks off the main highway, situated across from a great city park & snowcapped mountain vistas. The Dominguez Suite is their only deluxe ground floor room accepting pets, and it was absolutely perfect. (Other pet friendly rooms on upper floors). Super luxurious king bed, wet bar, grassy area for dog out our back door and PRIVATE Hot Tub courtyard out our front door. The large swimming pool & GIANT hot pool with breathtaking views are wonderful, as are all the serenely beautiful public areas. Two nights are not enough to enjoy all the delights. We will be back in the summer when their restaurant and Sky Bar are open. Price is a bit high, but they often offer specials, if one signs up to receive their emails.

Room Tip: Upper floors are a hike with lots of luggage and a dog. There is no elevator. Each room is unique...
See more room tips
Green Features: Special bin provided in room for recyclables. Towel service by guest request.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RovinRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The staff at chipeta was fantastic. The ladies working at the front deck were very nice, and the staff in the spa were polite and professional. We had a private hot tub with an excellent view. The room was rustic, and the fireplace for heating was a nice touch. The day we left it had snowed several inches the night before, and the walkway was promptly shoveled, and the gentelman who was doing it even cleaned the snow off of the car for us. The saltwater hot tub was sooo nice.

We had a couples massage at the spa, and it was fantastic. The sunroom was a beautiful touch, and we will definitely stay here again.

Only a couple of little things could have made our experience better. The room was clean, but the bed was absolutely rock hard, and the pillows were hard and flat. The sheets felt cheap, as did the run of the mill hotel towels. Also, our flashlight didn't work, and there was no lighting on the rooftop or stairs, so accessing our room's hot-tub after dark was inconvenient.

We paid for a bottle of red wine, but when we un-corked it, it was bad. The lady at the front desk refunded us.

Those things didn't ruine our experience, we had a wonderful time, but it's food for thought. Thanks for the weekend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Though we enjoy natural hot springs best, we found the salt/mineral hot pool lovely and relaxing. The views are beautiful. We got a good internet Valentine deal so we thought we would give it a try. We had a nice couples massage and the steam bath was wonderful! It was a slow day (Tuesday) and they upgraded us to a corner room. The bed was comfortable, there is a fridge and a private hot tub. We never even used the hot tub because the pool was so nice. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We enjoyed a full complimentary breakfast in the sun room and they had complimentary cookies and beverages each day.

Room Tip: Corner suites are roomy with a view of Mountains. The cheapest rooms look very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Chaco Canyon, it was very cute but on the crowded small size. The bed was hard as a rock, the pillows might have been from the 1970's (very flat) and there was only one chair in the room. The fireplace was wonderful and the Jacuzzi tub was a great bonus. The thermal hot tub was the best ever and the actual grounds were very nice. The staff was very nice and helpful, we asked for additional pillows and received more of the same but then they smelled like smoke. Not the best time not to bring out own pilliws! Had a blast snowshoeing in Telluride, not too far awsy.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chealio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roswell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here while house hunting and the experience was superb! I could swim in the massive bathtub and thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub views from our deck. Very peaceful and relaxing! Would recommend to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
0.5 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
9.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
10.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
9.9 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 304 South Lena Street, Ridgway, CO 81432 (Formerly Chipeta Sun Lodge & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Southwest Colorado Resort and Spa, your adventure travel and Colorado Staycation destination. This adobe-style Colorado Resort and Spa provides luxury boutique hotel lodging with private hot tubs & patios, summer solar heated Pool, Spa, Yoga & Fitness center, steam room, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipeta Sun Hotel Ridgway
Chipeta Sun Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing