We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“inn of last resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Ridgway B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“inn of last resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved the hot pool. The staff was awesome. We had a couple's massage with Tammy and Windom. Excellent!!! Wish I could gush about the room. Noise Noise Noise.. We landed in the "True Grit" room. Well named. You will need it. No insulation in the ceiling lets you hear at least 4 rooms above you. From midnite trysts to lots of early flushes and tub fillings, followed by gushing water roaring down the plumbing stack behind the headboard- you get the idea. Did I mention the smoke alarm going off at 6:40 AM sat morning. That was followed up Sunday with the alarm going off twice at the same time. Oh yeah, did I mention that the room has no ventilation supply. It did come with a box fan and portable swamp cooler. They were noisy too. And be ready for the laundry room noises kicking in at 7:30 AM. I'm done!

Room Tip: Do not get #214
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    49
    20
    16
    7
See reviews for
32
113
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Having a cocktail on the roof top bar is not to be missed! The sun setting on the mountains with this unfettered view is amazing.
Then to go one flight of (outdoor) stairs to the stunning resturant is a treat in itself. The menu is sophisticated, the service impeccable, and again the mountain view is transfixing.
You will have to ask at the desk how to find the entrance to the rooftop eatery. A lovely employee personally escorted us there as if she had just been waiting for us to arrive.
We travel with dogs so did not stay at the resort , but the pool and lobby are inviting

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank blueagilitydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

An awesome place to stay to get away yet be close to the outdoors. Easy drive to Ourey and Telluride. If u want to get out and hike, raft, fish it is an easy drive. If you want a great place to really hang out relax and soak up some vibes it's great as well. Good brewery in town. Relaxed atmosphere. Very friendly easy staff very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stumbled across Chipeta Lodge as an attendant to the local summer concert series in the Town Park. The lodge is tucked away off of the Main Street and is beautifully appointed in a southwestern theme. Each room is unique and the hotel has higher value than its pricing. Excellent friendly staff give you a tour of your room, spa, pool, amazing hot tub, great restaurant and even better Sky Bar with amazing views. With this little gem in the frequently passed by but truly special town of Ridgway, it's a great way to make your base in the San Juans. Oh, they have bikes to use and tennis racquets for the courts.

Room Tip: Just ask staff. Every room different.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very Eco-friendly. Recycle container in each room for example.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HobbsCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I just enjoyed a lovely weekend getaway at Chipeta. The resort has a great atmosphere and nothing was ever too much trouble. We had brought our dog with us as well and they made his stay just as enjoyable as ours. We learned about Chipeta on our honeymoon in Fiji while staying at her sister property Koro Sun. I was fortunate enough to meet the owner Jack and his wife Patsy during our stay at Chipeta. Truly genuine and caring owners made it easy to understand why this resort and Koro Sun are so special. A big thanks to Michelle and the front desk staff as well to the staff at the Four Corners cafe. We stayed in one of the condo units and were pleased with the space and privacy it had. We also loved the location, such beautiful scenery, we'll be back in the fall for some prime aspen viewing.

All of this made for a wonderful weekend away from the city. We're looking forward to staying here again!

Chris & Stephanie

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We only had time to visit the Sky bar on Friday evening. Nice selection of wines and cocktails. The band was very lively and had people dancing. The view is astoundingly beautiful. You can sit right up close to the bar and band or father back which is what we chose because I am sensitive to loud music and this was perfect, we could see and hear the band and still talk. If you are looking for a 'grown-up' place to have something to eat, have some cocktails and enjoy the view, this is the place to stop in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank go_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Two friends and I recently had the very enjoyable experience of traveling to Ridgway to stay at the Chipeta Sun Lodge. It was so beautiful, one of my friends actually said she "felt like a Kardashian" ;) The amenities, including the pool, spa, our own hot tub, gorgeous views, and the 20 person solar pool were amazing. We even got free homemade chocolate chip cookies everyday! The customer service was outstanding. There's so much to do right around the resort: a short, gorgeous drive to Telluride and a brief walk into the quaint little town of Ridgway. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The room we had was lovely - but it only had one Queen sized bed and no pull-out couch or cots avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
0.5 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
9.1 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
10.0 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
9.9 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
14.9 mi away
The Hotel Telluride
The Hotel Telluride
#1 of 11 in Telluride
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa
Address: 304 South Lena Street, Ridgway, CO 81432 (Formerly Chipeta Sun Lodge & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a Southwest Colorado Resort and Spa, your adventure travel and Colorado Staycation destination. This adobe-style Colorado Resort and Spa provides luxury boutique hotel lodging with private hot tubs & patios, summer solar heated Pool, Spa, Yoga & Fitness center, steam room, and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chipeta Solar Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chipeta Sun Hotel Ridgway
Chipeta Sun Lodge And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing