We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Getaway...the only way to go!”
Review of Orvis Hot Springs

Orvis Hot Springs
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ridgway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orvis Hot Springs
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Winter Getaway...the only way to go!”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Excellent in every way. Staff was super helpful, very friendly and always available. The accommodations were superb. Newly renovated rooms and spaces were fantastic. The fresh four inch snow fall blanketing trees and lawn added the perfect touch. Waters were clean and perfect temperature. All the guests were friendly and quiet...an overall excellent experience. Nice cooking facilities, great towels and bathrobes (could be a bit roomier!) The newly furbished sauna was outstanding. Still wondering if we liked it? We loved it! Will be back.

Room Tip: The furnisnings in each room are unique....suggest you try a different one each time...we were in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjv43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    5
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

What a great weekend for my wife and I. Entered Orvis with the stress of life and left relaxed, rejuvinated, and not wanting to leave. We will be back. Be sure to stay 2 days because 1 just isn't enough.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Although I love these hot springs, I will never "camp" there again. My husband and I were looking for an affordable option for our wedding anniversary so we pulled our camper down to Ridgeway to stay for a night. When we arrived the parking lot was packed and we couldn't figure out where the "camping" section was. When my husband went in to ask, the lady working the counter said "in the parking lot by the green fence". He told her there were no spaces available. She basically said "tough". Rough since we had prepaid. We had to wait for someone to move and then we parked the camper in the parking lot... apparently our camping spot. The price of this "camping" was affordable, yes but overpriced for what it was. Customer service also needs a touch up. Next time we will stay in one of their hotel rooms.

Room Tip: Instead of vehicle camping, use their tent camping. This area is nice and neat. If staying in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GunniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Yes, Orvis is a clothing optional hot springs, so as another reviewer said, if the sight of naked people offends you, go somewhere else. My husband and I have been going to Orvis once a year since 2002 and I have never felt that this was a place of "weirdos and perverts." There has been an occasional quasi-exhibitionist, but for the most part everyone seems to mind their own business. I have worn a bathing suit during the day, and not worn one at night, and have not felt out of place in either situation. The grounds are extremely well kept with beautiful landscaping. The rooms were all remodeled a few years ago and we have always found them to be very clean and well appointed, including being stocked with several thick fluffy towels. Yes, the bathrooms are shared, however I have never had to wait to use one and have found them to be clean. We have always stayed there in September so I can't speak to the "sweltering" rooms as the weather has been quite cool. I have only two complaints - the rooms could use more light and I personally find the pools to be too warm, though my husband feels they are fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scout39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Orvis Hot Springs is just what they advertise. A small clothing optional hot springs. We stayed two nights, found it very relaxing, didn’t even have a problem with the bedroom bathrooms in the hall way. The six bedrooms and two bathrooms are on the second floor away from the public areas. We found the rooms clean and adequate. It was nice not to have TV and phones in the rooms. If you are looking for a hot springs soaking area without all the fancy stuff, this is the place. A lot of locals come for the afternoon.
The indoor small pool is clothing only. The outside hot tubs and large hot spring area are clothing optional. Yes, you will see naked people, if that offends you, go somewhere else. During our stay last weekend during the day a few visitors were wearing bathing suits, they looked out of place.
We both had massages, and both agreed they were one of best we had ever had.
A small kitchen is available for guest use, complete with pots and pans, plates, etc. The village of Ridgway is about a 1 ½ mile drive with several restaurants and even a grocery store.
It is nice that at 10pm all day visitors leave and only room/camper guest are allowed to stay in the springs and on the property.
We are looking forward to our next visit to Orvis Hot Springs.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two king rooms, both corner rooms overlooking the springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SailorDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2010

The bathrooms are shared down the hall. On an August day the room was sweltering and there is no airconditioning. Cats were running all over the place (and I'm allergic) -- strange for a place that doesn't allow pets. The hot springs, with overweight bathers strutting around naked, were kind of a trip, but stay elsewhere and just go use the hot springs for $14 for the day.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank funChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I wanted to visit some natural hot springs and the brochure on this one sounded good. However, after arriving we quickly discovered that this was the place of wierdos and perverts. Naked men would walk around and stare at you and many did not even use the pools. One naked lady just walked around and around the grounds never getting into the water. We later saw her put on her clothes and left. My 28 year old daughter and her husband felt unsafe with the older naked men stares so we forfeited two paid rooms and left the facility. If the facility would enforce their written policies, it could be a good place. I was prepared to experience nudity in the water but not as we did. Definitely not a place for children or even young teenagers.

Seems the only policy they enforce are their reservations policy. We were unable to get a refund on the two rooms costing us $192. The rooms are "spartan" by current standards. They have no modern amenities, not even bathrooms. You have to share them down the hall. Also, very hot with poor ventilation. Poor rooms, unenforced policies leading to the perception of being unsafe and lewd nudity pushed us to leave this one....

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgway
1.3 mi away
Ridgway-Ouray Lodge & Suites
8.6 mi away
Twin Peaks Lodge & Hot Springs
7.7 mi away
Hot Springs Inn
Hot Springs Inn
#1 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Mountain Lodge Telluride
Mountain Lodge Telluride
#4 of 7 in Mountain Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
8.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
Beaumont Hotel & Spa
#9 of 15 in Ouray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Ouray
Hotel Ouray
#2 of 15 in Ouray
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orvis Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orvis Hot Springs

Property: Orvis Hot Springs
Address: 1585 County Road 3, Ridgway, CO 81432-9508
Region: United States > Colorado > Ridgway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ridgway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Orvis Hot Springs Hotel Ridgway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing